Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the most moving film I've ever seen
This film is astounding. From the opening frame its aesthetic qualities, skillful direction and pitch-perfect performances immerse the viewer in the emotional context of Derry in the early 1970s. To this day (after many, many viewings!), as the events of the day unfold, I find myself squirming in my seat, grimly aware of what is, inevitably, to come.

Paul...
Published on 22 Sep 2011 by Shorty

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tragic event.
This is an account of the murder of fourteen innocent civilians, thirteen died on the day. One died later from his injuries and the wounding of several other people with long term injuries. The british army's paratroopers fired without warning on a group of civil rights marchers.
The film is about the events that day prior to the march and then the march itself and...
Published on 17 Dec 2009 by Colm O' Driscoll


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the most moving film I've ever seen, 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
This film is astounding. From the opening frame its aesthetic qualities, skillful direction and pitch-perfect performances immerse the viewer in the emotional context of Derry in the early 1970s. To this day (after many, many viewings!), as the events of the day unfold, I find myself squirming in my seat, grimly aware of what is, inevitably, to come.

Paul Greengrass does a fantastic job of capturing the chaos and terror of Bloody Sunday (aside from one minor careless mistake - the famous 'Free Derry' walk features as is does today, as a free-standing gable wall, when it was actually still part of an end-terrace house on the day!). I cannot recommend this film strongly enough. I have never had a comparable experience of a second-hand account of such an event. This film will stir passion in the viewer and help to contextualise the situation in Northern Ireland at the time.

See this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good movie and a sober piece of history! Jason Stammers (Para 4) is a great actor. Must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True to life., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
A superbly acted enaction of a brave truthful script. Don Mullan , writer, has been a constant factor for positive progressive change throughout the course of "Troubles".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from Greengrass, 7 Mar 2014
By 
N. Harbinson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloody Sunday (DVD)
It’s an odd experience to watch an event that happened a few months before I was born and something so tragic which partly kicked off the troubles in my native N.Ireland like the shooting of Archduke Franz Ferdinand kicked off the First World War. James Nesbitt is also from this part of the world and plays a man from the Protestant community (just like my father was from the Protestant community) who wanted equality for the Catholics who were being discriminated against in the work place and I think it’s important to point out there were Protestants that wanted fairness for all. Sadly, this has taken a long time to come about and I had to live through the troubles as a teenager in Belfast. I should also mention the soldiers in the British Army were also in a tough position as they were constantly under threat which is a very stressful position to be in. There were no ‘winners’ in the troubles as the families of victims of sectarian violence can tell you from both the Protestant and Catholic communities as well as the relatives of slain soldiers. What I’ve learnt from this period in history is that entrenched views, an unwillingness to negotiate and inability to try to understand the perspective of the other side will get us all nowhere and extends the bloodshed and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but essential viewing, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Maureen C (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
Makes the whole tragedy come alive. James Nesbitt is wonderfully cast as are all principal roles.Direction and production makes this so moving even after several viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bloody sunday, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was bought as a Christmas pressie, Person wanted to know what things went on years ago so this DVD showed a bit of what went on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Lindan Quetelard "frenchy" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
I had never studied the history of the "troubles" in Ireland, but a couple of years ago a man I know recommended this dvd. I kept waiting for it to be shown on TV but it never was. Finally, I decided to order it because my daughter is studying Ireland in her European class in high school in France and I wanted her to see it in order to try to understand the events. I found it very well told. I liked how it went back and forth between how the Irish saw the tragedy unfold and how the English (or I guess I should say the British) viewed their actions. It's one of those films that you remember until the day you die. I will never hear or view events in Ireland the same way after watching this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding piece of work, 17 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
Outstandingly moving and engrossing film. Its documentary style works incredibly well, and the films treads successfully a supremely fine line as a piece of distanced observation of incident and the background issues that led up to it, and lets you the viewer, come to a conclusion, rather than as a political polemic of one side or another.

Kudos to Mr Greengrass and Mr Nesbit in particular for their directing and acting performances. There are also some excellent interviews on this disc in the special features section
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dramatisation of a key turning point in Northern Ireland, 25 April 2009
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
Sunday 30 July 1972 was a turning point in Northern Ireland for all the wrong reasons. I'm no expert on the conflict but I do know that the rash actions of the paras that day created a watershed that led to 25 years of civil strife and murder and mayhem in the Province. Of course, there were killings before that fateful day (on both sides) but the situation radically changed and a new politics arose thereon (including direct rule from London).

As for the movie, it's a very watchable 105 minutes. It's based on the events of that single day from dusk till dawn and revolves around the organiser, Ivan Cooper (a local MP from the Protestant community), various individuals among the marchers, several top brass officers and a number of soldiers who opened fire (shooting a total of 27 people and killing 13 of them on the day).

The film is very gritty and down to earth, so expect shifting cameras and a bit of variety in the quality of the sound during dialogues. It has the feel of the teledrama. It's low budget, but somehow that adds to the authenticity of what you see on the screen. On the downside, there are no subtitles (these would have been handy).

It's worth noting that the extra features are very worthwhile on this DVD. For example they include over an hour of interviews with the director, the main actor and even Mr. Cooper himself.

Overall, an award winning film that is both controversial and thought provoking at the same time.

Let's hope such events are consigned to the past and that all the people of Northern Ireland can share in a prosperous and peaceful future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moving, honest, neccessary., 31 May 2004
This review is from: Bloody Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
The cover of the dvd did not really betray what was to unfold on the screen. Relating a story of such tragic events is not an easy task to do; objectivity and sensitivity are the key to providing an honest and believable account. The issue is an emotive one for many in the UK and so tackling it was bound to be tricky. I have to say, they have dealt with it extremely well.
The use of ex-serving soldiers from N.Ireland and residents from Derry who present during the riots 25 years ago adds genuine authenticity. There are no flashy production techniques, no Hollywood style melodrama, more a documentary feel. The footage is beautifully shot; you feel like you are the eyes of a unwitting observer, and this makes it all the more involving.
The story unfolds rapidly before your eyes, a sense of growing tension is realistically recreated. At times the footage is hard-to-watch, but yet utterly compelling; the tragedy transfixes your for the duration of the film. Nesbitt performs his role with subtlety and quiet dignity, easily his best role to date.
As the film finishes, you arise with a much deeper understanding of both what happened, and why it happened. You understand how the conflict affected all parties, you begin to understand the lasting emotion the day has given to so many.
In summary: a superb account of the UK's darkest days, shot with sensitivity and acted with genuine care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloody Sunday [DVD]
Bloody Sunday [DVD] by Paul Greengrass (DVD - 2008)
7.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews