Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinairy documentary, 17 April 2009
By 
Mr. Christopher E. Murphy (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
This film doesnt preach or give one side of the argument it lets the facts and the people concerned speak for themselves and the result is moving, deeply upsetting and will make you feel very angry. Anger towards a huge organisation that so many people all over the world have so much faith in and which, as this devastating documentary shows, is at its heart a corrupt, mafia-like gang. Who, when it comes down to it will put maintaining their false image of 'holiness' and moral superiority before the protection of children from horrific child abuse. If you are catholic be warned this film drives a stake deep into the heart of the catholic church. The only hope for the catholic church lies with people like Father Doyle who are determined to bring the church to account for turning a blind eye to, and ignoring the victims of child abuse perpetrated by its own priests. Whether you are catholic or not this film needs to be seen by as wide an audience as possible to show how low an organisation that claims to stand up for truth, justice and love will stoop to hide its corruption and lies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb documentary, 26 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
An absolutely superb expose of the Catholic Church's predeliction for covering up the extensive and endemic disease of paedophile priests. It should be seen by everyone - particularly by Catholics. However, those I know just do not want to face the music - either pretending there is no problem or choosing to ignore it. Amy Berg and her team deserve the highest praise for this stunning documentary. I caught part of it on TV recently and was sufficiently impressed to buy the dvd. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indicative of religious practice, 6 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
States how it is as far as I can tell and reveals the pathetic christian authorities as they are - gutless idiots completely lacking any moral or responsible character. They are as mentally ill as the main perpetrator, sickening in more ways than I wish to go into here. A must see.

A sobering documentary which should have more air time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most stunning documenteries I have ever seen, 7 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
I only caught up with this documentary the other evening, when I caught its second half while channel hopping. I was riveted throughout, caught in a turmoil of emotions - anger, outrage, disgust, desperate sympathy for the victims....

The triumph of this documentary is that it not only condemns those who wilfully allowed a predator to abuse children for decades, but it gives us some fascinating insights into why they did so. Not just for personal gain, but because the whole philosophy of the church almost makes it inevitable. As one contributor, for example, points out, "If you have a philosophy that all sex is bad and you shouldn't be doing it, then having sex with a child becomes no more heinous a crime than having sex with a woman."

The raw pain of the victims is shown without apology and is heartbreaking. But it's the choice of such a wide range of contributors that really lifts this documentary into the extraordinary.

And beyond all of this, at its heart, is a chilling series of interviews with the abuser himself. A man who seemingly has no concept of having molested anyone, no understanding of the pain he has caused and the crimes he has committed. A man who smiles and winks at the camera, is flippant in his responses, who seems to believe that no one could possibly see him as anything other than amiable and charming or could have any negative feelings towards him. A man who states, with seemingly genuine bewilderment, that he's not sure if he actually molested anyone at all. A man who took bail money from the family of one of his victims when he was arrested for his crimes and who - almost gleefully - pens letters to his victims inviting them to attend one to one meetings with him so that they can cleanse their pain by telling him every detail of his abuse of them. (Then winks at the camera and addresses them directly with a "Hope to see you soon!") A shocking attempt to abuse a second time for his own gratification.

I have to say that I felt very morally torn about buying this DVD. It felt...almost voyeuristic. Do I really want a DVD with this content, filled with so much pain and ugliness, sitting on my shelf among the movies and comedy shows? Isn't that demeaning the victims? Making their pain entertainment? But I really want my husband - who missed it on TV - to see it, to witness what I did. And, in a way, I guess if buying this, in some small way helps Amy Berg financially to make more documentaries exposing these and others like them, it will be worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 May 2010
By 
Moonshine. "Spara Fugle" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
Hard to watch emotionally but 100% hits the nail on the head.
Very informative. When one of the parents breaks down it is gut wrenching.
The Catholic hierarchy seemed to think it was acceptably 'natural and normal' for priests to abuse girls because the priests were 'normal' men but abnormal for them to abuse boys because homosexuality is sinful! They kept moving the perverts about different parishes to continue their abuse rather than hand them in to the police. Totally evil that the Holy Roman Catholic church should invoke canon law as a devilish excuse for ignoring child rape.
The 'church' was more important than the innocent child victims. Are not children the church, which is made up of people and not evil masculine-made laws.
It is totally mind boggling that the pervert priest in this film gets away with all his abuse unpunished! He is certainly from another planet as regards repentance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best documentaries I've ever seen in my life, 26 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very important documentary, it isn't just about a child molesting priest, but also touches on subjects like the meaning of religion, conspiracies, cover ups, politics, you name it.

There were moments when I felt deeply disturbed. Moments of sheer anger towards both Father O' Grady, Cardinal Roger Mahoney who essentially denies just about everything of O' Grady's actions, and the Catholic church for covering up the whole issue of these child molesting priests.

And also, moments of sadness, when a married couple are being interviewed and blamed themselves, I practically burst into tears.

The whole thing plays out like a real thriller, with O' Grady as the criminal, Mahoney as the criminals boss, poor innocent victims, and a hero in the form of Father Tom Doyle who takes strong action to make sure these evil people are being exposed and kept a close eye on.

This is a documentary which is a true eye opener, and something you'll never forget for the rest of your life. No wonder it received an academy award nomination. It should have won but it probably went to that preachy fool Michael Moore (whose more into seeking self recognition and respect than the actual subject matter, waving a flag around and looking like a fat hero).

If you don't shed a tear or two in a couple of scenes, then you really have no soul.

A five star documentary if ever I saw one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling film of evil, 30 July 2011
By 
P. Hannan (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
This is a profoundly chilling film about the unctuous sexual abuse perpetrated by Catholic priest Fr Oliver O'Grady and how it was concealed by his bishop, Cardinal Mahony of California, USA. Tragically, it is not a one-off story. The repetitions around the world are so daemonic, so foul and so frequent as to demand that, in my humble opinion, Pope Benedict should indeed act upon Fr. Tom Doyle's suggestion:"they should sell the Vatican to the Mormons or to Disney or something and start again".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 24 Feb 2011
By 
J. Mcdonald - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
I just want to echo what others have said in that the facts are presented clearly and not in a biased way. This is one of the saddest documentaries i have seen but also one of the most eye opening.

It's not the most uplifting film out there but the atrocities (continually)committed by the church from top to bottom are not going to be. I guess the major positive is that the corruption and abuse is now being exposed on a much larger scale.

Overall a well put together documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compeling, 5 July 2007
This film is a must see for everyone who walks blindly into relgion. Here we have not just one priest but the catholic church who supprt and enable these evil men to abuse young children. It shows how the cover up reaches all the way to the top of the church to the so called ENFORCER the pope. It also shows how the structure of the church like so many other religions is about power money and manipulation.
It really is a must see for both religios people and none religos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REQUIRED VIEWING FOR ALL PARENTS OF ALL YOUNG CHILDREN, 30 April 2011
This review is from: Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] (DVD)
This difficult to watch documentry needs to been seen by all parents with children before they get to their teenage years. In fact no later than 9 or 10 years old. As it clearly shows that parents who are devout in their religion will rarely challenge what their church might be doing to their young ones.
This is most important in the school situation where clergy are either in charge of the school or college or as teaching clergy.
The number of times little boys of 9 or 10 years old go home after school and tell usually their devout fathers that they were interfered with while alone in someone's study supposedly for punishment for a simple reason such as talking in class.We are talking about the year 1950.
Often the punishment was teacher or headmaster hitting them with his bare hand on their bare rear after removing their pants and fiddling with them. You don't need the details.
The father quite naturely explodes with anger, NOT at the perpretrator at the school, but at his son calling him a 'liar' and 'dirty little boy' etc.
He then punished his beloved son twice over, thrashing him far harder than ever before. Their relationship fails at this point and never quite recovers ever again.
So, the boy is sent back to the school and in this factual case,beginning in 1950, is continued to be sexually abused by the Head of the school, a senior clergy member of his faith, for more than another three years.
After a particularly violent attack the boy goes home and on the way home runs deliberately runs into traffic trying to get himself killed and rid himself of his evil abuser.
The boy survived with appalling injuries and scars that he carries to this day. The abuse was not detected after the "accident" and after spending months in hospital he was sent back to the same school where some time later the abuse continued by the same man. It took more than another year before the truth came out and the man was confronted by his bishop and the boy's father in the very study that the abuse took place.
The result was typical for the early 1950's the boy left the school and all hopes of a brilliant career in aviation dashed. The Head of the college kept his position and abused young boys until 1966 when he was removed from the college overnight and sent to a country parish where he died in 1968, still without ever been charged with any sort of offence.He had had help at the college in the form of other clergy teachers that "spotted" and "groomed" boys for this monster of evil throughout his 16 years of abuse. In his sixteen years he had more than 3000 young boys to chose from. The number of abused boys is staggering.
Until one month ago he has not talked to anyone, not even his wife of 40 years,about the abuse against his young body 61 years ago.
Then quite by chance he heard via the web that the truth was coming out about this person.
The local Bishop had issued a wishy-washy apology in the middle of March 2011, a mere 61 years since the young boy went home to his disbelieving father, who had died a broken man in 1958 at just 50 years old.
He was told about "Deliver us from Evil" and watched it realising the magnitude of the problem that has been in our communities for so many years.
Tom Doyle who features in this documentry is helping the now old man to come to terms with the horrors he faced alone so many long years ago.
And this didn't happen in America but in a large Industrial city in northern England.
Tom Doyle and others,such as Paul Malpas in Ireland,have spread their wings far and wide all over the world to help countless victims to understand that they are no longer alone.
I note a few sad cases here of people being critical in their views.
To them I will just say this:
You need to be have been a VICTIM to understand!
The DVD needs a 10 star rating!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deliver Us From Evil [DVD]
Deliver Us From Evil [DVD] by Amy Berg (DVD - 2008)
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews