Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable
This is Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window, but for teenagers. I don't mean that as a criticism - it's actually very watchable.

Instead of being stuck in a flat with a broken leg like James Stewart, the hero of this film has been tagged for punching his Spanish teacher. He's bored, he has a few hand shandies (well, he's a teenager!) and he begins to spy on his...
Published on 11 Oct 2007 by Dr. George L. Sik

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent film
I thought this was actually a decent film. It was slow moving but got better as it went on. It had some good comical moments and the director succeeded in creating great intensity at key moments without actually being that violent - very difficult to do. The writing was good, although the plot and ending predictable. The acting was strong through out and it is worth...
Published on 8 Oct 2007 by SHANN


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window, but for teenagers. I don't mean that as a criticism - it's actually very watchable.

Instead of being stuck in a flat with a broken leg like James Stewart, the hero of this film has been tagged for punching his Spanish teacher. He's bored, he has a few hand shandies (well, he's a teenager!) and he begins to spy on his neighbours. One neighbour in particular begins to look suspicious.

To reveal any more would be unfair, but it's an intellient and very enjoyable film. It's difficult to be intensely original in this genre, but it's definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a "punt", 9 Feb 2008
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't now if i would like this film as i am a fan of Rear Window, it's not as good as Rear window but as a modern day verison it comes a close second.It's high paced, and Shia LaBeouf is great in it. Well worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment!, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this last night with my daughter and it was the first thing on my mind when I woke up. I kept wondering about things in a good way.

It tells the story of Kale, (played excellently by Shia La Beouf), who whilst driving home from a fishing trip with his father, has a head on collision with another vehicle. The crash in itself is worth seeing! Anyway, the father dies and we catch up to Kale a year later asleep in Spanish class while his best friend Ronnie is being the class clown. The teacher wakes up Kale and to cut a long story short, he makes a remark to Kale that has him lashing out at the teacher and giving him a black eye.

Kale is placed under house arrest rather than going to jouvie and he has to stay so for 90 days. His mother, (Carrie Ann Moss), is at the end of her tether with him and closes down his i-tunes and x-box and cuts the cord on his bedroom tv. She leaves him instructions to clean up his room and the kitchen. But Kale has found something much more interesting to do.

He has new neighbours move in next door and they have a great looking teenage daughter. Kale begins a ritual of watching her swim in the pool, do yoga and other stuff and he's quite content. Ronnie comes over and is equally impressed but accidentally lets the girl know that they're watching her. The girl, (Ashley), comes to the door and demands to know what they've been doing.

The boys quickly concoct a story about the neighbour next door being a serial killer. (Kale had watched a news report of a missing girl who was last seen getting into a blue 60 mustang which had a dent on one side.) This said neighbour owned such a car and had aroused his suspicions. So the three of them decide to do a stakeout.

There's some really funny stuff in here that us both laughing out loud. But equally there's stuff that makes your skin crawl with tension. Think of it as a modern day Rear Window and you're on the right track. It's definitely well worth taking the time to watch it. If you enjoyed Shia La Beouf in Transformers you will love him in this one. He steals the show completely. If you're looking for a horror I'd look elsewhere though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie - excellent actors, 8 April 2008
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a Lovefilm member, so I get to watch plenty of movies per month. I didn't really intend to watch Disturbia, because it sounded, well, 'disturbing', however, I also don't like missing out on new releases so I gave it a go. Boy, am I glad I did. Disturbia is one of the most entertaining films I've seen in a long time. Despite the somewhat gruesome title, Disturbia is a comedy that follows a teenager's (Shia LeBeouf) house arrest and his growing obsession with watching his neighbours' actions day in day out. He's completely taken in by two of them: the girl that has moved in next door and the middle-aged man across the street, who just behaves like he has something to hide.
Shia LeBeouf is an excellent actor. He can play anything from funny to scared. He has this natural charm and ability to keep the viewer engaged and kept us laughing throughout the movie. Disturbia is definitely one watchable film and is a perfect example that an action/comedy/thriller doesn't have to have a huge amount of blood, cut-off limbs and your usual screaming teenage group to become a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cool funny thriller!, 21 Mar 2008
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very cool, very good thriller. It's a bit like a modern day remake of Rear Window but with plenty of comic moments as well that it is also a bit like The 'Burbs, The girl next door. Overall a very enjoyable thriller and the pace really picks up towards the end with a few good "red herrings" along the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great teenage thriller film, 4 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film and I loved it - Shia LaBeouf is hysterical and David Morse is intense and chilling at times as the antagonist psycho killer next door.
It is a very formulaeic film but the formula has worked for years and it still works a treat.
A rollercoaster of events unfold at the hands of LaBeouf that make for an intense end sequence that wraps up the story.
I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting voyeurism, 11 Feb 2008
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
A highly effective teenage Rear Window. (Digital cameras, mobile phones, references to YouTube et al.) Excellent performances and nail-biting suspense. A somewhat cliched ending, but one forgives it easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good thriller, 17 Jun 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Prepare to be scared: "Disturbia" is an effective and enjoyable thriller. 17-year old Kale (Shia LaBeouf) has experienced a terrible tragedy and as a result, has quite a temper. He finds himself sentenced to three months of house arrest and must wear a GPS on his ankle. Just when making sculptures out of Twinkies starts to get old, a cute girl moves in next door, and Kale uses his binoculars to keep a close eye on her. She becomes a pal and together they watch their reclusive neighbor Mr. Turner (David Morse,) whose actions make him look a lot like a killer.

Yes, it's the old "Rear Window" plot - guy stuck at home spends all his time spying on his neighbors - but different enough with a teenage star and loads of high-tech gadgets to be quite fresh and engaging. LaBeouf has grown up a lot since his days as the wacky little brother on "Even Stevens," and gives a compelling performance. Morse is simply terrifying as the creepy neighbor. The story is fast-paced and intense, with quite a few shocking scenes that made me jump and one or two where I had to close my eyes. It's a well-told and scary tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very suspenseful! A good thriller with a lot of comedy, 1 Oct 2012
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
'Disturbia' (2007) had been sitting in my pile of unwatched DVDs for almost two years, last night I decided to give it a go and was very impressed.

A thoroughly modern, fast-paced (although much character development) thriller with plenty of twists and turns and soaked in suspense. 'Disturbia' is loosely based on the Alfred Hitchcock classic 'Rear Window' (1954). People will argue that this film isn't even in the same league (and as a big film buff, I would have to agree with them), but it's still a great little movie in it's own right and kept me engrossed from beginning to end. Very few modern thrillers have me genuinely on the edge of my seat like this one.

Unlike a lot of recent thrillers, this one doesn't rely on excessive blood and gore to be frightening. Instead, it uses plenty of mood and suspense, which usually does work better in my opinion, certainly in this case. The plot is serious and the film is full of genuine tension but despite this, there are plenty of real comedy moments from the start that made me laugh. This film will definitely appeal to teenagers, there is plenty of teen comedy and romance between the lead character and the new girl next door, all of this only adds to the many positives that this movie has. It would be difficult for me to pick out just one or even two stand-out actors in this film out as the performances from everyone are very good.

After attacking his school teacher, teenager Kale Brecht (Shia LaBeouf) has been living under three months' house arrest and is now passing his days by spying on his neighbours. It isn't long before Kale becomes convinced that his next door neighbour Mr. Turner (played by David Morse who is eerily convincing) is a serial killer and with the help of his best friend, he sets out to find the proof.

'Disturbia' was a refreshing film and one that I could certainly watch again. It has all the elements of a good thriller. Give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rear Window for the 21st century, 6 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
There is no shying away from the fact that this film is first and foremost Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window for the modern era. All of the Hitchcockian elements that made the original film so popular are all here including when the main character sends a friend in to explore the neighbour's house while he is away and the classic moment when the spied on becomes aware of his privacy being invaded and looks directly at the spy and us as an audience. The film does not attempt to hide its homage to Hitchcock but it is its modern edge that makes it retain a unique appeal. Jimmy Stewart's camera and binoculars are shoved into nostalgia by Shia Labeouf's modern equipment, including cameras, computers, televisions and phones. At one point he is able to get a live feed of his suspicious neighbour shovel shopping via the internet and his friend's phone. Fans of Hitchcock (like myself) may be cynical of the film for 'stealing' the tone of Rear Window but there is still lots of newer elements to be found in this film. An adolescent twist sees Shia Labeouf's character on house arrest, filling his time with spying on his neighbours and the attractive girl next door. Humour also plays a large part in the film. One particularly funny moment sees him blast an old soul song from his hifi atop his roof in an attempt to gatecrash his love interest's party. The film keeps a nice balance between, shocks, tension and humour and although many of the scare techniques are unashamedly borrowed; in the same way that a period war film creates discussion about today's society, this film (among other broader issues) explores the utilisation of technology in a world undergoing 'a heightened state of paranoia.' Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disturbia [HD DVD]
Disturbia [HD DVD] by D.J. Caruso (HD DVD - 2008)
4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews