Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Mon Dieu, how she makes enemies of them all"
Death on the Nile takes the viewer on a genteel cruise aboard the paddle-steamer 'Karnak' as it, along with its motley collection of passengers, wends its way through the stunning scenery of historic Egypt. Unfortunately on this voyage the Nile proves to have disturbing currents, and a wealthy heiress with a propensity for making enemies is shot. Corpulent Belgian...
Published on 2 Sep 2002 by Jennifer Litchfield

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ... was well put together and they all did the best they could but I found it hard to watch ...
the film was well put together and they all did the best they could but I found it hard to watch when Poirot talked about a case on the orient express even though the book this film is based on came out before murder on the orient express had even been written that and peter Ustinov talking in French and not sounding Belgian in the slightest being born in the early 1980s...
Published 5 days ago by Lisa Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Mon Dieu, how she makes enemies of them all", 2 Sep 2002
By 
Jennifer Litchfield (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death On The Nile [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Death on the Nile takes the viewer on a genteel cruise aboard the paddle-steamer 'Karnak' as it, along with its motley collection of passengers, wends its way through the stunning scenery of historic Egypt. Unfortunately on this voyage the Nile proves to have disturbing currents, and a wealthy heiress with a propensity for making enemies is shot. Corpulent Belgian sleuth Hercule Poirot is on hand, and, as the body-count rises, must tax his legendary 'little grey cells' to the limit in order to expose the assassin in their midst.
The charm of this film is that to most of the audience it will be foreign in both time and place. The Egyptian location provides a visual feast, with visits to the pyramids, the inscrutable sphinx, and the eerie wailing statue of Ramses II at Abu Simbel. Scenery like this makes it somewhat easier to forgive the movie its overlong running time of almost 2 hours. The story (originally penned by Agatha Christie) is set in the 1930s - the golden age of detective fiction - when murder investigations were much less clinical affairs than they are today. In an era before DNA sampling, Poirot uses the narratively more interesting approach of involving suspects in conversation, and reading between the lines.
The cast is certainly star-studded, but unfortunately several of the characters tend towards stereotypes. However, there are some wonderful performances by several of the silver screen's grandes dames - Bette Davis, Maggie Smith, and particularly Angela Lansbury as the inebriated author of appallingly bad romance novels. Although a little slow initially, various techniques (such as dead silence being used as the ultimate suspense music) keep the viewer's interest piqued right through until Christie's trademark denouement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The All Star Cast Delivers Well On The Nile, 27 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Death on The Nile [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Jacqueline De Bellefort is engaged to the very good-looking and charming Simon Doyle and can't wait to show him off to her best friend, heiress Linnet Ridgeway. Within a short space of time Simon breaks off his engagement to Jackie and marries Linnet. They travel to Egypt for their honeymoon only to find that Jackie seems to be following them around relentlessly. They book a Nile cruise thinking they've out-smarted Jackie but are horrified when she turns up on thei cruiser too. With a host of other passengers on board, many of whom seem to have some grudge against Linnet or her family, it's not surprising when she is murdered in her sleep. Unfortunately for the murderer Hercule Poirot in on hand to solve the crime.

With an all star cast including Peter Ustinov as Hercule Poirot, Bette Davis, David Niven, Maggie Smith, Simon MacCorkindale, Mia Farrow, Lois Chiles, Angela Lansbury and George Kennedy, this 1978 film version of Agatha Christie's book of the same name is a pleasure to watch. The Egypt locations used in the film make you want to visit them for yourself. The background music is relevant and the acting is pretty good all round.

The DVD is quite light on extras with just the film, scene selection and "Making Of" (a 22 minute feature available). During this extra you find out that a set was created in Pinewood Studios to replicate the paddle steamer Karnak used in the film. It was interesting to see Peter Ustinov discussing his interpretation of Poirot. John Guillermin talks about how Agatha Christie hadn't been very happy about some of the film versions of her books (I imagine because they often took liberties with the storyline, sometimes changing major parts of the plot)! It was interesting to see some of the scenes of the film in what looked like their original format as I then appreciated how much had gone into improving the film visually for DVD!

Overall I'm happy to give this version of Death on the Nile a strong 4 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning film. A classic, 21 Dec 2009
By 
M. Phillips - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death on The Nile [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
They simply don`t make films like this anymore. An all star cast adaptation of a brilliant `whodunit` by the queen of whodunnits. Visually stunning locations. Actually inspired me to travel to Egypt and experience the country myself. Watched it again when I came back from my travels and it brought it all back to me (and still does!). A stunning film that will make you fall in love with an Egypt of yesteryear. Can`t recommend this film enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite films ever, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death on The Nile [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
What a brilliant film - I've watched it dozens of times and I'm still not bored with it. The film has such a great setting - cruising down the Nile - the characters are excellent and the actors absolutely wonderful. A real 5 star treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the rare occasions where the film is better than the book., 20 May 2011
This review is from: Death on The Nile [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
I ordered my copy of Death on the Nile at the same time as I ordered the book. I received the book a day before the film, and proceeded to read that first, before watching the film. I knew beforehand who had committed the murders and why, and had seen bits of the film, and was incredibly interested to see more.

For those who haven't seen the film OR read the book, a brief outline of the plot: several people are all on a luxury cruise up the Nile, where one passenger is quite well known to everyone, and has a penchant for being disliked. She is discovered one morning to have been murdered, but the person with the main motive was incapable of committing the murder at the time. However, almost every passenger on the boat had the opportunity - as well as the motive - for wanting her dead. And so Poirot along with a friend, Colonel Race, sets about trying to solve the case.

As it was, it surpassed my expectations. Not only did it have an incredible cast (including Maggie Smith, Olivia Hussey, Mia Farrow, Bette Davies, and Angela Lansbury) but the sheer expanse of the locations were stunning. Even the detail of the boat itself, and the sumptous costumes, each revealing something about the character (ridicolously OTT for Mrs. Otterbourne, richly elegant for Linnet, incredibly straight laced and expensive for the frosty faced Mrs. van Schuyler (sp?) ) were done to a "T". I particularly enjoyed that when each character was being interviewed by Poirot, they showed a clip of that character possibly committing the murder - it breathed life into the scenes and really helped the audience picture how people can commit such terrible acts.

Obviously, there are differences from the book, one major one being that several characters have been cut, and their roles blended to other characters. Normally I'm a stickler for keeping to the layout of the book, but this was one occasion where I was glad some had been cut. Perhaps it was because I had seen bits of the film beforehand, but to me, when I then read the book, the extra characters became a bit much. They weren't given a lot of depth or fully fleshed out, and so many different names for so many characters that weren't doing very much just bogged the book down slightly. I far prefer fewer, but more fleshed out characters, although a certain romance at the end of the film (which was sort of given from a different character in the book) was a bit confusing for me as it appeared to clash with the film's characterisation, but I suppose they wanted a happy ending. (Well as happy as can be after more than a few murders).

A lot of people have complained about Uskinov's performance - I personally quite liked it, although I have only read the one book, and so don't feel free to comment on how he based his characterisation.

Overall, I thought this was wonderfully done - the plot moved along nicely, the characters were given depth and background, everything was wrapped up nicely at the end, no unanwsered questions, and the overall quality of the DVD was very well - it arrived quickly, had good sound and colour, and even a "behind the scenes" featurette. All in all, very nicely done, and will be looking forward to my next Poirot purhcase - "Murder on the Orient Express" anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Agatha Christie, 30 Dec 2012
One of the best Agatha Christie adaptations ever and the first to feature Peter Ustinov as Poirot. It looks fantastic, and the period detail is superb. Ustinov is quirky as Poirot and whilst he brings a mischevous touch of humour to the role he`s often very touching. Humour is in great supply generally in this film. It`s hard to pick out individuals in such a star studded cast, but special mentions to Bette Davis, Maggie Smith and Angela Lansbury as they shine in a largely comic fashion. Mia Farrow is also excellent in a more serious role, and Lois Chiles I feel was perfectly cast as Linnet. David Niven does have a more thankless role as Colonel Race but does what he can with it. On the dvd is some interesting behind the scenes footage. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, 27 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's the Agatha Christie movie at its best: it's camp and grand and thoroughly good and entertaining with a plethora of fabulous actors!
A great DVD to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great actors, great locations and 1 of the greatest endings!, 3 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Death On The Nile [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Death on the Nile is perhaps the next best known book by Agatha Christie after Murder on the Orient Express and the film adaptation captures the grandeur of the early 20th century facination and love affair with travel and more particularly Egypt. It provides the perfect backdrop to a host of stars including Bette Davies and Angela Lansbury. After the passengers board the steamliner and set sail down the Nile it is only a matter of time before the murder of a young beautiful and rich socialite requires the attention of Hercule Poirot. Not a foot is put wrong in the making of this film and Christie herself would be proud of the translation to film. The film is worth watching for Lansburys interpretation of Rosalin Otterbournes character alone. I defy you to work out the chain of events implemented in this master who-dunnit which lead to the murder. Sit back and relax (dont try to work it out yourself - wait and Marvel at Poirots application of his little grey cells)and take a trip down the Nile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Poirot, 25 Aug 2005
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This was probably the first Poirot that I ever saw and I must say that I have loved it ever since. The mixture of the ruins of Ancient Egypt, which is an obsession of mine, along with the 1930's fashion and style leads to some excellent imagery and a great story. Although I have never read any of the Poirot books, it was this film that set me got me to avidly watch all the other TV and film adaptations. Although there are some liberties taken with the geography of Egypt and the layout of some of the sights visited, this dose nothing to detract from the film itself. Angela Lansbury is brilliant as an alcoholic writer and gives one of the best performances in the entire film. Peter Ustinov is great as the Belgian sleuth and I must say is probably better than any of the other actors who have played the part. Because of all this film is also far superior to the more recent ITV Drama adaptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get much better than this !, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death on The Nile [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Peter Ustinov ........ a superb Poirot with a superb cast ..... Bette Davis, George Kennedy, Angela Lansbury, David Niven, Jack Warden, Simon MacCorkindale, Maggie Smith, Mia Farrow ........ you will be hard pressed to come across a greater line up ! all together for a trip down the Nile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death on The Nile [DVD] [1978]
Death on The Nile [DVD] [1978] by John Guillermin (DVD - 2008)
6.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews