Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener
Loved this dvd. Michael Moore does it again.

This film really opens your eyes to America's healthcare. You realise the system in USA favours the rich and people who can work. The queue's to see a free doctor when they occasionally visit towns are horrendus. All those people cant get treated and cant get their medication. Many cant afford to buy their...
Published on 16 May 2010 by nds

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best advert the NHS has ever had!!
Having been a fan of Moore for many years I approached this with a little caution.Mainly because it has been proved that like all filmakers Moore won't allow the truth to get in the way of a good story especially with very clever editing and changing timeframes within a story.
In all honesty this film is really aimed more at his fellow Americans than his other films...
Published on 1 July 2008 by Mr. M. Broad


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 16 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this dvd. Michael Moore does it again.

This film really opens your eyes to America's healthcare. You realise the system in USA favours the rich and people who can work. The queue's to see a free doctor when they occasionally visit towns are horrendus. All those people cant get treated and cant get their medication. Many cant afford to buy their medication. Its a very sad look at USA.

I believe the Americans have opposed a free healthcare system like ours and criticised our NHS. However, if you are rich you can STILL have private insurance if you want it. So it seems selfish that people who can use the hospitals oppose healthcare for people who cant.

This film shows a man who had to choose which finger to have sewn back on as he couldnt afford to have both sewn back on!!! Its terrible. People are seen being kicked out of hospitals when the hospital thinks they wont get paid!! Often kicked out still in hospital gowns and ill.

I wouldnt want to live in USA after seeing this. They wouldnt cover me anyway as i have one of 500 illnesses they list to deny cover.

He comes to UK and looks at our NHS and goes to France to look at theirs too.

Brilliant expose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
How did all other industrialized countries come to have much better and much more inexpensive health care than the US? Watch this movie to find out how we're all being cheated and manipulated by big pharma. Demand FREE health care! Michael Moore shows why health care needs a public option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad reviews by healthcare execs?, 9 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. T. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Moore always seems to stir up hatred amongst some people. The common complaint always seems to be that his facts are off. I can only guess that the people that make these accusations have either a) done their own research on the subject or b) are some of the people that Moore is trying to 'take down'. Who cares if he seems to put his own views into his work? The fact of the matter is surely this, he is standing up for the little man. He is sticking it to the establishment who think they can control people like puppets because they have money and power. Is that not a good thing? Maybe some people just prefer to be controlled? Bowling For Columbine saw him taking on the ridiculous use of fire arms in the US. Is that a BAD thing? Fahrenheit 911 saw him taking on the appalingly run and hypocritical US government. Is that a BAD thing? Sicko takes a swipe at the totally unfair American health system. Is THAT BAD? His views may not be to everyone's taste but surely everyone needs some one to take a stand at the injustices of this world? Someone who is not afraid of taking on these people who treat people like dirt just to swell their own pockets. Come one people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turned my views on privatisation of NHS, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
Before watching this documentry about the medical health care in America. I agreed with some of the arguments for privatisation of the NHS in UK. The case made in the book 'Welfare State We're In' are strong. The core problem being the the US medical insurance companies and how they operate.Michael Moore visits Cuba with a group of volunteers who assissted in the aftermath of 9/11 who had serious health problems which weren't being addressed in the US. The way the Cuban medical staff treated and cared for them along with the honour the Cuban fire fighters showed them brought a apple up in my throat.Now, not only do I agree with free univeral health care I'm a supporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best advert the NHS has ever had!!, 1 July 2008
By 
Mr. M. Broad "Matt Broad" (WEYMOUTH, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a fan of Moore for many years I approached this with a little caution.Mainly because it has been proved that like all filmakers Moore won't allow the truth to get in the way of a good story especially with very clever editing and changing timeframes within a story.
In all honesty this film is really aimed more at his fellow Americans than his other films have been.Here he exposes the "truth" behind Health Care Insurance.He does it with the usual clever use of archive Public Information Films and adverts and interviews with industry employees and "victims" of the Health Care Companies.
Where the film falls down is in the 2nd half where we are treated to a fairly skewed vision of our own much maligned NHS.Don't get me wriong I would much rather have the NHS rather than the nightmare of the US but we all know about bed shortages,waiting lists,some vital drugs not being made available to those in real need etc.Also the doctor that is featured clearly works in a Hospital where there is no shortage of nurses or equipment.Even if he is on 85k a year I am not so sure I would like the mortgage he would have on his 500k house!!The point that Moore seems to make here is that the house is worth one million dollars,clearly an attempt to get that materialistic American audience of his hot under the collar.As for the French section that really appears to be all a bit too good to be true.Interestingly he gets Americans living in Paris to comment on what they experience with Health Care rather than Parisians.We get one French family who appear pretty healthy anyway!Again clever film making especially when you consider that the French pay much higher taxes than we do,something that Moore ignores in the search for the story.
The 9/11 rescue workers exercise using Cuba to make a point also felt a little incongruous and left me feeling cold and I felt that he has already beaten that drum elsewhere to better effect.Also I felt that he makes the point at Cuba's expense.A sort of "no matter how bad they might be those Cubans sure know how to look after their own".Unlike the US.
Possibly the most chilling part of the film is at the beginning when he shows people who don't have medical insurance which makes a better case for an NHS model than anything else.Perhaps that's the direction in which he should have taken the film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you'll cry 'til you laugh, 3 Jun 2008
By 
WHITLAM (leafy Clapham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
Moore's films are usually described on the box as 'outrageously funny'; this one is clearly the darkest, as he deals with real people who may already have died as i write this.
The film is, as always, extremely selective and marvellously stuck together so that, from a movie-going point of view, there is a beginning , a middle and a wonderful concluding twenty minutes.
The knives are wielded, as they should be, at Corporate American Healthcare Firms as the victims are paraded on-screen and ultimately treated better in Cuba than they would have been at home in the USA.
It's propagandistic, portraying the UK NHS as a paragon but,with his thesis being a cry for 'universal free healthcare' , anything is better than the situation for the 50 million US citizens who are denied free healthcare.
If you are British or live in the UK this film will make you value your NHS a bit more; if you are American I suppose it will make you feel lucky not to be bundled out of a taxi and left at the mercy of one of the Emergency shelters.
It needs to be stressed, finally, that this is still a hugely entertaining film. Moore's ability to get away with his vitriolic attacks on the US Government, especially its extreme right wing (!) and the way he accesses Cuba and Guantanamo Bay in the film, make you feel that there is a constructed element to this film, but it's certainly not his own fiction.
I highly recommend this Moore film as much as the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
This was brilliant. Its shocking to see what health care is like in a supposedly developed country! As usual Michael Moores humour makes a serious situation palatable. I think anyone living with the NHS needs to watch this and be really grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bitter pill, 23 Sep 2007
The thorougly unloveable documentary maker's latest sets its sights on the American healthcare system - and a large and easy target it is. With Sicko's polemic evidently intended for American audiences, Moore is typically selective or misreprentative when making comparisons to healthcare in Europe. Britian is portrayed as some kind of healthcare nirvana, with Moore repeating a very unfunny gag about looking for the cashier in a British hospital five or six times (yes, we get it Michael, free healthcare. Can you imagine? Ha ha). Although the situation in the UK isn't comparable to that in the United States - at least basic care is open to everybody free of a finanical imperative - British viewers may be amused by his totally unobjective analysis of the NHS. Had he consulted any real patients he might have unearthed some interesting facts: waiting lists, bed shortages, MRSA super-bugs etc.

Likewise, Moore's summary account of the healthcare system in France is also laughably selective. Albeit one of the best health systems in the world it certainly is not entirely free, although most costs are covered by high social security contributions. Most people who can afford to pay the 30-euro monthly 'Mutuelle' health insurance (and that's not everybody, with unemployment standing at around 10% at the time of writing) do so. Furthermore, his interviews of the 'typical' French families are laughably misguided. I live in France, and the cinema audience was in hysterics at the obviously well-off and totally unrepresentative families who were only too happy to explain what a great standard of life they had and how much available income. We get Moore's point, socialised medicine is no bad thing; the US needs to drop its hysteria and paranoia towards it. But he lays it on too thick, especially when claiming that France's frequent demonstrations and strikes are an exemplary model of democracy in action. Yes, the French people are not afraid of their government, but to suggest that their utter antipathy towards any kind of social reform is something other nations should aspire to is completely demented.

The film is strongest when Moore sticks to what he knows best (i.e., the US) and there are some powerful 'case studies' of people failed by health insurance. One part, for example, focuses on an African American man who was denied a bone marrow transplant from his brother because his insurance company claimed the procedure was 'experimental'. It was, of course, his only chance of life and the rejection killed him. There are several other very moving moments including the CCTV footage of a woman staggering, dazed, around the street in a hospital gown because she'd had her treatment rejected by a hospital. Moments like this are so devestating that you wish Moore let his subjects do more of the talking and keep the self-aggrandising stunts to a minimum. He does for almost half the film, before rounding up sick 911 volunteers for a trip to Cuba on a mission to obtain free healthcare. It felt a little too staged, a little too exploitative to really move me.

Moreover, Moore's decision to anonymously pay for his Moorewatch.com adversary's wife's crippling healthcare bills smacks less of an act of goodwill and more of ruthless opportunism. His nememis was facing the closure of his anti-Moore website and the film's inclusion of this previously anonymous gesture transforms it into an act of humiliation. Nevertheless, Moore - like the subjects of his movies - is an easy target. Assuming that you are intelligent enough to distinguish Moore's films from genunine high-quality documentary filmmaking, then this can be taken (with a handfull of salt) as an engaging hour and a half in the cinema. Like him or not, his films speak clearly to the majority on important issues. Whether anyone will do anything about these issues or not is an entirely different matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars right-whingers hate facts, 9 Sep 2009
By 
T. Kennedy "tom" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
ah the truth hurts. michael moore continually exposes america as a horrible corrupt place where the people and politicians are slaves to corporations. i find it sad that so many people accuse moore of being biased and a liar, but never point out where he has lied. these people are obviously also corrupt. they don't want you to watch this film because it exposes their corruption. ordinary americans, including children, die because of their system and nothing can be done because american politicians and news corporations are bribed by health insurance companies and drug companies. this documentary shows this. some people will do or say anything for money and they will do anything to cover their tracks. this film exposes these people. i am not a communist by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because he has to be..., 13 April 2008
This review is from: Sicko [DVD] (DVD)
In the reviews here, MM gets criticism for being one sided. This is a tactic that he has to employ. If he didn't, the subject matters wouldn't get the publicity, and the audiences wouldn't be motivated to ask the questions. In this field of film making, you have to be polemic, otherwise you produce yet another program for TV that will only enjoy a small audience.
And yes, in Britain, we might grumble, but never, oh never, give up the NHS and the BBC. For when people who are dictated by profit control your health and information, you are in a very, very sorry state. Or the U.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sicko [DVD]
Sicko [DVD] by Michael Moore (DVD - 2008)
8.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews