Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining rom-com adaptation
I rented this movie not expecting to enjoy it, due to the fact that the role of leading lady Annie was left to Scarlett Johanssen- an actress who I have usually taken to disliking from seeing her in other, less favourable roles. However, after reading and enjoying the book I wanted to give it a go and was left surprsingly pleased. "The Nanny Diaries" is a pleasant enough...
Published on 27 Feb. 2008 by J.G

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable rom-com
Many of the best aspects of the book, in particular the narrator's sense of anger at her employers, embarrassment at her fish-out-of-water position and love for her charge, are rather difficult to transfer effectively to the big screen. The scriptwriters do their best, but ultimately this is a rom-com with elements of social-class based comedy, rather than the...
Published on 10 July 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining rom-com adaptation, 27 Feb. 2008
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this movie not expecting to enjoy it, due to the fact that the role of leading lady Annie was left to Scarlett Johanssen- an actress who I have usually taken to disliking from seeing her in other, less favourable roles. However, after reading and enjoying the book I wanted to give it a go and was left surprsingly pleased. "The Nanny Diaries" is a pleasant enough film, most likely to appeal to an audience who enjoyed films such as "The Devil Wears Prada" and "Sweet Home Alabama". It provides touching moments throughout, mainly seen through the sweet friendship formed between Annie and Grayer- the young child who is left in her care everyday by the rich Mrs X (played fabulously by Laura Linney). It also maintains its title as a comedy well, with a few moments causing me to laugh out loud. Over-all I would recommend The Nanny Diaries to people looking for an entertaining, light film and also to those, who like me, beforehand may not have always been a fan of Scarlett Johanssen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable rom-com, 10 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
Many of the best aspects of the book, in particular the narrator's sense of anger at her employers, embarrassment at her fish-out-of-water position and love for her charge, are rather difficult to transfer effectively to the big screen. The scriptwriters do their best, but ultimately this is a rom-com with elements of social-class based comedy, rather than the hard-hitting social commentary that is the original book. The main story arc is relatively uninspiring: nanny (Scarlett Johansson) meets nice upper-class boy in compromised situation, but despite her situation worsening, their relationship grows. Meanwhile, she grows much more fond than she had expected of her charge. Of course, in keeping with the usual plan, he is initially obnoxious, but responds to the love shown by nanny to become cute and adorable etc etc (though still quite annoying, and with moments of rather dubious acting). All fairly standard. What rescues this film from total mediocrity is the terrific performance of the grotesque parents, Mr and Mrs X, by Paul Giamatti and Laura Linney. Giamatti is woefully underused, but exactly portrays the sleaze and moral depravity of the upper echelons of the corporate and finance world. Everything he says makes your toes curl. Linney simply steals the film. Every scene she's in works: she's cold, icy, of course an enormous snob, but somehow you end up feeling more pleased about her redemption than about any other aspect of the finale. Her facial expression when Nanny orders a burger at a posh restaurant is just amazing. She's just utterly convincing: it would have been so easy to overplay her role, but she makes it so natural. Overall, fairly mainstream stuff, but worth it for Linney and Giamatti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liked the book, loved the film even more!, 12 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
I read this book over quite a long period of time. While I enjoyed it, I wasn't totaly crazy about it. Now, normally films never do a book justice but this film surpassed my expectations. It was warm, funny, sad and poignant. The nanny from New Jersey experiences life on the Upper East side of NYC. Laura Linny, who plays Mrs X, the self-absorbed cold-hearted mother is excellent in this film. It has a bit of romance thrwon in as you would expect, in the form of a Harvard Hottie who resides in the same upmarket building in another apartment. The family that Nanny (as she is always called) works for seems to have everything on the outside (house in the Hamptons, uniformed staff etc) but very little going for them in terms of being loving. I thought it was a good insight into how the other side live. I have now watched the DVD three times and won't be giving it away like I often do with books and DVDs. Well worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, frothy and light, 8 Jan. 2010
By 
Ms. Sheryl Andrews "A customer" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of Scarlett Johansson I had high hopes for this movie, and I wasn't disappointed. It was entertaining and just something nice and sweet to watch on a Sunday afternoon, even if some scenes were a bit depressing. Sure it wasn't going to win any Oscars, but who cares? Not every film has to be a masterpiece and Oscar-worthy. I have to admit the little boy was quite annoying and not very cute but you really couldn't help but feel for him being ignored by his parents all the time, especially when Annie (Scarlett Johansson) is forced to leave him for being an 'un fit Nanny' despite being the only capable person to look after him since his own parents don't seem very bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good, 10 July 2013
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
Laura Linney was amazing as always! I really like all her characters in every movie she had! GREAT actress!!!
Wish I could say the same about Scarlett Johanson. But I dont want to hurt her because ... I like her but as an actess.. I think she is not as talented as Hollywood think she is. Good looking for sure!! I watch her since her teens so I am not afraid to say-she has one way to portrait all her characters... What a shame!!
I dont know the name of that man who played the father (my shame...) but he was amazing too!!
The movie was very entertaining. Nothing heavy to digest. Sweet little movie. Easy to forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a charming little film, 23 Jun. 2008
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't sure what to expect with this film but I did really enjoy it. I could totally relate to the fresh out of college situation that Annie found herself in, unsure of how to live her future. I really enjoyed watching her settle in to the turbulent and rocky house and strike up a loving friendship with the little boy, whose image obsessed mother and work obsessed father have other more important activities to attend to instead of their son growing up. Scarlett Johansson is brilliant in some films (The Girl with the Pearl Earring, Ghost World), and I'm pleased to see her take on a role that suits her acting style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellously entertaining, 6 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
Charming, funny, sophisticated. Extremely well-acted. Mrs X must be one of Laura Linney's best performances. Alpha-plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, good film, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
As always no problems with the service, the disk arrived fast in great condition, and it's a good film starring actors who work well together, while poking fun at high society in a way that it's impossible not to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nanny diaries 5/5, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
the nanny diaries is a great movie and a greataddition to enybodys movie collection i would recomend to everybody exept children under 12 but that aside its hillarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL!!!, 28 May 2008
By 
L. Cooke "L. C" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries [DVD] (DVD)
I am one for chick flicks and fun girly films but this was SO boring! It was awful. I made myself watch it till the end hoping it would get better but it didnt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nanny Diaries [DVD]
The Nanny Diaries [DVD] by Robert Pulcini (DVD - 2008)
£3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews