Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was that the Boogeyman?...
Sixteen years ago, a ten year old boy called Michael Myers brutally kills his step father, his elder sister and her boyfriend.

Present day, and he escapes from the mental institution and makes his way back to his hometown intent on a murderous rampage pursued by Dr Sam Loomis, who is Michael's doctor and the only one who knows Michael's true evil...
Published 17 months ago by Corey Newcombe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SHOOT IT SIX TIMES! THEN BURN IT!
Halloween Uncut is more bloated than a toad that accidently swallowed a self-inflating balloon. It just goes on… and on… and on… and on. The whole time you’ll be wanting it to be over. I hated this “film”, it’s poorly written, poorly directed and has no need to exist. Do yourself a favour and steer clear of it, I’d have had...
Published 1 month ago by Padsworth


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A really good remake, 28 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I think this was a really good film, ok not as good as the original of course not they never are but that doesnt mean it is not decent because it is, i also like the fact that it showed you his childhood and some reasons for his psychotic behaviour as the first half of the film where you see him bullied at school and at home with his abusive stepfather and a bit of an insane home, i wont say to much as i do not want to spoil it for you who havent seen it but this is another take on halloween and was done quite well it is a lot more violent that the original and goes next level. So anyway as far as remakes go this is excellent as there has been some terrible remakes only a few i have been impressed with this being one of them along with The Hills Have Eyes and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre i recommend this give it a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HALLOWEEN, THIS IS NOT, 12 Mar. 2015
By 
MR SCULLY (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
First hour of this film was ok, I thought not a bad effort, but WOW!! it went down hill big style, it just dragged and dragged, to be honest with you I lost interest, and could not wait for the end. No where near as good as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Talk about missing the point..., 19 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I actually thought this film was (maybe) half-decent and wrote a reasonably complimentary review...that is, until I watched the original 1978 Halloween again the other night!

I cannot think of any remake that misses the point so completely as Rob Zombie does here. The power of the original Halloween film lies in several factors:

1) The sheer blankness of the killer, about whom we literally know almost nothing from the start of the film to it's end. His motives, his inner life, his personality, remain ominously hidden.

2) The dread that builds up from hinting at horrors to come, which is helped on by us barely glimpsing the killer until he begins his rampage towards the end of the film.

3) Most importantly - John Carpenter's masterfully eerie direction, which lends a deeply unsettling air even to a shot of an empty surburban street.

So what does Rob Zombie do? He completely strips away all the mystery and dread right from the very first scene, by tirelessly trying to fill in the blanks in Michael Myers' life! We don't want them filled in, for heaven's sake, that's the whole point!

It pains me to say this (because this was obviously a labour of love) but RZ really couldn't have missed the point any more if he'd tried.

Having said all that, this film is still better than any of the sequels (with the possible exception of Halloween H2O). It's certainly better than a lot of slasher films on the market, although at over 2 hours it is far too long to be truly effective even on that score.

Expect nothing and you won't be too disappointed! Probably...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars different movie same zombie, 6 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Rob zombies Halloween is the worst movie along with H2 i've seen in years,there is no suspense no likable characters and the worst. script writing ever.Zombie seems to have made the script up while filming the constant f_ __ _, f_ _ _ _ dialogue in the movie just makes you want to hit the skip button.Fans of Carpenters Halloween be warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get your grit ooon!, 2 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I think we all know by now that there is such a divided opinion on Rob Zombies version of Halloween. Some people loved it others not so much, however I loved it. Yes I am a major fan of the original but Zombie didn't remake the original as such, he has produced a re-imagining and I loved what he did. We start off by seeing young Michael in a little less than a dysfunctional family (that is an understatement) Despite the constant verbal abuse from his stepfather his mother is still extremely loving and gentle and we get to see a completely different side to Mrs Zombie after the crazy antics of baby! and poor Michael is bullied at school for being 'different'...anyway, its Halloween and yes you guessed it Michael snaps, the young actor playing Michael is really creepy and its this kind of mentality that freaks me out, that a child could just snap like that. The first half of the movie is centred around this and Michaels experience with the sanitarium. We then cut to the second half of the film which is a bit more familiar as Laurie Strode is grown up and her big brother who has escaped wants his sister back!
The film itself is pretty brutal, but I just love the gritty edge that Zombie brings to all of his movies, the guy is a genuine artist and no this film isn't for everyone but if you take it for what it is and what he wanted it to be you are bound to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super swift postage - a great item at a great ..., 11 Jun. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Super swift postage - a great item at a great price - a thoroughly recommended Amazon seller.
I most certainly will use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rob Zombie's Halloween, 25 Oct. 2011
By 
Stephen Myers "steve7k" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a review of the Rob Zombie remake/reimagining of the original John Carpenter film. I was really disappointed in it. It has its fair share of scares, but the whole point of the original for me was a child who was actually evil, not an abused one. There is an awful lot of backstory, which is supposed to explain his descent into killing, but it makes it into a completely different film. And much as I have no problem with swearing, the whole film is filled with it and unnecessarily. One of the beauties of the original also was that throughout all the killings there was no actual blood shown, unlike this, where the Kensington Gore must have made a fortune! The script is also very disjointed and some lines don't have any point to the story itself. The characters are updated, but the gratuitous nudity and sex don't add anything. I'm glad I've seen it, because the original was the first film to make me really scared (and I'm talking sweaty palms). This one doesn't do it for me. And I don't think it would if I hadn't seen the original either. And what's with 'Laurie Strode' She's only different from her schoolfriends because she wears glasses! The only thing that makes this film worth two points is the music, which uses the original themes anyway. My last name happens to be Myers and I would be targeting the filmmakers not the 'actors'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film...well deserved four stars id have given it 5 but it kept crashing in first half of film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did it have to be made!, 2 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge fan of the Halloween series I wasn't looking forward to this remake but I wanted to give it a chance, but I wish I hadn't bothered. It was a mess, more a psychological drama in parts than a horror movie, a very dissapointing opening far to long and when the horror does finally begin it isn't scary because you don't care about the stars when there beeing threatened or killed. The films main problem is that is centres to much on Micheal Myres as a character and not as the bogeyman as he was intended. A sequal to the remake may be done also I only hope that it isn't a remake of the 1981 sequal and a original idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where do I start from udo Kier to Danielle Harris horror fans dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD]
£7.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews