Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was that the Boogeyman?...
Sixteen years ago, a ten year old boy called Michael Myers brutally kills his step father, his elder sister and her boyfriend.

Present day, and he escapes from the mental institution and makes his way back to his hometown intent on a murderous rampage pursued by Dr Sam Loomis, who is Michael's doctor and the only one who knows Michael's true evil...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER EXAMPLE OF A POOR REMAKE. ALL-STAR CAST DOESN'T SAVE IT EITHER.
THE MOVIE

Since the HALLOWEEN reboot received good criticism I decided to give it a try, despite hating every sequel after the first original sequel.
Rob Zombie's HOUSE OF 1000 CORPSES wasn't too bad, I kinda liked THE DEVIL'S REJECTS and the reboot has plenty of great actors, this couldn't be too bad, right?
Wrong.
Compared to Carpenter's...
Published 3 months ago by Caligula II.


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was that the Boogeyman?..., 11 Feb 2014
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Sixteen years ago, a ten year old boy called Michael Myers brutally kills his step father, his elder sister and her boyfriend.

Present day, and he escapes from the mental institution and makes his way back to his hometown intent on a murderous rampage pursued by Dr Sam Loomis, who is Michael's doctor and the only one who knows Michael's true evil.

Elsewhere a shy teenager by the name of Laurie Strode is babysitting on the night Michael comes home...

Is it pure coincidence that she and her friends are being stalked by him?....

Out of all the remakes that have been made of prolific horror films, this has to be the best of them. Because Bay hasn't touched it, it hasn't been watered down to appease the teen market, and most of all Zombie has made the film his own.

The story is the same, and there are key scenes from the original, and of course the soundtrack, but has Zombie written all over it, and it's as dark as a horror movie as you could wish for.

It's strength and it's weakness though is the opening act. It's good to see Myers as a normal(ish) young boy, and to see a human side, but the original told no one that Myers was Strodes brother, he was just a shape, who killed for no reason.

The cast are great, and Harris and Mcdowell bring some gravitas to the proceedings.

It has some very disturbing moments throughout, and although it's not a patch on the original, it's a masterpiece compared the the turgid sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER EXAMPLE OF A POOR REMAKE. ALL-STAR CAST DOESN'T SAVE IT EITHER., 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

Since the HALLOWEEN reboot received good criticism I decided to give it a try, despite hating every sequel after the first original sequel.
Rob Zombie's HOUSE OF 1000 CORPSES wasn't too bad, I kinda liked THE DEVIL'S REJECTS and the reboot has plenty of great actors, this couldn't be too bad, right?
Wrong.
Compared to Carpenter's original it sucks real bad!
The idea with extending the background story isn't such a bad idea at all. Do I want to sit through an entire hour of it? Hell no! Less would have been more here!
Rob Zombie tries to expalin Michael Myers. Well OK, we get why he's a killer now, the stereotype bad childhood-violent-upbringing-bullied-at-school-syndome. Why is Michael Myers invincible? (crickets chirping). Why only explain PART of it?
The second half is a rehash of the original HALLOWEEN, which would have been OK some 20,000 slashers ago, but it just doesn't cut it anymore.
Laurie, Lynda and Annie and were regular teenagers in the original, in this remake they are just deeply stupid. Scout Taylor-Compton is just a horrible actress.
The rest of the star ensemble, Malcolm McDowell, Brad Dourif, William Forsythe, Richard Lynch, Udo Kier, Danny Trejo, Danielle Harris and Dee Wallace, to name a few, can't save this movie either, despite trying hard.
This reboot is a misfire. Stick with the original and the 1981 sequel.
1.0 OUT OF 5.0 STARS

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2008 Paramount Director's Cut UK DVD
Feature running time: 116 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1
Audio: English 5.1
Subtitles: English, English for the Hearing Impaired
Chapters: 24
Extras: Commentary, Deleted Scenes & Alternate Ending, 2 Featurettes, Theatrical Trailer
Region: 2

Picture: B-
Audio: B
Extras: B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get your grit ooon!, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I think we all know by now that there is such a divided opinion on Rob Zombies version of Halloween. Some people loved it others not so much, however I loved it. Yes I am a major fan of the original but Zombie didn't remake the original as such, he has produced a re-imagining and I loved what he did. We start off by seeing young Michael in a little less than a dysfunctional family (that is an understatement) Despite the constant verbal abuse from his stepfather his mother is still extremely loving and gentle and we get to see a completely different side to Mrs Zombie after the crazy antics of baby! and poor Michael is bullied at school for being 'different'...anyway, its Halloween and yes you guessed it Michael snaps, the young actor playing Michael is really creepy and its this kind of mentality that freaks me out, that a child could just snap like that. The first half of the movie is centred around this and Michaels experience with the sanitarium. We then cut to the second half of the film which is a bit more familiar as Laurie Strode is grown up and her big brother who has escaped wants his sister back!
The film itself is pretty brutal, but I just love the gritty edge that Zombie brings to all of his movies, the guy is a genuine artist and no this film isn't for everyone but if you take it for what it is and what he wanted it to be you are bound to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 16 July 2009
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
for any fans of the original halloween, watching this is going to be a shock to the system. it can be interpreted two ways: if you liked the original because of the haunting atmosphere, the emphasis on 'less is more' in the gore stakes, the fantastic camera angles, the way myers melts from foreground to background to claim another victim, and most importantly the ambiguous motivation for his actions then you're probably not going to like this film. if you are after a decently filmed, another messed up young man goes nuts scenario with excessive violence then you'll like this film. im in the former category. what rob zombie has done is to take myers from being a malevolent force in the background to being the main character, and to do this he has created a back story for the young michael that his dad is dead, his mother is a stripper and his step dad is abusive, his sister is loose, he gets bullied at school etc. for me this basically ruins myters mystique which is why he's so frightening, and it also makes us care less about the characters he's maiming. make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Talk about missing the point..., 19 Jun 2008
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I actually thought this film was (maybe) half-decent and wrote a reasonably complimentary review...that is, until I watched the original 1978 Halloween again the other night!

I cannot think of any remake that misses the point so completely as Rob Zombie does here. The power of the original Halloween film lies in several factors:

1) The sheer blankness of the killer, about whom we literally know almost nothing from the start of the film to it's end. His motives, his inner life, his personality, remain ominously hidden.

2) The dread that builds up from hinting at horrors to come, which is helped on by us barely glimpsing the killer until he begins his rampage towards the end of the film.

3) Most importantly - John Carpenter's masterfully eerie direction, which lends a deeply unsettling air even to a shot of an empty surburban street.

So what does Rob Zombie do? He completely strips away all the mystery and dread right from the very first scene, by tirelessly trying to fill in the blanks in Michael Myers' life! We don't want them filled in, for heaven's sake, that's the whole point!

It pains me to say this (because this was obviously a labour of love) but RZ really couldn't have missed the point any more if he'd tried.

Having said all that, this film is still better than any of the sequels (with the possible exception of Halloween H2O). It's certainly better than a lot of slasher films on the market, although at over 2 hours it is far too long to be truly effective even on that score.

Expect nothing and you won't be too disappointed! Probably...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great quality thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be open minded and don't compare. It's a great re-telling., 4 Jun 2014
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
If you love the original, as I do, then don't look on this film as a remake. You will be disappointed. It's a re-imagining of the story.
The director of the original 1978 film, John Carpenter, told Rob Zombie to make the film his own. That's exactly what he did.
This film explores more of Michael Myers' psyche and reasoning than the original did . The first half hour or so of the film chronicles the decent of the young Michael into Madness from the boys point of view and then slowly turns to that of Dr. Loomis, mirroring Michaels own journey into an increasingly catatonic state. This part of the film is both disturbing and unnerving whilst also remaining uncomfortably compelling.
Carpenter concentrated on building tension and atmosphere through the brilliant use of; mystery, brief subtle 'shape' appearances and more thoughtful, albeit still highly graphic, gore scenes.
Zombie chose to be more in your face.

My advice, get hold of a copy and watch it as a new film, exactly how you are meant to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Movie Remake Gone Wrong!, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I have always been a huge Halloween fan. Halloween was one of the first horror movies I watched growing up. The original movie is a classic in every way. Everything about the original (acting, music, plot) is spot on.

Now I was feeling mixed emotions when I heard Halloween was going to be remade. Most likely because it's rare to find a decent remake to a movie. I kind of gave up hope on remakes especially after watching The Fog remake. That movie sucked on all levels! But I wanted to give this remake a chance especially as I am huge Halloween fan.

After watching the first half of the movie, I will give Rob Zombie credit where it's due. He came from a different angle. He focused the first half of the movie on Michael's childhood. There was way to much talking. So much talking - I was falling asleep!

Then it started to pick up after Michael is about to escape the hospital. What I was incredibly sickened by was having a rape scene in the movie. What the hell was Rob thinking putting a scene like that in this movie? Thank heavens, the forward skip button on the remote control exists.

When we meet the characters, I was quite shocked by the amount of sexual references each character makes. I mean each character was incredibly boring. The actress playing Laurie Strode was constantly screaming. Giving me a complete headache. Even the actor played Dr Loomis was boring. The violence in this movie was incredibly horrible. Way to strong!

I know with your average horror movie, you'll get the nudity, sex scenes and gore. But this movie was almost filled with too much of it. The only good thing about this movie was the music but that couldn't save it.

So if you enjoy a horror movie with a lot of sex and violence. Then this is the movie for you!

But if you enjoy your average horror movie, stick with the original.

You know the saying - You can't beat the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fair attempt, but ultimately flawed., 20 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This era of horror films will surely go down in history as an age of film-makers relying on re-treads of tried and trusted movies. That said, this has its moments. The last half an hour or so, when Myers really lets rip, is especially dark and gripping. It's also an interesting concept to see deeper into Myers' past as a bullied child and as a patient of Dr Loomis.

The main problem is the complete misunderstanding of what made Myers scary in the original version of Halloween. In the seventies movie there was a perfectly ordinary child in a perfectly respectable family who for unknown reasons stabs his sister to death and then, years later, returns to his old neighbourhood to create havoc. What made it unnerving was that it could be your neighbourhood and the people living in it were the kinds of people who could be your neighbours. In the new version, however, Myers is a victim of circumstances who to be honest is by far the most likeable character in a cast of brutes, rapists, irritating teenagers and other repugnant individuals. We shouldn't be feeling for the killer. We should be scared for the safety of the unsuspecting townsfolk. Also, the new Dr Loomis isn't a patch on the original. Compared to Donald Pleasance's brooding obsessive, the new version is just a bloke with a mad professor haircut.

As I said, the last half an hour is good slasher film material (albeit in the style of Halloween sequals and Friday the 13th rather than the original 70s film). But a lot of people might have switched off after the first half an hour of repetative f-words and the unwatchably obnoxious Myers family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars total enjoyment, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: Halloween (DVD)
Brilliant version ignore the ones who gave this a bad review they are not real horror movie fans obviously or they are twilight fans. this film has everything gore great story and a great cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween: Uncut (Director's Cut Edition) [DVD]
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews