Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable
This is Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window, but for teenagers. I don't mean that as a criticism - it's actually very watchable.

Instead of being stuck in a flat with a broken leg like James Stewart, the hero of this film has been tagged for punching his Spanish teacher. He's bored, he has a few hand shandies (well, he's a teenager!) and he begins to spy on his...
Published on 11 Oct 2007 by Dr. George L. Sik

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent film
I thought this was actually a decent film. It was slow moving but got better as it went on. It had some good comical moments and the director succeeded in creating great intensity at key moments without actually being that violent - very difficult to do. The writing was good, although the plot and ending predictable. The acting was strong through out and it is worth...
Published on 8 Oct 2007 by SHANN


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window, but for teenagers. I don't mean that as a criticism - it's actually very watchable.

Instead of being stuck in a flat with a broken leg like James Stewart, the hero of this film has been tagged for punching his Spanish teacher. He's bored, he has a few hand shandies (well, he's a teenager!) and he begins to spy on his neighbours. One neighbour in particular begins to look suspicious.

To reveal any more would be unfair, but it's an intellient and very enjoyable film. It's difficult to be intensely original in this genre, but it's definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie - excellent actors, 8 April 2008
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a Lovefilm member, so I get to watch plenty of movies per month. I didn't really intend to watch Disturbia, because it sounded, well, 'disturbing', however, I also don't like missing out on new releases so I gave it a go. Boy, am I glad I did. Disturbia is one of the most entertaining films I've seen in a long time. Despite the somewhat gruesome title, Disturbia is a comedy that follows a teenager's (Shia LeBeouf) house arrest and his growing obsession with watching his neighbours' actions day in day out. He's completely taken in by two of them: the girl that has moved in next door and the middle-aged man across the street, who just behaves like he has something to hide.
Shia LeBeouf is an excellent actor. He can play anything from funny to scared. He has this natural charm and ability to keep the viewer engaged and kept us laughing throughout the movie. Disturbia is definitely one watchable film and is a perfect example that an action/comedy/thriller doesn't have to have a huge amount of blood, cut-off limbs and your usual screaming teenage group to become a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a "punt", 9 Feb 2008
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't now if i would like this film as i am a fan of Rear Window, it's not as good as Rear window but as a modern day verison it comes a close second.It's high paced, and Shia LaBeouf is great in it. Well worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment!, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this last night with my daughter and it was the first thing on my mind when I woke up. I kept wondering about things in a good way.

It tells the story of Kale, (played excellently by Shia La Beouf), who whilst driving home from a fishing trip with his father, has a head on collision with another vehicle. The crash in itself is worth seeing! Anyway, the father dies and we catch up to Kale a year later asleep in Spanish class while his best friend Ronnie is being the class clown. The teacher wakes up Kale and to cut a long story short, he makes a remark to Kale that has him lashing out at the teacher and giving him a black eye.

Kale is placed under house arrest rather than going to jouvie and he has to stay so for 90 days. His mother, (Carrie Ann Moss), is at the end of her tether with him and closes down his i-tunes and x-box and cuts the cord on his bedroom tv. She leaves him instructions to clean up his room and the kitchen. But Kale has found something much more interesting to do.

He has new neighbours move in next door and they have a great looking teenage daughter. Kale begins a ritual of watching her swim in the pool, do yoga and other stuff and he's quite content. Ronnie comes over and is equally impressed but accidentally lets the girl know that they're watching her. The girl, (Ashley), comes to the door and demands to know what they've been doing.

The boys quickly concoct a story about the neighbour next door being a serial killer. (Kale had watched a news report of a missing girl who was last seen getting into a blue 60 mustang which had a dent on one side.) This said neighbour owned such a car and had aroused his suspicions. So the three of them decide to do a stakeout.

There's some really funny stuff in here that us both laughing out loud. But equally there's stuff that makes your skin crawl with tension. Think of it as a modern day Rear Window and you're on the right track. It's definitely well worth taking the time to watch it. If you enjoyed Shia La Beouf in Transformers you will love him in this one. He steals the show completely. If you're looking for a horror I'd look elsewhere though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great teenage thriller film, 4 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film and I loved it - Shia LaBeouf is hysterical and David Morse is intense and chilling at times as the antagonist psycho killer next door.
It is a very formulaeic film but the formula has worked for years and it still works a treat.
A rollercoaster of events unfold at the hands of LaBeouf that make for an intense end sequence that wraps up the story.
I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rear Window for the 21st century, 6 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
There is no shying away from the fact that this film is first and foremost Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window for the modern era. All of the Hitchcockian elements that made the original film so popular are all here including when the main character sends a friend in to explore the neighbour's house while he is away and the classic moment when the spied on becomes aware of his privacy being invaded and looks directly at the spy and us as an audience. The film does not attempt to hide its homage to Hitchcock but it is its modern edge that makes it retain a unique appeal. Jimmy Stewart's camera and binoculars are shoved into nostalgia by Shia Labeouf's modern equipment, including cameras, computers, televisions and phones. At one point he is able to get a live feed of his suspicious neighbour shovel shopping via the internet and his friend's phone. Fans of Hitchcock (like myself) may be cynical of the film for 'stealing' the tone of Rear Window but there is still lots of newer elements to be found in this film. An adolescent twist sees Shia Labeouf's character on house arrest, filling his time with spying on his neighbours and the attractive girl next door. Humour also plays a large part in the film. One particularly funny moment sees him blast an old soul song from his hifi atop his roof in an attempt to gatecrash his love interest's party. The film keeps a nice balance between, shocks, tension and humour and although many of the scare techniques are unashamedly borrowed; in the same way that a period war film creates discussion about today's society, this film (among other broader issues) explores the utilisation of technology in a world undergoing 'a heightened state of paranoia.' Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cool funny thriller!, 21 Mar 2008
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disturbia [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very cool, very good thriller. It's a bit like a modern day remake of Rear Window but with plenty of comic moments as well that it is also a bit like The 'Burbs, The girl next door. Overall a very enjoyable thriller and the pace really picks up towards the end with a few good "red herrings" along the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The view from www.georgevader.co.uk (drunken movie ramblings), 12 Aug 2007
By 
R. J. Williams "Postie" (Clevedon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A teenager Kale (Shia LeBoef) is tagged and put under house arrest, during this time he becomes convinced his sinister neighbour Mr Turner (David Morse) is a serial killer, and with help from his friend's Ronnie (Aaron Yoo) and new neighbour Ashley (Sarah Roemer) they set out to prove him guilty.

The first obvious comparison is "Rear Window", this time though the voyeur 'spies' on his neighbours not just with binoculars but with a video camera as well, he trawls the net too looking for clues and evidence.Nobody will believe him though, is he suffering from cabin fever, when it looks like he might catch him with guilty evidence, Mr Turner always delivers an alibi.

"Disturbia" is a thoroughly enjoyable, and very quirky, little thriller.There's no unnecessary gore or T&A, just a good old fashioned tense, exciting and well paced little film from director D J Carusso (who has also directed a few episodes of 'The Shield')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TAUT THRILLER, 2 Feb 2008
By 
W. Yeardley "Toon1" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disturbia [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
Disturbia really boasts a top cast and marks another fine acting performance from Shia LaBeouf (Transformers) but also stands out from the crowd thanks to the stunning presence of the relatively unknown actress Sarah Roemer who is gorgeous! The image transfer is of very high quality throughout with the opening scenes in the mountains really looking stunning in High Definition, almost 3D in depth and the sound is perfectly respectable too.
Underneath all this eye candy there lies a suberb teen thriller with plenty of shocks, including a very unexpected and horrific one just five minutes in which I promise you will never see coming!,a truly sinister bad guy at its heart who really delivers the scares and some very funny moments too which help relieve the building tension, leading you in to a false sense of security, before it gets racked up again!
I highly recommend this movie particularly in glorious HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good thriller, 17 Jun 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Prepare to be scared: "Disturbia" is an effective and enjoyable thriller. 17-year old Kale (Shia LaBeouf) has experienced a terrible tragedy and as a result, has quite a temper. He finds himself sentenced to three months of house arrest and must wear a GPS on his ankle. Just when making sculptures out of Twinkies starts to get old, a cute girl moves in next door, and Kale uses his binoculars to keep a close eye on her. She becomes a pal and together they watch their reclusive neighbor Mr. Turner (David Morse,) whose actions make him look a lot like a killer.

Yes, it's the old "Rear Window" plot - guy stuck at home spends all his time spying on his neighbors - but different enough with a teenage star and loads of high-tech gadgets to be quite fresh and engaging. LaBeouf has grown up a lot since his days as the wacky little brother on "Even Stevens," and gives a compelling performance. Morse is simply terrifying as the creepy neighbor. The story is fast-paced and intense, with quite a few shocking scenes that made me jump and one or two where I had to close my eyes. It's a well-told and scary tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disturbia [DVD]
Disturbia [DVD] by D.J. Caruso (DVD - 2008)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews