Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chaplin is brilliant even when the poor disc production is against him.
I'm a big fan of Chaplin, needless to say he is certainly one of the great film makers and comedians of the 20th century and a abit of a god like figure to us rookie film makers following in his footsteps. Why then a legend of this caliber does not deserve even the basic requirements of a DVD disc set, god only knows. A lot of the footage has not been restored (which I...
Published 21 months ago by mazgazza

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the other comments is WRONG
This collection contains the following films, NOT the ones listed in Veronique Guemise's comment:

Disc 1: Tillie's Punctured Romance, The Champion, In The Park
Disc 2: A Jitney Elopement, Burlesque On Carmen, A Night In The Show
Disc 3: The Floorwalker, The Rink, Easy Street, Police

If you are buying this because you are expecting the films...
Published 6 months ago by Nicholas Ellis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chaplin is brilliant even when the poor disc production is against him., 1 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Chaplin, needless to say he is certainly one of the great film makers and comedians of the 20th century and a abit of a god like figure to us rookie film makers following in his footsteps. Why then a legend of this caliber does not deserve even the basic requirements of a DVD disc set, god only knows. A lot of the footage has not been restored (which I can live with), the DVD box design is pretty minimal (looks like something you could make yourself on iDVD or windows movie maker) and the damn films have been very carelessly handled. Now I don't know if the film frame being 'off centre', cutting out the left hand side and a bit of the top of the frame (Disc 3 'The River Mashers'), is something Chaplin did or something the guys that scanned the film did, but I know it made following the film very difficult, though I made it through in the end. However I did not make it through 'Tillie's Punctured Romance', for the simple fact that the DVD timeline ended before the film did. Plain and simple carelessness (and I still have the rest of the disks to watch). Charlie Chaplin would sometimes retake film shots 40-50 times to get them right, he insisted on doing a lot of the main roles himself, to make sure they were handled done right, he couldn't be here to make sure the DVD was put together right, but mark my words if there is a heaven, and the DVD creators are lucky enough to meet Chaplin up there, I hope he slaps the lot of them, then kicks them each up the backside!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set (DVD)
Such a beautiful, marvellous titles! Charlie Chaplin and his cinema when everything began. It is a dream. It is something very special. A very good box for who loves cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important historical document for students of cinema, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set (DVD)
Although it's not full of belly laughs there are some funny moments and you can see the influence Chaplin had on the 20th Century cinema and why this guy is so important. As an aside there is some fascinating insights into life in the early 1900's. Also there is some great early jazz playing in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the other comments is WRONG, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Nicholas Ellis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection contains the following films, NOT the ones listed in Veronique Guemise's comment:

Disc 1: Tillie's Punctured Romance, The Champion, In The Park
Disc 2: A Jitney Elopement, Burlesque On Carmen, A Night In The Show
Disc 3: The Floorwalker, The Rink, Easy Street, Police

If you are buying this because you are expecting the films contained in Veronique Guemise's comment, you'll be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great selection, 17 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set (DVD)
A great selection of Chaplin shorts.

A small niggle: the music is ill-fitting and downright irritating at times.

A slightly larger niggle: one of the discs froze halfway through a film, and treating the disc to one of my 'opti-wipes' made no difference, which suggests a production fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the films hate the soundtrack, 7 April 2010
By 
M. D. Finney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good introduction to Charlie Chaplin. I remember liking them a lot more when I was a kid but I still enjoyed most of the films. The backgound music was irritating at times and this spoiled it for me, with several films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chaplin early years, 6 Mar 2010
By 
A. Borges "Photosax" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set (DVD)
The first appearences of Charlie Chaplin.
No extras...
Bad image quality.

but hey... it's cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set (DVD)
A genius, a monster, a fine body of work, sad that its not on the box like when i was a kid. The Kid is superbe...
Bloody great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to own a classical series, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set (DVD)
I am happy to receive this classical series for my grand children. I have yet to show them because they live abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I MUST ADMIT THAT I HAVE NEVER SEEN THESE BEFORE,AND I THOUGHT THAT THEY WERE VERY DISAPPOINTING AND TEDIOUS NOT AT ALL LIKE HIS WELL KNOWN FILMS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set
The Charlie Chaplin Collection 8 DVD Set by Charlie Chaplin (DVD - 2007)
18.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews