Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis at his best
I've discovered this 3CD set rather late in the day but love it. CD1 is the previously released Vangelis Blade Runner "soundtrack" - not a soundtrack album in the strictest sense, of course, more a collection of themes and riffs used in the film supplemented by some extraneous material sung by the likes of Demis Roussos and Mary Hopkin. It's an album I always...
Published 16 months ago by Kraftwerker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another botched release and far from definitive
The original, much-belated-by-ego CD of Blade Runner was something of a botched job, so the 3CD set produced for the 25th anniversary held out the promise of fixing all the original's shortcomings - include the omitted cues, get rid of the dialogue samples, etc. Instead it's actually magnified them. Aside from Tyrell's Death most of the second CDs cues seem to be outtakes...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis at his best, 10 Aug 2013
This review is from: Blade Runner Trilogy 25th Anniversary (Audio CD)
I've discovered this 3CD set rather late in the day but love it. CD1 is the previously released Vangelis Blade Runner "soundtrack" - not a soundtrack album in the strictest sense, of course, more a collection of themes and riffs used in the film supplemented by some extraneous material sung by the likes of Demis Roussos and Mary Hopkin. It's an album I always liked because it conjures up the feel of Ridley Scott's epic film so well, aided by the inclusion of some choice bits of dialogue at the start and end, even though I would not count myself a fan of much of Vangelis' musical output. I'm surprised how much I like CD2 though. It's a sort of ambient take of the first album, comprised solely of instrumentals with no added dialogue. As other reviewers have pointed out, you can hear some of these throughout the film and it notably contains the music to Dr Tyrells death scene and the following scene where Batty takes the lift back down the Tyrells building, plus music from the ensuing chase and fight between Deckard and Batty, and an instrumental version of Tears In Rain, minus Batty's final lines of dialogue (here it's called Fading Away). What makes it for me is the atmospherics - there's lots of tinkling bells and such, plus street noises, clicks and bleeps from the film which evoke perfectly images from the film for me, such as on Empty Streets and Leon's Room - and the two tracks that are listed as bonus tracks (One alone and Desolation Path) which add some melodic structure to the whole CD. The third CD is a bit of a curate's egg though. It's a Vangelis album of new music inspired by the film and his original (i.e. CD1) release and works well overall, but is a bit bland and featureless at times. the intro (Launch approval) leads us into what is essentially a remix of One More Kiss,Dear, sampling the first line of the song and setting it to beats and the familiar synths from the opening section of the film. Its pompous in all the right places and a good start to CD3. However, several tracks feature voices and dialogue which have no relation to the film (some guy witters on in one of them about the dangers of LA but that's as close as we get to Deckards world) and there's a fair bit of aimless moody sax (e.g. The jazzy noodlings of Sweet Solitude) which fails to replicate Blade Runner Blues or the Love Theme off CD1. But Perfume Exotico/Spotkanie Z Matha bucks the trend with a nice sax solo in the former and its riffs on the Mary Hopkin vocal from Rachel's Song on CD1. But taken as a separate entity, CD3 has a Blade Runner-ish charm all of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most of the new material IS IN THE MOVIE. Please read..., 27 Dec 2007
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blade Runner Trilogy 25th Anniversary (Audio CD)
I'm getting a little annoyed by some people giving negative reviews of this 3CD set when they simply don't appreciate what they have here. Now, don't get me wrong, this is NOT the complete Blade Runner score. For some reason, they've never seen fit to release it. But taking a balanced look at what IS in this release, here is a break down of the tracks on CD 2, which is the disc containing previously unreleased pieces of the score.

1) LONGING. This track does not appear in the movie as far as I'm aware, although it isn't listed as a bonus track. Instead, it offers a fairly short introductory piece which leads nicely into Track 2. Yes, these tracks are abridged, as Vangelis did with the 1994 soundtrack release (CD 1 in this album set).

2) UNVEILED TWINKLING SPACE: This cue is the last piece heard in the film, when Deckard 'rescues' Rachael and they flee his apartment. It includes the beautiful, haunting tones where Deckard is looking at the origami unicorn.

3) DR.TYRELL'S OWL: This cue is mixed quite low in the movie but plays all through Rachael's Voight-Kampff test at The Tyrell Corporation. It begins with Deckard's line "It's too bright in here."

4) AT MR.CHEW'S: all this music corresponds to the scene in the freezer where Roy and Leon ask Chew questions about Tyrell. In the movie this cue is around 3 minutes whereas here it is 4:47, which suggests that Vangelis may have scored a longer cut of this scene.

5) LEON'S ROOM: (erroneously called LEO'S ROOM on the back of the CD). This music is actually the music covering Deckard's Esper analysis of Leon's photo in his appartment. You can hear it quite clearly in the movie, although occasionally it's mixed low and those lovely Esper bleeps get more of your attention.

6) ONE ALONE: A bonus track, which has echoes of Vangelis' work from other albums. It reminded me of L'apocalypse Des Animaux in particular.

7) DECKARD AND ROY'S DUEL: This is actually "Wounded Animals", the final confrontation, but on the CD this cue is 6 minutes long whereas in the film it's almost 11 minutes. This music, in a different form, has already been released.

8) DR.TYRELL'S DEATH: Well, this is the choral/gothic cue playing during Tyrell's demise. This version is much longer than the one in the movie.

9) DESOLATION PATH: The album says it's a bonus track, and technically it is as it doesn't appear in any of the official released versions of Blade Runner. However, this is actually the ALTERNATE LOVE THEME that can be heard (with the film) in the famous "Workprint" that can be found in the 5 DVD set of BR. It's a fascinating and different take of the scene. It's interesting to note that this version and the final one in the workprint vary in length and some content.

10) EMPTY STREETS: This one I'm not sure about. The album doesn't list it as bonus material, but I can't place it in the film. Definitely there are tones from it that can be picked out, but as a piece I'm not really sure it's there. Over to you ;-)

11) MECHANICAL DOLLS: I read another review saying this track is also not included in the movie, but as far as I can tell it's mixed quietly into the background at Sebastian's apartment at different points. It's a nice piece, regardless, feeling childlike yet empty.

12) FADING AWAY: Well, this is "Tears In Rain" but without Rutger Hauer's monologue. Here it is spoiled somewhat by an added background "wind" effect. I have no idea why they renamed it, as this track has been known for years as Tears In Rain. Perhaps it's simply to differentiate it from the original track (with dialogue) included on Disc 1.

And there you have it. That's the best I can do, but I hope it's some use to you.

What many fans can't appreciate, unfortunately, is that composers often feel their music needs to work independently of the images they were scored to accompany. That is their right, I feel, as it's their music. Some fans just want all the cues as they were heard in the movie, in that order, regardless of the dramatic flow when isolated from the imagery. That isn't what many composers do. Jerry Goldsmith hated doing it, John Williams even avoids it. Vangelis certainly does.

Basically, this second CD is a direct companion to the original soundtrack release, with pieces extended or altered to form coherent thematic cues which together create an arc to the experience of the album. That's what was done with the first, and that's what has been done here, including the abridging of tracks. It isn't a complete score, no, but it's a beautiful extension of the original 1994 soundtrack album and, as explained above, it does contain a substantial amount of music from the film.

It's not the scene-by-scene score. If you want that, seek out the bootleg scores that are around, but be aware, complete as they claim to be, they're not. And what they certainly are not is an experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Julian Stevens (BRISTOL, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade Runner Trilogy 25th Anniversary (Audio CD)
I think it's all great, even if every last note of what was in the film still isn't here, not least the prologue music, for which I must admit I've sorely hankered for many a year.

But, at the price, this three disc set is almost worth buying for Disc 3 alone, even if it is new material that wasn't actually part of the OMS. As a complimentary set, it's only a little inferior to the original music ~ the new arrangement of Just One Kiss, Dear is hugely better and more fitting than the original (even though I can't think quite where it might have fitted into the film ~ but then neither did the original, of which no more than the most fleeting few bars featured in the background to some brief bar/cafe scene), whilst Sweet Solitude is sheer magic. I don't care for absolutely everything Vangelis has done (some of it, prior to Chariots Of Fire, is very weird) but, for me, his music for Blade Runner represents pretty well the pinnacle of his career.

Purists may carp (they always do) but, for the rest of us, this is a very welcome augmentation to the original single disc issue. The second disc, consisting of atmospheric themes from various scenes in the movie is also very good; not melodies per se, but highly relevant and evocative, bringing back so many strong memories of the film that you wonder how they didn't seem to be serious omissions from the 1994 OMS. But then we had to wait so long just for that CD that we were thankful for what we got.

Regardless of whether or not you already own the original single album, this new 3 disc set is a steal, both musically and sonically and a very welcome augmentation to the 1994 single disc. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis's awesome score, 7 April 2011
By 
Mr. R. C. Thewlis (Matlock, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blade Runner Trilogy 25th Anniversary (Audio CD)
Blade Runner * * * *
Music Composed by Vangelis
Universal Music 060075305147(4)
RT Disc 1 57:40 Disc 2 44:02 Disc 3 48:20

This Blade Runner album has taken a long time in coming and it took until 1992 to get any semblance of the score on CD. This was the single disc edition and is the first disc contained on this special 3CD pack released from Universal. Disc 1 contains 12 tracks with the marvellous opening 1: Main Title, the melodic 8-note melody of 3: Wait for me, the eclectic 9-note theme of 4: Rachael's Song, the soulful saxophone of 5: Love Theme, the driving 4-note melody of 11: End Credits and the (complete with Hauer's voiceover) emotional 12: Tears in the Rain. It was a superb experience back then and still is a great album now, though the voice backings do annoy now and again. This is, of course, except for the song 6: One More Kiss Dear which frankly I could have done without. It works well within the film but not here on a listening experience.

Disc 2 is what fans of the film have been praying for for years. However, if you are not used to Vangelis's style you may find this a hard listen. The disc opens with moody synth and repeating chimes over the first few tracks. The eclectic chimes in 5: Leo's Room make for in interesting atmosphere, though 6: One Alone, featuring dreamy synth including a repeating 4 note melody. is quite a delight to listen to, with Vangelis adding backing levels in so many subtle ways.

8: Dr Tyrell's Death features Vangelis introducing voices over a synth maelstrom with a 3 note pain motif, and it works so well in the film and on here too, though quite grisly in the film! 9: Desolation Path builds a moody synth backing with a slow ascending scale, with a wandering synth tone and is quite delight to listen to when coupled with synthetic piano, lovely bit of music.

10: Empty Streets easily conjures up the images of those darkened streets, replete with Neon hoardings and rain washed by searing synth and otherworld melodies. You could probably call it Bladerunner blues as it feels exactly like that. The penultimate track 11: Mechanical Dolls features solo synth tones for the sequence in Samuel's apartment. Full of childish wonder, yet tinged with alternate piano and a building bass that somehow puts you on edge.

12: Fading Away finally features the end to Roy Batty's character at the end of Bladerunner, minus dialogue and what a little gem we have here. Building the emotion of the scene to breaking point as a Replicant does the most human thing it could possibly do.

Disc 3 contains music that Vangelis has composed specially for this 25th Anniversary release and on first listen I wondered where he could take us now, some 25 years later. Indeed, the first track 1: Launch Approval starts off with a synthy childish voice, coupled with a man's voice with the main 5-note theme booming away, then moves quickly into Track 2: Up and Running, where the first lyric from One More Kiss Dear repeats before segueing into a powerful repeating statement of the main theme, ending on a little ditty via piano. This is very listenable indeed.

After a moody track 3: Mail from India, it's off with odd tones bouncing around in track 4: BR Downtown, mixed with speech and longer statements.

Moving up a gear, Vangelis fires in 5: Dimitri's Bar with a rocking beat coupled with Saxophone statements. Indeed. the saxophone is given free reign here, and when coupled with alternating 10-note piano makes an interesting composition.

6: Sweet Solitude mixes dreamy synth with echoey tones creating a longing feeling, as the name implies. With an addition of a beat and Saxophone it builds to a really nice track, almost superb for winding down after a hard day. The same cannot be said about the following track 7: No Expectation Boulevard, with a punchy beat and dancing bass coupled with unintelligible voices. When added with synthy tones it makes quite a rocking listen, though not exactly my favourite here.

8: Vadavardt samples the machine Dekkard uses to identify the first Replicant, coupled with oscillating piano with voices. With 9: Perfume Exotico utilising that synthy backing from Blade Runners' streets coupled with a synthetic beat humming away to the voice of Edward James Olmos. Then samples of the delightful melody from Disc 1's Wait for Me? coupled with more Saxophone action.

Finally, as we close towards the end of the disc, 10: Spotkanie Z Matka gives a twinkling melody coupled with dreamy synth echoing past Blade Runner music, which is truly superb to listen to. With solo piano featuring on the penultimate track, appropriately enough called 11: Piano in an Empty Room, this echoes the solace in Samuel's apartment and is truly quite beautiful.

12: Keep Asking closes the disc with the Child's voice it began with, encompassing wind background noises ending the disc in an unusual way and not quite the way in what you would expect.

The overall packaging is really well done and complements the DVD package very well indeed. The booklet is nicely laid out too, with a foreword from Ridley Scott, who even gets to mention Jerry Goldsmith in his list of best musical talents in film history.

The music contained here has been requested by fans for many years and not only that also we have new compositional material. It's a set for fans sure enough, however also quite enjoyable for anyone else too and frankly shows Mr Vangelis off in so many musical ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blade Runner sound track., 16 Feb 2007
This is the genuine soundtrack of Ridley Scott's finest movie, but not the full and comprehensive Esper edition that includes all the main and incidental music from the movie. This soundtrack includes dialog from the movie mixed in with the tracks as an aid to help set the mood and follow the path of the movie scenes. Seeing as the only peolpe who may buy this know the film inside out you will know what im talking about, you get Roy Batty's death speech to Deckard, in full with back ground music and sound effects, Eldern Tyrel's speech to Deckard about the blush reponse, Deckard's apartment dialoge with the Esper photo machine and many other little spots of dialogue. Well worth the money as this is the best chill out music you can get, and if you a fan of the movie, as soon as you put it in your player, you are transported to the dark, rainy, moody 1920's art deco inspired future of the cult film. Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why release what you've already got?, 1 Jan 2008
By 
Paul Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blade Runner Trilogy 25th Anniversary (Audio CD)
Okay first of all, yes, advertising this release as being the complete soundtrack is bad form.

This is speculation, but I think the release of this 3 disc album broke down something like this:

Vangelis's people would have made him aware of the various bootlegs that have sprung up over the past 15 years. (I think it's safe to say that there have probably been more bootleg variation of the Blade Runner soundtrack than any other movie, some 3 dozen of them in fact: go check out such sites as vangelis-rarities for a list of some of the examples.) So what I think happened was this: Vangelis took a look at all this stuff and thought, "Well, if die-hard fans already have all this stuff, or even some of it, then what's the point of me giving them it all over again?!"

(The point, of course, is that it would have been 'official' and would have been in digitially remastered sound, but of no moment...)

So instead of repackaging all the cues from the bootlegs into an 'official' release Vangelis decided to give the fans almost entirely new music.

It's interesting to note that almost all the fans over on the International Vangelis Forum are delighted with this release. Why? Precisely because it's 'all new music'! The ones who are whining are the film's fans who simply want the actual soundtrack as it appears in the movie. (In which case virtually all of these fans already have it, in the form of the widely available bootlegs, such as the Esper Edition and the Deck Definitive release.)

Now, mind you, I'm a huge fan of the movie (like most people here I have the 5 disc boxset) and I can understand people's wish to simply have the soundtrack's cues sans sound effects and dialogue, and to that end I would have preferred if Vangelis had removed the dialogue from the first disc of this 3CD release, as opposed to simply including the '94 edition unaltered.

It helps, however, to remember this: Vangelis has NEVER revisited the soundtrack to any of the movies he's worked on. Blade Runner is the exception. It's interesting to note that nowhere - unlike ALL of his other official soundtrack releases, including the recent Alexander and El Greco - does the legend 'Original Motion Picture Soundtrack' appear on the '94 release, or for that matter this '07 release, other than that red sticker. This is a 3CD 'album' in celebration of the movie, NOT a soundtrack.

Vangelis has NEVER been interested in taking the exact edits of his cues from a movie and packaging them onto a CD. THIS is what Blade Runner's film fans want. Vangelis will never do this (and precisely BECAUSE there are so many bootlegs that do exactly that he no doubt feels, "What's the point, you have all this material already?") Instead Vangelis prefers to have his soundtrack releases stand on their own as legitimate albums, and not merely a collection of cues, to the point where he will often rearrange certain tracks for their official album release. This is clearly evident on 1492: Conquest of Paradise and Alexander, where the tracks are not only shorter - or in some cases even longer - than how they appear in the movie, but in addition they have been subtly rearranged. Both of these movies boast 2CD Complete Score bootlegs. Both of these bootleg releases are inferior to the far shorter official single disc releases. Why? Because they're bland, flat - THEY'RE TOO LONG! They don't stand on their own as albums. Most film cues are only a minute or two long, especially in the case of Blade Runner, and whereas these work terrifically within the context of the actual movie, they rarely stand on their own, or even if they do they simply don't flow properly if ran together with the film's other cues when placed onto an album.

Vangelis has always been more concerned with his soundtrack releases maintaining their own sense of cohesion than simply taking the easy route of lazily throwing a whole bunch of cues onto a disc. Sure, this would have delighted the film's fans, but the film and the separate release of the music on CD are two different things, two different mediums.

The majority of Vangelis fans are happy with this 3CD release because it gives us two CDs of brand new music which COMPLIMENT the bootlegs which almost all of us already have.

And, for those few who don't owned the bootlegs, please don't buy them from eBay. Members of such sites as the yahoo group bladerunner_soundtrack will happily provide them free of charge.

Blade Runner's film fans are simply going to have to learn to listen to this release as they would an ordinary album; it's clear that this release was meant for Vangelis fans and not Blade Runner's film fans per se.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, however.., 11 Jan 2002
By A Customer
..a lot is missing, and if you wanted anything close to a full score then this isn't where you'll find it. The only place where one can conceivably find such a thing is on the bootleg of an 18 track 'Private Release' which was limited to 2000 copies only. Yet, as this album contains re-performed pieces as well as completely new ones I can't help but think of this as more of an "original" Vangelis composition rather than a soundtrack to a film which, judging by the flow of the arrangements and relatively short tracklist, was perhaps its intended purpose and the reason it is so infinitely listenable - which can rarely be said of a lengthy OST.
The pieces speak for themselves - "Blush Response", "Love Theme", "Blade Runner Blues", "Memories Of Green" and "Tears In Rain" are for me the highlights, all sweeping synth and aching piano refrains combined to form a tragic yet strangely beautiful urban dystopia, each one as evocative as the next.
A truly influential album which can still be heard throughout the world of IDM & Neo-Electro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more do you want?, 21 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. P. Julian "p_julian" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blade Runner (Audio CD)
If you really want every piece of music from the film, incidental or otherwise, then I'm sure you can find a bootleg download. I have the Vesper edition on my computer which has a vast amount more music than this release, but in all honesty I prefer sticking this on. Why? Because it works as an album, and I think that's how Vangelis intended it. Blade Runner is my favourite film, and this is one of my favourite albums. If I want every track I am honestly better off just watching the movie again, so that the music can complement the visuals. Here though, the atmosphere of the movie is captured but each track stands up on its own merits. The lush saxaphone of Blade Runner Blues, the beautiful piano piece Memories of Green, the nostalgic One More Kiss. In a particularly nice touch the soundtrack doesn't end with the somewhat dated "End Titles" but "Tears in Rain" and Batty's wonderful soliloquy, beautifully capturing the essence of the movie.

I haven't personally listened to the latest, 3-disc release which seems to be garnering hostile reviews for still not delivering everything the fans want. Personally, I find that between this, the Vesper bootleg and the actual film I have pretty much all I need. But for a concise, intelligently arranged album that captures the movie's atmosphere and features most of the key musical (and narrative moments), this is a wonderful listen and at £7 very cheap for a soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another botched release and far from definitive, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blade Runner Trilogy 25th Anniversary (Audio CD)
The original, much-belated-by-ego CD of Blade Runner was something of a botched job, so the 3CD set produced for the 25th anniversary held out the promise of fixing all the original's shortcomings - include the omitted cues, get rid of the dialogue samples, etc. Instead it's actually magnified them. Aside from Tyrell's Death most of the second CDs cues seem to be outtakes and rejected cues while the third is 'inspired' by the film in the worst way - mostly soulless, meandering concrete ambient stuff that sounds like a replicant fanboy's choice of music to stare moodily at the black-painted walls to. With crappy dialogue samples. It definitely improves as it goes along, but never shakes the feeling that it's a rejected 80s album he just slapped the Blade Runner name on to get Universal to release it.

Take the famous opening rumble - the cue is there on the first CD (which is the previous single-CD Vangelis release), but the opening is mixed down so you can hear Harrison Ford telling the computer to track left, zoom in, etc on the photograph. It only becomes dialogue free on the first crescendo. The next cue is mostly Ford and Young talking about owls while the music is mixed down. Because that's obviously what people buy CDs for...

For the uninterrupted score, you have to find the 1994 bootleg CD, which still has more music that's actually from the film than these three CDs put together. This remains a great score but this set is just another terrible album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Bliss !, 15 Dec 2006
By 
Lazarous "Lazarous" (Sunny Leeds, the capital of the North. England) - See all my reviews
This is by far and away my favourite chilled album / Soundtrack. It has to some extent become the soundtrack to my life. Vangelis makes emotive and powerful music that stirs the soul of even the the souless few. This is surely the pinnacle of his career ? Few other composers could have made a soundtrack to suit this complex and powerfull film so well. It is dreamy and bliss like from the very begining to the very end and is a must have Cd for any serious Chilled cd collection.

I implore you to buy this Cd today and love it as I have. You will not be dissapointed.

Lazarous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade Runner Trilogy 25th Anniversary
Blade Runner Trilogy 25th Anniversary by Vangelis (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews