Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2010
A worthwhile dvd to watch for anyone interested in Edward V111. covering his life
from birth through to his marriage to Mrs Simpson and afterwards.Also has some interesting old
film of the the Royal Family of the day.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
This DVD was purchased with the idea of filling in more than the Abdication and funeral of the man which is what I remembered as a young 8 year old in 1972. I do recall finding it unusual when my mum said he had been the King but that he was the uncle of our present Queen. That's when I got the Abdication story.

So I was keen to know more. On watching it, I realised just how totally unsuitable this man was for the high office of King. He was a complete dilletante keen on the pursuit of pleasure and fun to the total disregard of his parents. It is easy to draw comparisons with Edward VIII to Edward VII - however Edward VII was determined to be a good King whereas his grandson simply wanted to throw the blankets over his head and hope it would all go away.

The deeply unattractive Wallis Simpson, who I believe was the quintessential social climber made the excellent foil to the spoilt Prince of Wales and it is staggering to believe that they honestly thought they could become monarchs with their love of the finer things and lacking the vision of the bigger picture.

Britain was truly spared this weak character and gained the excellent qualities of King George VI and the Queen Mother instead. It is quite apparent that we would have been speaking German otherwise.

What is also shown is the fact that when Edward abdicated, he still thought that he still "belonged" in the Establishment - he had no earthly idea that this Abdication was total - that he no longer had any part to play in the running of the country or be an active part of the Royal Family - he wasn't able to have his cake, eat it and have the cherry on the top as well. He wanted out of royal affairs and the Government gave him his wish.

So yes, Edward VIII really was the man who threw away a Crown.

Good if you are a Royalty buff - it does show how they coped with life post-Abdication.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
DVD containing archive film footage. Some rare film of his travels abroad in the 1920s. Also footage of the Western Front battles. Good section on his life prior to abdication crisis.

What let's this DVD down is the neglect on precise detail on the 'Edward and Mrs Simpson' matter. No mention of significant "others" in both their lives - no mention of the likes of Freda Dudley Ward, Thelma Furness, et al. No mention of Ernest Simpson, the divorce and aftermath. Not even a mention of that fateful day when Edward and Mrs Simpson first met (which was Saturday 10 January 1931 at Burroughs Court, Melton Mowbray).

There are some inaccuracies in the "exile" section as well. A little more research could have yielded a much more reliable documentary. The story races to a close - Edward and Mrs Simpson returned to England in 1967 for the unveiling of a memorial stone to Queen Mary. The contention is by the narrator that the Queen Mother ignored them both - not so as the full film (not shown on the DVD) proves.

There was and remains a wealth of detail including correspondence, memoirs and biographies - Philip Ziegler's study and Anna Sebba's study are excellent. Frances Donaldson's early biography is equally useful. Michael Bloch's edited volume of the couple's correspondence is useful. HRH Prince Edward's film 'Whatever Happened To The Windsors' is outstanding for the exile story. So sad the DVD on the King who threw away his crown seemingly has taken no notice of the said bounty of information. Or is said and done, there is the brilliantly produced ITV series 'Edward and Mrs Simpson' from 1978.

What a shame as this documentary promised much at the beginning but got rather lost by mid-way. Worth buying for the film footage. Not worth buying for anything else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
iI found this dvd gave me a lot of information
and i have watched it more than once
all i can say is that thankfully edward 8
was not crowned king.
if he had stayed as our king this country would not be
the country we live in to-day
King george and his family held this country together
and they suffered much more than he did when
he abdicated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I think this DVD is disappointing: nothing new, except a few images, no real insight. We learn nothing about the personnality of the protagonists. The documentary is ordinary, and not worth the price.
I apologise for my english, for it is not my first language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Did not enjoy this production as much as the channel 4 version wish I had not bought it this time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
A great film and very well acted throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
not yet watched
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)