Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars26
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2008
This film explores the love stories and relationships between different characters, and like a spider-web, they all have some connection with the retiring university lecturer, Harry Stevenson (Morgan Freeman). Using his wonderful, silky voice, Morgan Freeman's character relates the experiences of those around him.

Each character has a different story and the film appeals to different ages and backgrounds as well as covering different issues: drug-abuse, young-love, homosexuality and death. There are a lot of sex-scenes in the film (some of which are rather graphic), but they do not `reduce' the film, but add a layer of realism which enriches the story.

The mood of this film is romantic, heart-rending and beautiful. For me it comes highly recommended.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
A romantic film with a difference. Not everything is perfect, several plots interconnect. If loves triumphs in the end, it doesn't mean that it's always happy going. It can be tough, too. The acting is very good.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 4 November 2008
I don't like chick flicks, but in saying that I found this interesting, moving and inspiring.

Morgan Freeman's character, Harry, acts as the guide through the stories of Greg Kinnear's character Bradley (who I couldn't care less about) and his various relationships; and Kathryn (Selma Blair) and her relationship with Oscar (Toby Hemingway).

It is the latter relationship that I found to be the best. The two actors involved Hemingway and Blair outshone all of the others, including Freeman.

I'm glad I gave it a try.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Really great film, lots of stories coming together. Well acted.
Really enjoyed it especially after not knowing what to expect.
Watched it several times now and still love it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
this film is amazing. not enough awareness about it and if you like good, or really good drama then watch this
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
Had watched it before. Not a film to watch over and over really. Ok I suppose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Anything with Morgan Freeman in is very good and this is a brilliant watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Lovely film and brilliant condition. Very pleased with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2008
The last ten minutes of this film is good but the rest is pretty slow moving with drab dialogue and drab acting set in drab Oregon town.
The naked flesh in this film is less exposed than the poor quality of the script.If you want to see a much more romantic, humorous,positive and uplifting film I recommend The Jane Austen Book Club which was released last year too.That has an uneventful sounding title but is actually rather good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Did not think much of it. Had a great difficulty following the story line what there was of one. Was not one of Morgan Freeman best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)