Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great edition
This film rounds off a trilogy of films effectively and keeps up the momentum of great films to put on your list to watch.

The film starts strangely with a confusing sense of Déjà Vu for people who have watched the previous ones and just confusion for others instead of the expected thrilling start. This is again short-lived when Alice...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Primal John

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The long slow decline begins...
Our heroine, Alice, has been touring the wasteland of post-zombie-plague America for some years when she discovers a tantalising clue about a plague-free enclave in Alaska. She meets up with her old associates LJ and Carlos, who have fallen in with a band of refugees, and they decide to head north...

I really enjoyed the first two films and can watch them over...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by Crookedmouth


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great edition, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Primal John (South west England) - See all my reviews
This film rounds off a trilogy of films effectively and keeps up the momentum of great films to put on your list to watch.

The film starts strangely with a confusing sense of Déjà Vu for people who have watched the previous ones and just confusion for others instead of the expected thrilling start. This is again short-lived when Alice (MillaJovovich) enters in her usual immense fashion making herself dominant wherever she ends up.

This film runs at a slower pace than the previous ones but the build-up of the film leads onto more powerful parts and creates stronger tension. This helps to create sudden stronger waves of entertainment and more climactic moments to enjoy.

As with the others this film carries on the action and destruction with more shoot outs, slicing, dicing, explosions and even the burning of birds with a flamethrower Linked in with this there are certain scenes of the film which create shocking images; a scene of which those of you that have watched the film The Birds can imagine is a clear example. This helps to create great moments of fear and surprise as the film goes on as well as keeping the viewer entertained with action.

There's little variation in the monsters encountered in this film only really including birds, zombies and a heavily mutated Doctor, but nevertheless they have always been successful making them look realistic and believable beasts.

I would of course recommend this film to anyone who's a fan of zombie and monster action films but I would say to watch the previous ones first so you understand what's going on as it ends up getting quite involved.

This one gets a booming 7.5 / 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good addition to the 'Evil' series!!, 22 April 2008
By 
L. Mcwilliams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I genuinely liked the first of the Resident Evil films - Mila Jojavich does a good action heroine - but after being slightly disappointed by the second, I have left this one for a while before watching it.
Although it doesn't have the strong story of the first, It can hold its own as a stand alone effort. The action is pretty much constant, and there are plenty of well choreographed fight scenes.
I think this is a worthy addition to the series, much improved on the second, mainly because the supporting cast are more likeable, but also because less time has been spent trying to over complicate the plot with strange genetic mutations for Alice to deal with!
I would recommend this to fans of R E ,don't be put off by the second, or the extremely short cinema release time this one got - it has definately been sold short!!

Worth watching, especially for some spectacular Zombie killing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The long slow decline begins..., 12 Dec 2011
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Our heroine, Alice, has been touring the wasteland of post-zombie-plague America for some years when she discovers a tantalising clue about a plague-free enclave in Alaska. She meets up with her old associates LJ and Carlos, who have fallen in with a band of refugees, and they decide to head north...

I really enjoyed the first two films and can watch them over and over without losing interest. However, by part three in the RE franchise, things are starting to wear thin. This film seems to have dropped any pretense at originality (OK, I know that RE1 and 2 were never exactly groundbreakers) and has simply gone for a "Mad-Max-with-undead" vibe. The whole deal unfolds with a depressing air of inevitability: cue zombie birds, mohawked post-apocalypse hillbilly-punk survivors ("Kin ah kill 'er Maw? Hyuk hyuk!"), evil scientists and game changing "psychic powers".

None of this is much helped by some gaping holes in the plot (enough time has passed since the preceding film for the desert to cover Las Vegas almost entirely in sand, but Carlos hasn't changed out of his SWAT gear yet and Alice has access to an inexhaustible supply of lippy) and ridiculous directorial howlers (Q: How many zombies can you fit into an ISO container? A: Several hundred, apparently). Just to cap it all, Russell Mulcahy clearly got a new copy of PhotoShop to play with and he spent his evenings retouching the close shots of Milla's face, so now she looks a bit like a recent burns victim with a disturbingly mobile epidermis.

There's not much else to say about it really. I simply can't get away from the idea that Paul W Anderson simply dusted off his Mad Max 2 screenplay and added zombies. As an hour and a half of mindless entertainment, it just about fits the bill, but it just looks too tired to bother with beyond that. I was going to give it a two star rating, but I added a third out of loyalty to the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars. Fun film, very good bluray., 3 Jun 2008
I rented this film, and I really was not expecting much, given how negative some of the reviews for the film are.

Because I was not expecting much I enjoyed the film and am glad I rented it.

The plot is not particularly intricate but it DOES make sense, and the fact that there actually is a logical plot leads me to question some of the negative reviews I have seen.

What does one expect from this film, based on a zombie shoot-em-up game? Gore, violence, plenty of action and a fast moving simple plot. And that is what you get.

I enjoyed it. I thought the action scenes were well done, I understood the plot (which did not end as I had expected).

The bluray quality is excellent. The visuals are exceptionally good throughout in my opinion, one of the best HD films I have seen so far. And the sound, in true HD, is very good, very atmospheric and surround sound fabulous. I truly did jump out of my seat a couple of times.

Do not expect a masterpiece, do expect a solidly made, fairly exciting zombie killing spree, with good production values, great sound and brilliant HD. There are plenty of extras, though I found the actual menu navigation quite cumbersome. Well worth renting. I gave out 4 stars as 3 is a probably a bit harsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Extinction is the best of the 3 Resident Evil films just!, 27 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Resident Evil: Extinction is an big improvement on the 2nd film and on par with the 1st one or maybe just a little bit better, which I am pleased to say as I am a massive fan of the games. Milla Jovovich is fantastic at action films and proved this in the most excellent si-fi film called Fifth Element which must have got her the role for the Resident Evil films. The World has become a vast desert because of the T- Virus which gives the film a Mad Max feel. At one point in this zombie road trip film are heros get attacked by crows which is a nice little nod to an old classic called The Birds. Milla Jovovich has developed Jedi type powers and looks dead sexy when she kicks butt. All in all if you like action horror with a bit si-fi thrown in then you will enjoy this film its good fun but not great. The Blu-Ray transfar overall is good but not the best I have seen and, Resident Evil 4 the game is a PS2 classic the films can't touch that game in terms of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good, 3 Dec 2007
By 
R. Fisher "entertainment lover" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wasn't expecting much from this after the abysmal RE: Apocalypse so I was pleasantly surprised walking out that I had just seen one of the best game to film adaptations yet, not because it remains faithful to its source material (because it doesn't) but because its an adrenaline fuelled Rolla-coaster of a movie that's highly entertaining.

A few years have passed since the events of RE:A and the world has become a wasteland overrun with the undead, a small group of remaining survivors stick together in conveys trying to stay alive traversing the desert, meanwhile the few umbrella scientists still alive attempt to produce a serum to reverse the affects of the virus but to do so they require the blood of Alice, a genetic experiment who currently survives off the grid trying to help whoever she can, when the convoy is attacked she intervenes and pops into Umbrella's view to again.

The film does 'borrow' a fair bit from cult favourites Mad Max & Day of the Dead, but when the actions sequences kick into gear coming thick and fast (helmed by the director of `Highlander') you will become lost in the excitement. The standout scene without a shadow of a doubt takes place on the Vegas strip when super zombies attack the survivors, it's an assault on the senses and easily rivals any zombie action sequences from that of the action heavy dawn of the dead remake.

Due to the films fairly short running time the plot zips along as fast pace. Resi fans will be pleased to see the addition of Claire Redfield played by Ali Larter, (TV's Heroes, Final Destination) and that of infamous Tyrant.

It may be dumb and loud but its handled so slickly that you wont care the perfect popcorn movie easily the best of the three but don't expect the trilogy's loose ends to be tied up as the ending leaves it open for the fourth and if it can maintain the standard RE:E has set then bring it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High quality ass kickery, 18 July 2008
The best of the Resident Evil movies, this film has plenty of top action and a good amount of salivating zombies getting creatively hacked up. Milla Jovovitch is lethal and gorgeous by turns, and knows more about decimating the undead than any other screen star of recent memory. Good stuff, strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top film, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great film what more can i say i dunno but i need to insert more words what do these ppl want....blood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great film, one of those type of films which you can watch over and over again. Would recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 3, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as the first two, but this is a good Trilogy to follow. Kick Ass heroine!!!
Plenty of blood and gore again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil: Extinction [UMD Mini for PSP] [2007] [US Import]
Resident Evil: Extinction [UMD Mini for PSP] [2007] [US Import] by Russell Mulcahy (UMD Mini for PSP - 2008)
Used & New from: £40.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews