Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars45
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2007
I've always liked Billie Piper. She does that star quality that many so called celebrities seem to lack these days.
I think she has come a long way since Doctor Who, and this series is proof of that. She breezes through the raciest of subjects, and the end result is a believable performance which does carry the show in some of it sinking ship moments. It's a good series, though in some area it only scratches the surface of where it can actually go. It's fine to leave room for interpretation, but here there are a few too many holes.
However, Billie's performance makes up for that and made it a very enjoyable show to watch. I will definitely be buying the DVD, and will now be interested in Billie's other acting work.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
Very good service, speedy delivery and excellent product.
As for the DVD, well, I think its great, its quite addictive actually, once you start watching it you cant turn it off. Its light hearted, funny, interesting and excellent acting from Billie Piper, as always.
Well worth watching and will appeal to all age groups, I will definately be purchasing the second series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Funny, clever, witty and unique. Secret Diary of a Call girl is something that should have had more episodes than given credit for.

Based on the book Intimate Adventures of a London Call Girl, this series follows Belle, a young woman escorting in London after graduating from university. She is smart, strong, funny and amazingly balanced as she tries to live the ultimate double life. Whilst Hannah may not be a good girlfriend, Belle is more than capable of delivering a professional girlfriend experience any man would enjoy.

This series does not degrade or berate women, it isn't anti-feminist and it isn't full feminist which makes it a brilliant watch for both men and women.

If you're looking for a nice little series to get stuck into, I highly recommend you let Belle take you on an experience of a lifetime.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
I have series one and 2 of Secret Diary Of a Call Girl and I think they are some of the best acting work Billie has done.
She is brilliant as Belle De Jour.I watched both series on TV and my eyes were just glued to my TV screen.Love it.
I reccommend that all you lovely people out there who watched both series on TV should go out and buy the DVDs.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
have to admitt I didnt enjoy the book ; too much attempting to be funny rather than shedding any new truths re prostitution and I didnt rush to watch the programme when it was on tv either . However finding this now at such a cheap price I decided to give it a try and I have been pleasantly surprised . Billy steals the show and she is not so much a tart with a heart but a fun believable young woman . The first 4 episodes are brilliant , just the type of free sexy adult tv there should be more of on tv after the watershed; plus lots of great underwear and escapist fantasy etc etc BUT and it is a big BUT then the series goes into soap land/ chick lit. Each episode is more and more like a Bridget Jones/ Sex and city London style . This isnt helped by the wooden Cherie Lunghi , the frozen Toyah and the oh so nice Iddo ex boyfriend [ surely Hannah Belle would want a real man ] . So I was left with a rather sour is that it taste at the end . Recommend you watch the first dvd and then just go to bed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
I don't deny I knew the world of some prostitutes in Madrid. Usually they don't demand 600 sterling pounds per service, but no doubt, there are expensive women in that old work.
This series are mostly funny and exempt of drama as usual in traditional films or novels about prostitution, but the reality is although these women have a high price, rarely none of them get rich.
The character of Hannah here is really so, as I knew them: in the world of top prostitution, these women can win much easy money, and in general, this films show usually situations of superiority of the prostitute over the disoriented men they have as clients, but the truth in real life is these women expends also easily more money than they win, excepting a special cool, brainy class of professionals, but these are rare. Hannah isn't an exception: simply, he's a young, lively girl.
A light, sympathetic series. You don't search anymore in deep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
Phew, a lot of people seem to have got their knickers in a twist over this one... and in so doing, they're playing right into ITV's eager hands. (Innuendo entirely intentional.) How dare they! Suggesting that prostitution is a glamourous, enjoyable and entirely safe profession! How can they promote such a vile notion? How dare Billie Piper, with her adoring youthful audience, take on so irresponsible a role? How dare they suggest that this is how things are in the real world?

Answer: 'Secret Diary of a Call Girl' is NOT representative of the real world, in any way, shape or form. It's about as indicative of the realities of the sex trade as the 'Bad Boys' movies are of police work. And we, as grown human beings - and yes, grown ups are the target audience here (over 18's at least) - should have the common sense to be able to recognise this. Alright, so it's based on what are supposedly the real-life memoirs of a professional high-class call girl; I haven't read the blog/book, though from what I understand it their veracity has been brought into question. To put it bluntly, that's neither here nor there. This isn't a documentary. This is a bit of saucy, late night escapism, the kind of which we don't often see from a major British television broadcaster. And, as such, I'm happy to admit that I rather enjoyed it.

It's clear from the get-go that 'Secret Diary of a Call Girl' is designed as lightweight, easy entertainment. For starters, the episodes are only about 25 minutes long. Obviously that doesn't allow a lot of time for intricate plot and character work. What it does allow is for the show to get straight to the meat of the matter, figuratively and literally. It's a show about sex, and it doesn't shy away from that. Within the opening minutes of the first episode, we have our nymphette protagonist stripped down to her Victoria's Secrets, speaking with her mouth full - and that's just the beginning! Let's not be coy about this, for, after all, the show's marketing certainly wasn't: the main draw here is the promise of the hitherto sweet and innocent leading lady getting nude and naughty, Billie following gamely (again, pun intended) in the footsteps of innumerable former child stars such as Drew Barrymore and Alyssa Milano, taking a sexually explicit role in order to show us she's all grown up now. And that shouldn't be taken as a negative, for she certainly does a good job, handling the very provocative dialogue and content with confidence. And as for the nudity... one of the smartest moves on the part of the programme makers is the way the show teases the viewer with Billie's body, practically making a burlesque routine out of it: starting out with only a few tantalising glimpses of nakedness, keeping the audience tuning back in hungry for more as just that little bit more of the young star's anatomy is exposed episode by episode, until finally all is revealed mid-series, in a two-girl one-guy threesome scene...

Now some of you are calling me a perv. Fine. I'm not even going to deny it. Once again, that's what this show is really all about: unabashed titilation. To expect a hard-hitting insight into the realities of prostitution is to completely miss the point. 'Secret Diary of a Call Girl' isn't aiming to be Ken Loach; it's aiming to be for the new generation what 'Emmanuelle,' 'Nine and a Half Weeks' and 'Red Shoe Diaries' were for generations past. And I think it's pretty successful in that. So sue me.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
Billy Piper is one of my favourite current TV actors and played this difficult part well - the humour of Belle du Jour only partly translates to the screen.
I suspect that both the screen and book are a glossy reflection of reality however.
For those that wish to delve deeper there are more relistic and grittier expositions - for those wishing to actually follow Billy/Belle forsteps there is :
Escort Manual - A Practical Guide on How to Become an Internet Escort
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
bought for mam at 3.50 including post love it said dirty wanted got quick bought refunded from another supply which is no longer listed as a seller mam love as 50th birthday gift has watch on own loved always avoided on tv as was put of buy first episode scenes not program had program think my self will have a cult following she was happy was like kid waiting for it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008
Can't believe the other reviews, having never read the book I do not have anything to compare it to. I loved the series and thought Piper's performance showed off her ability to do more than the safe roles she previously had. I really liked the different clients each week providing new directions for the story to explore whilst keeping the ongoing story of Belle. For entertainment value I thought it was great piece of TV and I look forward to the second series. This show should be appreciated in its own right.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)