Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film
I like this filim alot it has a great storyline and it starrs two of the best actors Janet Jackson and Tupac. You can see that there is a chemistry between them on screen. Janet plays a character called Justice and after her boyfriens is killed goes on a road trip with her friends and on this road trip she discovers what great friends she has. The film has alot of bad...
Published on 21 Mar 2005 by Miss O'rourke

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First impressons.
Janet Jackson, Tupac or both? Thats why your looking at this film. And it is actually a very good film as both can act. This film is a cross between road trip and the odd couple. If that has put u off u probably wont buy this but for those still thinking, its funny and yes as with all films with a male and female actor there is romance. I dont really know what to say to...
Published on 3 Jan 2004 by goldie_lox69


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 21 Mar 2005
By 
Miss O'rourke (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I like this filim alot it has a great storyline and it starrs two of the best actors Janet Jackson and Tupac. You can see that there is a chemistry between them on screen. Janet plays a character called Justice and after her boyfriens is killed goes on a road trip with her friends and on this road trip she discovers what great friends she has. The film has alot of bad language in is so if you are offended then dont buy it. But I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good storyline in a film its well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First impressons., 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Janet Jackson, Tupac or both? Thats why your looking at this film. And it is actually a very good film as both can act. This film is a cross between road trip and the odd couple. If that has put u off u probably wont buy this but for those still thinking, its funny and yes as with all films with a male and female actor there is romance. I dont really know what to say to describe it any more except that it is an enjoyable film and well worht adding to your collection. I would recommend it as its a film for pretty much any one, no matter what genre tickles your fancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry in motion, 28 May 2007
By 
B. Woracker "olonob" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This original romantic comedy set in Los Angeles, starring Janet Jackson and Tupac Shakur is outstanding to say the least. In the film Janet Jackson gets back to basics in order to play the role of Justice amazingly well. The film is visually good and the storline is not bad either. This is a refreshing break to all the gang violent films of the same era such as boyz in the hood and menace to society, as it looks takes a look at Los Angeles with a differing viewpoint. The film is intellegent and inspiring in so many ways.

I enjoyed this film from start to finish, as it is well written, has a great storyline and is outstanding in so many ways. It is a must for any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetic Justice. 1993, 1 Oct 2009
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] (DVD)
Like the last reviewer, I was amazed by Janet Jackson's performance in this, her film debut. Everyone knows her as Janet 'Singing, Dancing...' Jackson, but in this she proves that she is one brilliant actress too.

Directed by John Singleton (Boyz N The Hood) it's basically a road-trip drama movie which stars Janet as Justice, a talented poet who is almost recluse after witnessing her boyfriend shot dead in front of her, and Tupac Shakur as Lucky, a L.A mailman who acts tough but is really just a sweet guy struggling to make a living for him and his young daughter in South L.A.

The story is nice, but the real attraction of this movie is some of the emotional, raw acting that Janet shows us throughout. One scene in particular stands out, where she is alone in her house staring in a mirror. Hard to describe in words, but it's a truly haunting scene that Jackson pulls off flawlessly.

A brilliant film, highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Will not watch again, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] (DVD)
I was very disappointed with this film .I thought it would be a lot more hard hitting ,I found it lacked emotional depth/truth and found the story line totally unengaging
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetic justice, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] (DVD)
I am happy with dvd it was enjoy movie good value I will recommend to friend and family what can I say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 Dec 2013
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] (DVD)
Favorite movie luv Janet Jackson & 2pacs love story it is a must have film i bought this as a present after watching wit my cousin she also fell in luv with the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poetic Justice, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this movie because I'd heard all the hype about it over the years.......I shouldn't have believed the hype lol. However, Tupac was good it this movie however; so for him alone I love it. Janet's character got on my last nerve....Chewing that darn gum through out the movie and having that scowl on her face :) It WAS her first role after all. But a twenty year old "trying to ACT like" a fifteen year old takes skill that Janet didn't have back then. In my humble opinion.
The story?? What story! I might have loved it back in the 90's but I just see it as a straight to TV, kind of movie today. Didn't hate but it's not one of my faves of all time. Poetic Justice [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] (DVD)
Not a good film at first I found it interesting but it becomes quite cliche . This is just my opinion others may like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: Poetic Justice [DVD] (DVD)
This film isn't just another soppy love story, its got that carisma that other movies don't. Tupac shows his acting ability and that he is capable of playing this type of character and steals the film. Good writing again from john singleton, though not as good as boyz in the hood this film is enjoyalble and is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poetic Justice [DVD]
Poetic Justice [DVD] by Roger Guenveur Smith (DVD - 2007)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews