Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Known Masterpiece
Awakenings is a little masterpiece of a film, that I discovered late one night while channel surfing. I was immediately taken back by the depth of the film and purchased the DVD for a very low price on Amazon the following day.

The film stars Robert De Niro and Robin Williams and is based on a non-fictional book written by neurologist Oliver Sacks. Awakenings...
Published on 20 Oct 2007 by Andrew Kerr

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Format Does Not Play!!!
Unable to use this product as it is not in a usable format!!! Was not made clear when purchased. Very disappointed!!!
Published 14 months ago by Neil Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Known Masterpiece, 20 Oct 2007
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Awakenings is a little masterpiece of a film, that I discovered late one night while channel surfing. I was immediately taken back by the depth of the film and purchased the DVD for a very low price on Amazon the following day.

The film stars Robert De Niro and Robin Williams and is based on a non-fictional book written by neurologist Oliver Sacks. Awakenings follows Dr Malcolm Sayer who takes up a post at a hospital in New York. The Doctor played perfectly by Robin Williams, discovers some of his patients - who survived the 1916 sleeping sickness epidemic can be helped to awaken from their existence as living statues (Encephalitis) through the use of an experimental drug known as L-Dopa. One patient called Leonard (De Niro) is awoken after being in a coma like state for thirty years. Leonard is transformed into a normal man and even falls in love. Encourage by this Dr Sayer sets about 'awakening' the other patients.

I found the film to be moving and powerful with the ability to make you question how you value the life of others. Awakenings is absorbing and very involving, and you can't help become gripped by the emotion and strength of the story. The acting throughout really is fantastic. Both Robin Williams and Robert De Niro are at their best and offer inspiring and tear jerking performances. Standards from other cast members is also note worthy. Especially the interaction between Leonard and his mother, which is realistic and powerful. The setting of the hospital itself was perfect and seems right.

Beautiful and completely engrossing offering a great and moving ending, it's hard to find anything to fault with Awakenings (other than the lack of special features on the DVD). So if you haven't seen this film I strongly suggest that you purchase it...soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Acting and a Moving Script, 15 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Robin Williams and Robert DeNiro yet again demonstrate why they are at the top of their profession. This moving, sometimes harrowing, but ever engrossing movie contains some of DeNiro's most sublte and moving work, with Williams complementing him to an equally high standard.
It offers some very poignant reminders about what life is and how even the little little things shouldn't be taken for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awakenings, 9 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This film is absolutely awesome and tells the story of how the human spirit will always survive. If you are ever feeling a little low about your profession, this will definetely give you another spark to your endeavors and how important it is to be brave with ideas about patient care. In addition it reminds physicians to treat patients as humans for in the end that is what we all are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awakenings- Flu epidemic influenza., 31 July 2009
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] (1990) (DVD)
A brilliant heartwarming film, based on the work of a doctor, and the side effects of a flu pandemic. As this is a true story it is all the more realistic. Robin Williams plays an excellent part as Dr Sachs. It is a good film to watch over and over again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is no such thing as a simple miracle., 23 Jun 2007
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Put in two great Hollywood actors; Robin Williams and Robert de Niro; A superb director, a great book by Oliver Sacks and the end product is a sure winner. Williams takes a break from being rebellious and wacky like the characters he played in Dead Poets Soceity, Good Morning Vietnam and PAtch Adams to play Dr Sayer a non- wacky doctor but rebellious anywhere due to jealous colleagues. De Niro plays Leonard Lowe his patient reduced to a catatonic state due to some condition known as encephalitis. His transformation to normality and back to his original state is one of his best performances ever. The ending is a tear jerker, and may make this film a one off viewing experience. Nevertheless, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no such thing as a simple miracle, 21 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] (1990) (DVD)
An emotional roller coaster of a film based on a true story. A marvelous performance by Robin Williams who plays the lead performance as the brilliant Dr Malcolm Sayer, who takes up a new post at the Bainbridge Hospital and discovers a group of patients that have been in a semi-coma for several decades as a result of an epidemic many years earlier.

Using a new experimental drug he manages to awken Leonard Lowe (Robert DeNiro), who he befriends, and then all of the other patients. But is enough known about this wonder drug ?

Whilst trying to teach his patients the joys and pains of living, Dr Sawyer quickly learns that he is out of touch with his own emotions.

This is not an edge of your seat action film, but you will remained glued to the set. Yet another DeNiro gem and also one of Robin Williams finest roles. Very enjoyable, but might put a tear in the eye of some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'd think at a certain point all these atypical somethings would amount to a typical something., 7 Sep 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] (1990) (DVD)
The late 60s and post encephalitis patients are roused by various doses of the drug L-Dopa. But as the patients try to come to terms with the new and alien life they are brought into, side effects starts to rear its head.

I guess it depends on your emotional state how you absorb Awakenings as a motion picture. There are those that simply believe it's an exercise in currying sentimental favour, whilst others, such as myself, believe stories such as this need to be told. Based on the novel by Oliver Sacks {Malcom Sayer played by Robin Williams} the only real cause for grumble from myself is that sadly, the film fails to fully form the shock and terror these newly roused patients must have felt. The encephalitis epidemic occurred between 1917-1928, these people got old without knowing it. It's briefly touched on with a couple of tender moments, notably thru Alice Drummond's Lucy, but the main focus of the film, perhaps not surprisingly, is the relationship between Williams' Sayer and Robert DeNiro's Leonard Lowe.

DeNiro is on full Oscar baiting tilt here {nominated but lost out to Jeremy Irons for Reversal of Fortune} and it's a magnetic performance, tender and close to heart breaking at times. His interplay with Williams {suitably restrained} is what drives the film on, but as stated prior, at the expense of a fully formed whole. Still, director Penny Marshall and her team have gone the whole hog for the sentimental aspect, is it too forced? yes at times it is, but you would have to have been quarried from granite not to be affected by some scenes, re: a mother son reunion for example. So it's not quite the classic it not only threatened to be, but really should have been. But the central theme of learn and evolve is something that hopefully even the films detractors have taken on board.

Sweet and touching 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is the point where robin williams started to get really good, 10 Aug 2011
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] (1990) (DVD)
I watched "awakenings" because I am trying to watch all of the films that Robin Williams has been in, to be honest I only do this because I am somewhat obsessed with completing collections (not that this particular collection is anywhere near complete, Robin Williams has an awful lot of films).

During my quest to collect all of Robin Williams' work I have gone from an avid fan that truly believed this guy could not be in a bad movie to realising that he defiantly can. But never the less I persevere through his back catalogue and hope that I never again come across stinkers like "seize the day". I was trying to avoid seeing "awakenings" because I thought it was going to be another "seize the day".

First impressions from the poster and the trailer were not looking good I thought that this film looked terrible. But then I noticed that the film is directed by Penny Marshall "I know that name" I thought to myself, so I looked her up. Turns out she was the director of two of my all time favourite films `big' and `jumpin' jack flash' so with a new optimism I popped the dvd in the player and curiously watched as to what Penny Marshall had come up with this time.

Loosely based on a book by real-life neurologist Oliver Sacks, `Awakenings' marked the high point of a successful side career for Sacks as a chronicler of unusual medical case histories.

The film often displays the easy sentimentality typical of director Penny Marshall, which makes you feel quite warm and fuzzy. The plot is pretty typical in the sense that it pitted its heroes against mindless hospital bureaucrats in a tired effort to force a obligatory antagonist into the story, but because the film is based on true events, this plot device doesn't seem too over blown (as it so often can do in films).

The performances of stars Robin Williams and particularly Robert De Niro make it a very interesting film to watch. Cast against type, the two pros sink their teeth into their roles, Williams, as a shy genius and De Niro as a man with a teenager's mind betrayed by a collection of physical tics and twitches.

Apparently so comfortable was Williams in the doctor role that he repeatedly returned to it and played healers in numerous later films, including NINE MONTHS (1995), Good Will Hunting (1997), What Dreams May Come (1998), and Patch Adams (1998).

For me, De Niro was just a perk to this film for I watched it for Williams, I don't know why but Williams seems to do some of his best work playing a doctor and this film is no exception. But inevitably, when comparisons to `patch adams` and `good will hunting` are made `awakenings` will always end up at the bottom of the pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very affecting true story, 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] (1990) (DVD)
It's 1969 and Dr. Malcolm Sayer (Robin Williams) takes up a position in a New York hospital where he encounters survivors of the Sleeping Sickness epidemic that occurred decades previously. The story of one patient, Leonard Lowe (Robert De Niro) is told in the first scene and it is his case that Dr. Sayer responds to in a new quest to have his sleeping patients react to him. After many experiments with drugs and appeals to his employers, Sayer achieves something of a miracle for his patients and the hospital when the living statues wake from their decades long sleep. This brings about tougher challenges for Sayer as he struggles to control the effects of drugs on his patients and they on him.

The events in this drama, particularly the awakenings and the aftermath some months down the line, pack an emotional punch. The new and not always happy circumstances each patient finds themselves in are hard to come to terms with, as is the great responsibility Dr. Sayer now feels for them. Leonard is now capable of feeling emotions he didn't know he had and quickly wants to learn how to be the complete adult he should be. Through it all is another kind of awakening; that of Dr. Sayer himself, who for so long buried his emotions beneath his work, they appear forgotten. As with Leonard, we see him taking steps to become complete again.

People with an aversion to sentimentality may think this film is full of it, but shouldn't be put off. I found emotions were kept in check and as someone who can't stand the sentimental, I wouldn't have this film any other way. It's of course helped by the two brilliant performances that underpin it. Williams is well known for his loud, brash characters but seems to find another level in becoming someone hidden from others. As the introverted doctor, he is very compelling. De Niro (who spent time in a mental hospital before production) is just fascinating to watch. By turns childlike and joyful, then disturbed and chaotic, I am drawn to his character from the second he shows any expression. Considering his other roles of that time (this came out the same year as Goodfellas), his range is extraordinary.

A well researched and thought provoking fact-based drama that should stay with you for a while.

* extras: behind the scenes featurette / filmographies *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awakenings, 9 May 2008
By 
D. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Awakenings [DVD] (1990) (DVD)
Awakenings tells the true and poignant story of the relationship between a New York Doctor and the patient he helped 'awaken' from a catatonic state. Robin Williams plays Dr. Malcolm Sayer, a shy and introverted experimental scientist who is sent to Bainbridge Hospital in New York during the summer of 1969.

While working there he comes across a ward full of patients who seem to be living statues. They are the survivors of the 1916 'Sleeping Sickness' epidemic, and they have remained imprisoned within themselves for decades.
Dr. Sayer becomes attached to the youngest survivor, a man named Leonard Lowe, played brilliantly by Robert De Niro. He's convinced that there is a cure for their illness, and after a long period of research he develops an experimental drug which he tests on Leonard.

The results are miraculous and Leonard and the other patients are freed from their catatonic state. A friendship between the two men develop, and Sayer helps Leonard adjust to the new world around him,
while Leonard helps Sayer to overcome his social anxieties.

Despite the progress that Leonard makes, an unforeseen problem might bring his development to a halt. This problem threatens to shatter Sayer's friendship with Leonard, and make Sayer question his faith in himself and others.

The plot might seem sentimental or even mawkish, but the film is intelligent enough not to stray into those traps. Instead it remains a haunting and tragic story. It is made doubly poignant considering it's inspired by the memoirs of Dr. Oliver Sacks, and is based on actual events.

I first saw this film when I was very young, and although I forgot the film's name, the story stayed with me for many years. It was only recently that I got to see the film again, and it is even more powerful the second time round. Friends and family who have watched the film were also moved by it.

The acting by all the cast is excellent, while the music and cinematography are very good. The film was nominated for many awards, and won several of them. It was even nominated for Oscars in the categories of Best Actor, Best Film and Best Screenplay.

The film is definately worth watching at least once, as it is a tragic but uplifting experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Awakenings [DVD] (1990)
Awakenings [DVD] (1990) by Cynthia Flynt (DVD - 2007)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews