Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you ever watch your hand !?
I must admit, i didnt think this was one of Ben Stiller better films. Jack Black was definately the funniest character in the movie. One of the scenes that sticks to mind is when Jack & Ben are driving home from work and Jack starts talking about how his hand didnt seem to be a part of him the whole day. His hand kept sitting next to him, following him around everywhere...
Published on 22 Feb 2005 by Jekyll

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A HORSE CAN'T DISAPPEAR
The film opens with two families going through their morning ritual. Tim Dingman (Ben Stiller) is married to Debbie (Rachel Weisz). He commutes to work with his neighbor Nick Vanderpark (Jack Black) who is married to Natalie (Amy Poehler). All this is done while listening to Leon Redbone. The film had actors and a musician who I love, yet I wasn't grabbed by the...
Published 15 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A HORSE CAN'T DISAPPEAR, 31 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with two families going through their morning ritual. Tim Dingman (Ben Stiller) is married to Debbie (Rachel Weisz). He commutes to work with his neighbor Nick Vanderpark (Jack Black) who is married to Natalie (Amy Poehler). All this is done while listening to Leon Redbone. The film had actors and a musician who I love, yet I wasn't grabbed by the action.

Nick is a dreamer who doesn't focus. He is thinking of inventions all the time. Tim is the conservative of the two and appears to be in a more senior position at work. Nick gets an ideal of a spray that will make dog poo disappear so people don't have to pick it up. He offers Tim a chance to go 50-50 into his idea. Tim doesn't think will work.

The ideal takes off and about 15 minutes into the film, the action begins with the characters not yet established. The "envy" aspect builds way too fast. Christopher Walken enters the film as "The J-Man" and attempts to relate Tim's microcosm dilemma to the overall workings of society, something the script does rather poorly...or poo-ly. The film moves to a low point of envy in the nude (waist up on camera) men hot tub scene.

Like the rest of the script, the expected ending comes at you rather quickly and not too well developed or funny.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb, no nudity, no sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Va-poo-rise! - Good Idea For Plot Basis, 3 Sep 2005
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
Jack Black and Ben Stiller team up in this one! Best friends who everyday drive to the same job in the same car. Until one of them gets an idea that turns them into a millionaire! Now the green eyed monster has risen and what lies in it's wake is betrayal lies and dead horses!
It's a good movie and funny in a lot of places. Black and Stiller make a great team Jack Black is his usual crazy self and Stiller is his mumbly awkward hillarious guy! Also in the film are Christopher Walken and Rachel Wiesz who in turn are extremely funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you ever watch your hand !?, 22 Feb 2005
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit, i didnt think this was one of Ben Stiller better films. Jack Black was definately the funniest character in the movie. One of the scenes that sticks to mind is when Jack & Ben are driving home from work and Jack starts talking about how his hand didnt seem to be a part of him the whole day. His hand kept sitting next to him, following him around everywhere like a mutant sidekick...this had me in stitches..but maybe thats just me. View it and see what you think. Its funny and lighthearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is an extremely poor film i'm afraid., 12 Mar 2005
By 
Doc "Doccstah" (Somewhere more familiar) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
Envy... Well I'm certainly not envious of the director who made the film or the producer who oversaw production. I'm certainly not envious of the scriptwriter or the two lead actors; Jack Black and Ben Stiller, so what does that leave? Actually nothing, there is nothing in this film which could possibly make anyone envious of the production; it is a complete failure! The flimsy story line, laughable characterisation and feeble comedic moments make this a must miss for any Stiller or Black fan! How the director managed to create such a disaster with the pairing of these comedy geniuses is dumbfounding and this film should be consinged to the bargain 99p bin at local gas stations but that would be being generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
While this is not the best Frat Pack comedy, it's certainly better than others. The story and premise is good, and while there probably should be a few more laughs, it's definitely worth a watch. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite films, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this, the sense of humour is wicked, had me laughing at the time and I laugh when I think of some of the scenes. Vastly under-rated film, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but..., 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
I was a Little bit disapointed, because i like Jack black and ben stiller as actors but the story was kind of weird and it al escalades at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars envy dvd, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
this is very funny movie,have very goods actors and is very funny.i really love.i like this movie,my husband too.this is a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Truly Aweful, 4 July 2012
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
Adter watching this film on sky both my wife and I needed to re think our sanity on watching such a bad movie. True Jack Black was to form as was Stiller but the film was just sheer childishness based aroud making poo disappear and shooting a horse with a bow and arrow. Christopher Walken turned up oh so briefly which was probably just as well. Truly terrible rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars So bad it hurt !, 18 Aug 2011
This review is from: Envy [DVD] (DVD)
This was one of the worst movies ive ever seen.considering the so called comedy talent i was appalled how unfunny and boring this was.i have now give up on Jack Black making another good movie.as for Ben Stiller i have never been a fan.after this and year one then gullivers travell's i have no faith in the actor.i got barely an hour into this and could take no more.jack black is funny but not in this.atrocious to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Envy [DVD]
Envy [DVD] by Barry Levinson (DVD - 2007)
£2.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews