Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
111
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2009
A misleading title, not to be confused with Dee Brown's masterpiece. However, an honest and worthwhile attempt to explore a period in American history where Manifest Destiny leaves those citizens of the USA (of none Native American descent) with little to be proud of.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
Everyone should see this film well made in the time they have to show what happened to the tribes in North America, Have read the book also which is a classic my father read this many years ago and should be read by anyone interested in history. Again delivery was exceeded by yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2009
This film is not so bad as told by other buyers, but it is only a very small part of the american history , especially the history of the
indian wars.It tells the story only from the perspective of the Lakota tribe.If anyone takes an interest in the whole story you have to read the
book!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I have a very special place in my heart for Wounded Knee. Once I realised it would have such a huge effect on my own life I didn't hesitate to buy this DVD. The Native American people have suffered far too many injustices since the invasion of their lands. The plight of the Lakota tribe particularly touches my world and I do what I can to raise awareness of this beautiful and spiritual people. Too often mainstream media totally brushes the past under the carpet but beautiful DVDs such as this portray a dignified and very unique way of being. I highly recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
The book is probably better than the film . The dvd leaves you somber , and upset about how the Native Americans were treated . A good work , gives you empathy towards the Native American . Will watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
It is NOTHING like the cowboys and Indians I was brought up on on the television,and it is with great shame and upset to recall the TRUE Historical facts. how then they where badly treat and lied to, done out of good lands,signed total rubbish treaties which where never going to be Honoured,and the open compounds they found themselves in where little more than prisons.But worse still to present times the Government of today treats them no better ,see Leonard Piltner google it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Having read the book some time ago, I'm glad that the film stuck to all the salient features and romance was kept in the background. The film was well-made and is certainly worth watching more than once. How the Indians were let down was shameful,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Inspired by deep browns acclaimed bestseller ho bury my heart at wounded knee begins powerfully with the sioux triumph over general cluster at little big horn. The action centres on the struggles of three characters Charles East man a young Dartmouth educated sioux doctor sitting bull the proud lakota chief who refuses to submit to us goverment policies designed to strip his people of their dignity and sacred land the black hills of the Dakotas and the third senator Henry dawes one of the men responsible for the government policy on Indian affairs. While East man and a school teacher work to improve life for the sioux on the reservation senator Dawes lobbies President Grant for kinder Indian treatment. Epic in scope bury my heart at wounded knee is insightful deeply affecting and visually striking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
I watched the Video. The opening scene of an Indian riding a pony in the snow was impressive. The rest of the film was good but quite harrowing to think how the Americans treated the indigenous Indians. Who are these people who think they are superior because they are white. If you ask me, the Indian was a peaceable people on the whole and had high morals and ethics. It is not a film I would watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Do you enjoy or have an interest in American historic drama's ?
This film was made for television, then made available on 'DVD'.
The production company 'HBO' have and continue to bring many
splendid drama's to our screens.
This is no exception to the trend, it's based on a novel written by
'Dee Brown'
this is a splendid and thoughtful and often poignant production.
It tells the story of the demise of the indian nations more
focused on the 'Sioux' Tribe after the 'Battle of Little Big Horn' in june 1876.
The story is told by a doctor who as a child had been taken
away from his 'Sioux' up-bringing and re-named at the 'white-mans' school.
( Charles as a 'Sioux' 'Ohiyesa'
As a doctor he at his own request took up a post as doctor
at one of the reservations he'd helped (if but blind to reality) create.
He stood by helplessly as the indians on the reservation were betrayed,denied proper medicines,
starved and murdered, the great warrior and leader 'Sitting Bull' among the betrayed.
This is a very well told account and probably the most accurate depiction i've ever seen.
The pride of the 'Sioux' Indian is portrayed with great sensitivity.
The native 'American' displaced and treated with little regard or respect remains a lasting stain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)