Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dresden - the raid from both sides
The allied bombing of Germany is a touchy subject and perhaps 63 years on, not one to interest most film enthusiasts. But this is the sort of film that should be shown in all schools, especially British and US ones, to rid our societies of the self-righteous triumphalist and rose-tinted views of world war two, if only to show that the allies did not emerge smelling of...
Published on 9 Mar 2008 by C. MARKUSS

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War from the German point of view
This is actually a love triangle with the allied raids on Dresden in 1945 as a backdrop.

The raid on Dresden is highly controversial for 3 main reasons:

1)Germany was losing the war

2)There didn't seem to be a strategic point to it

3)An awful lot of civilians died

The whys and wherefores have been discussed almost...
Published on 26 Sep 2007 by Paul T Horgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War from the German point of view, 26 Sep 2007
By 
Paul T Horgan (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is actually a love triangle with the allied raids on Dresden in 1945 as a backdrop.

The raid on Dresden is highly controversial for 3 main reasons:

1)Germany was losing the war

2)There didn't seem to be a strategic point to it

3)An awful lot of civilians died

The whys and wherefores have been discussed almost since the raid took place.

This film, almost comparable to 'Downfall' and also made in Germany looks on the raid from the German point of view. We see graphic scenes of destruction as the city is taken to pieces. Also it is quite unique to see the RAF depicted as the bad guys.

The love triangle is a German, his betrothed and an RAF airman who surprise surpise, can speak German.

You get to see all sorts of ghoulish sights, which I won't spoil by describing to you.

It is useful to see the war through German eyes. If you have Das Boot, Downfall, Sophie Scholl, then you should get this. It is almost, but not quite, in the same league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dresden - the raid from both sides, 9 Mar 2008
By 
C. MARKUSS (Bridgend UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The allied bombing of Germany is a touchy subject and perhaps 63 years on, not one to interest most film enthusiasts. But this is the sort of film that should be shown in all schools, especially British and US ones, to rid our societies of the self-righteous triumphalist and rose-tinted views of world war two, if only to show that the allies did not emerge smelling of roses. Roland Suso Richter's film is a brave attempt to tackle these issues head on.

As a military historian, I write magazine articles on the war and can see things from the German side. This is because I had an ethnic German mother and Latvian father who both served Hitler's Germany. Although I was born in the UK my first language is German and my upbringing was as much culturally German as British. Like many of the immediate post-war generation in Germany, I feel guilt for what my ancestors did.

I found the screenplay to be excellent, at times combining satire with pathos, and the more evil aspects of the Third Reich are cleverly woven into the film - the German nurse married to a Jew, both hoping the war will end soon, the corrupt Nazi Gauleiter and his officials long on rhetoric but short on integrity and political awareness as Germany slowly tips into the abyss, and the doctors who illegally trade morphine for tickets and passports to Switzerland for themselves and their families. The scenes of destruction and suffering make compelling viewing, and the use of British actors to play the RAF personnel and show their point of view makes for a balanced film, particularly the scene showing German civilians lynching enemy air-crew, something also done earlier both in France and the UK on occasions. The use of Britons to play the RAF personnel also avoids those irritating foreign accents.

The love affair between a shot down RAF bomber pilot and a German nurse who has to deal with his handiwork on a daily basis is, however, stretching things a wee bit too far. That said, a number of German women did risk the guillotine to help allied personnel escape, including Ditha Bruncel, whose story has recently emerged in a book written by her English nephew.

A number of things spoil the film from an historical point of view, but mostly only we anoraks will notice. The US daylight raid on Dresden is not portrayed, nor the accusation that US fighters strafed the survivors. In addition the wing markings on the British bombers are spurious - no white and yellow circles were ever used here - and the inappropriate use of combat footage of US bombers (especially of waist gunners that were never employed in Lancasters), and the attack at night by four German single-engined fighters when the hero is shot down. Comparativey few single engined night fighters were used in this role and the typical German night fighters were two-engined types. Both types always operated alone, whereas the film shows a flight of four Messerschmitt Bf 109Es in action, a type long obsolete by 1945. Finally the sub-titles are often poorly translated, using the irritating US spelling, and in places are absent altogether. Nonetheless it is a film to buy and show the children. We can only hope that a remake of the Dambusters will be as honest, and show life at the receiving end too. Don't put money on it though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dresden, 19 Jun 2009
By 
C. MARKUSS (Bridgend UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The allied bombing of Germany is a touchy subject and perhaps 63 years on, not one to interest most film enthusiasts. But this is the sort of film that should be shown in all schools, especially British and US ones, to rid our societies of the self-righteous triumphalist and rose-tinted views of world war two, if only to show that the allies did not emerge smelling of roses. Roland Suso Richter's film is a brave attempt to tackle these issues head on.

As a military historian, I write magazine articles on the war and can see things from the German side. This is because I had an ethnic German mother and Latvian father who both served Hitler's Germany. Although I was born in the UK my first language is German and my upbringing was as much culturally German as British. Like many of the immediate post-war generation in Germany, I feel guilt for what my ancestors did.

I found the screenplay to be excellent, at times combining satire with pathos, and the more evil aspects of the Third Reich are cleverly woven into the film - the German nurse married to a Jew, both hoping the war will end soon, the corrupt Nazi Gauleiter and his officials long on rhetoric but short on integrity and political awareness as Germany slowly tips into the abyss, and the doctors who illegally trade morphine for tickets and passports to Switzerland for themselves and their families. The scenes of destruction and suffering make compelling viewing, and the use of British actors to play the RAF personnel and show their point of view makes for a balanced film, particularly the scene showing German civilians lynching enemy air-crew, something also done earlier both in France and the UK on occasions. The use of Britons to play the RAF personnel also avoids those irritating foreign accents.

The love affair between a shot down RAF bomber pilot and a German nurse who has to deal with his handiwork on a daily basis is, however, stretching things a wee bit too far. That said, a number of German women did risk the guillotine to help allied personnel escape, including Ditha Bruncel, whose story has recently emerged in a book written by her English nephew.

A number of things spoil the film from an historical point of view, but mostly only we anoraks will notice. The US daylight raid on Dresden is not portrayed, nor the accusation that US fighters strafed the survivors. In addition the wing markings on the British bombers are spurious - no white and yellow circles were ever used here - and the inappropriate use of combat footage of US bombers (especially of waist gunners that were never employed in Lancasters), and the attack at night by four German single-engined fighters when the hero is shot down. Comparativey few single engined night fighters were used in this role and the typical German night fighters were two-engined types. Both types always operated alone, whereas the film shows a flight of four Messerschmitt Bf 109Es in action, a type long obsolete by 1945. Finally the sub-titles are often poorly translated, using the irritating US spelling, and in places are absent altogether. Nonetheless it is a film to buy and show the children. We can only hope that a remake of the Dambusters will be as honest, and show life at the receiving end too. Don't put money on it though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dresden, 12 Mar 2010
By 
C. W. Bradbury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
At first viewing, I found the theme of this film rather fanciful; but it's a subtle film which sets out to make you think, and on later reflection; I realized the deeper message it contains. It's a modern day morality tale; demonstrating how all the warring factions committed actions during those terrible years, which would rightly be considered war crimes today. Winston Churchill for example, also seriously considered using anthrax as a biological weapon, refraining not from humanitarian considerations; but because once unleashed on Germany, the pestilence would have been uncontrollable, and might well have blighted Europe for generations.

With this in mind, the deeper meaning of the story becomes poignantly clear; the English pilot/German nurse thrown together by chance, and grimly attempting to survive amidst the horrors of a man-made Hell; are symbolic of the racial/cultural similarities between not only England/Germany, but all the tribes/nations of "our common European home"; and represent the very real struggle for survival those cultures faced; amidst a world gone mad and intent on suicide.

As time steadily calms the passions, I believe future generations will look back on the 20'th Century as an age of tragedy, during which Europe's World Order, like the ancient Rome from which it grew; tore itself apart in a civil war which began in August 1914, and ended only with the fall of Communism in the late 1980's. In it's own slightly clumsy fashion, this poignant film seems to be making that very point; with it's graphic illustrations of the pointless suffering and destruction Europe's people inflicted on themselves, over what originally started as an argument amongst/between Europe's ruling class; but then escalated beyond the bounds of sanity.Dresden [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRESDEN, 14 Jun 2009
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
One of the best war films presented in the original language (i.e. German). Portrayed a realistic and alternate view to that produced by "The Allies".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Epic Mini-Series ... Dresden (2006) ... Koch Vision", 25 Feb 2008
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Koch Vision and BBC presents "DRESDEN: THE EPIC MINI-SERIES" (2006) (180 mins/Color) (Dolby Digital) --- As seen on The History Channel -- No one could totally recreate the effects of the London Blitz or the Dresden bombing, but this mini-series "Dresden" makes a strong effort --- Must recommend the BBC presentation ultimately is a fascinating illustration of the effects of war --- The 30-minute making-of featurette only gives a little bit more background on the bombing itself, but it does go into detail about the production of the movie and the production team's efforts to achieve accuracy --- The big budget movie is impressive for a television miniseries; those 10 million euros turn up on the screen --- The films soundtrack is full of 1940s Big Band swing music, comes through with flying colors.

Under the production staff of:
Roland Suso Richter - Director
Nico Hofmann - Producer
Nikolaus Krämer - Producer
Sascha Schwingel - Producer
Stefan Kolditz - Screenwriter
Harald Kloser - Composer (Music Score)
Thomas Wanker - Composer (Music Score)
Jürgen Schuster - Executive Producer
Lucia Faust - Costume Designer

Our story line and plot, Brings together two major themes -- one dealing with the war itself, showing the German civilians living day to day in fear of severe retaliation on behalf of the British RAF --- It also shows how the British pilots, who risk their lives to bomb the enemy -- how ruthless the Nazi's were --- The other theme is a fragment of the previous theme, showing a love story between a stranded British pilot and a German civilian nurse working in a local hospital during the war --- This film betrays something more about World War 2 while 'witnessing' it from another point of view --- and at the same time enjoying an intriguing story about two 'enemies' falling in love --- It's well worth watching

the cast includes:
Felicitas Woll ... Anna Mauth
John Light ... Robert Newman
Benjamin Sadler ... Alexander Wenninger
Heiner Lauterbach ... Carl Mauth
Katharina Meinecke ... Magda Mauth
Marie Bäumer ... Maria Goldberg
Kai Wiesinger ... Simon Goldberg
Wolfgang Stumph ... Pfarrer
Jürgen Heinrich ... Gauleiter Martin Mutschmann
Susanne Bormann ... Eva Mauth
Paul Ready ... William
John Keogh ... Flight Lt. Leslie, Master Bomber
Christian Rodska ... Arthur Harris
Anja Taschenberg ... Grashena
Pip Torrens ... Saundby
Bert Böhlitz ... Mutschmanns Adjudant
Andreas Günther ... 1. Feldgendarm
Gabriela Maria Schmeide ... Frau
Sandra Nedeleff ... Jüdische Frau
Michael Brandner ... Blockwart
Denis Behnke ... Engl. pilot in briefing room
Oliver Moser ... Junger Soldat (as Marc Oliver Moro)
Louis El Ghussein
Tomas Spencer ... Mann

SPECIAL FEATURES EXTRAS:
1. Making-of Featurette
2. Archival Military Footage of the Dresden bombings

Great job by Koch Vision --- looking forward to more high quality titles from the BBC Collection film market --- order your copy now from Amazon or Koch Vision where there are plenty of copies available on DVD, stay tuned once again for top notch releases --- where they are experts in releasing long forgotten films and treasures to the collector.

Total Time: 180 mins on DVD ~ Koch Vision KOCV-6508 ~ (2/05/2008)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I cannot speak too highly of the film. It admirably succeeds in achieving its main aim, which was to aid the reconciliation process between Britain and Germany. Although the plot is somewhat improbable, the film accurately recreates the atmosphere of those final terrible days of the Third Reich. Of course the bombing of Dresden is a touchy subject but so is the German indiscriminate bombing of Warsaw, Rotterdam and countless British cities. Many Germans at the time saw the bombing of Dresden as the pay-off for what they did to the Jews (the parallel is quite remarkable: death by asphyxiation, roasting bodies etc). Not only was Germany getting paid back in its own coin, but also suffering the fate of those that tried to annihilate God's covenant people. Germany (under Hitler) sowed the wind and reaped the whirlwind. The film does not shirk this issue - on several occasions it refers to judgement by fire and also shows how Jews were treated. Having said this, the price has now been paid in full and, instead of engaging in mutual recriminations, we need to move on and be fully reconciled to our former enemies, and this is precisely what this admirable film invites us to do.
Having said all this, it needs to be pointed out that the original film was much longer (going to 2 DVDs). However, in view of the fact that the film has been reduced to one DVD, the editing is not bad at all.
The other problem with this particular version is that the subtitles cannot be switched off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The sadness of WW2, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Ken 'Sierra One' (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This film would possibly not be everyone's cup of tea but, having served in Germany and later lived amongst German citizens, I can understand some of the feelings of the people. It is a very sad and true love story set amongst the bombing of Dresden by the allied bombers and gives a picture of how the citizens felt about the ruination of their once beautiful city. I suppose it demonstrates the futility of war. A difficult subject to report on but the film is, to my mind, very well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dresden, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Good to see a film with the German perspective - but not very realistic to have an Allied bomber pilot in love with a local German gal! It drags a bit towards the end and too many loop holes made it very difficult to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dresden, 26 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dresden [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Watched this on TV and could not wait for it to be released on DVD watched it strait away when I got it really great drama and one to watch every now and again, love the fact that the story has bits of truth in there and the ending says it all very sad!!!!
But a reminder of the horrors of war and the suffering of the innocent sometimes you are just in the wrong place at the wrong time !!!!!

Recommended for your collection did not regret adding it to mine !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dresden [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Dresden [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Roland Suso Richter (DVD - 2008)
6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews