Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 October 2003
'Novelty Waves' is the Biosphere song used in the Levi's advert so many years ago. With its ominous melody and growling bass, it probably is the piece of work that Biosphere (Geir Jennsen) is best known for, but it hardly reflects his full sound. This song was recorded at the time when Jennsen was slowly moving away from the beat driven songs on his previous album 'Microgravity', into a much more ambient soundscape electronic field of music.
This album though is probably the best one to go for for first time listeners to Biosphere. It contains a mixture of beat driven and ambient soundscape tracks, as well as icy electro tracks and warm sounding electro tracks. Out of all his albums it is certainly the most listener friendly.
But that doesn't mean it's not innovative or cutting edge, far from it. Biosphere is widely respected as a man who can conjure up sounds which other electronic artists can only dream of. This album is quality from start to finish.
A landmark album in the field of electronica from the mid-'90s.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
I can't begin to say how much I enjoy this album. I have lost count of the number of times I have played it, and it remains my go-to music of choice for late night listening. Geir Jenssen's work exceeds the boundaries of contemporary popular music and sets a standard by which electronica, chillout, ambient and techno can be judged. In contrast to many lesser talents in these genres, Jenssen produces enormous soundscapes that are full of subtle nuance, harmony, driving beats, infectous melody and wit.

There is a further, almost undefinable characteristic of his music which is its ability to evoke feelings of nostalgia for emotions that are just slightly out of reach. I can't explain it any other way, but when I listen to Patashnik I have a strong sense of familiarity, even though there is no direct reference to anyone else's music. Pure magic.

This album, and his first album "Microgravity", should be on the shelf of anyone interested in ambient or electronica. They are timeless works of art that, although they were created in the early to mid 1990s, still sound ahead of their time almost two decades later.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2000
This is a superb album. It starts in a spooky manner with the opening track "Phantasm", using a sample from the film "The Krays", and continues brilliantly from there. Highlights are "Startoucher", "Mir" and "The Shield", but every track is beautifully mixed and suitably different from the next. A wonderful album that contains both ambient and danceable tunes but actually improves with every listen.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2001
It took me some time after hearing 'Novelty Waves' on the levi's ad to find out who the artist was (and the track name for that matter) but the wait was worth it. This album is only beaten to first place in my favourites chart by The Orbs 'Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld'. If you like tunes to chill to BUY THIS ALBUM NOW. 'Seti Project' 'Phantasm' and 'Mestigoth' are beyond compare.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 July 2009
Im a massive Max Richter, Johann Johannsson fan and simply adore the post classical movement.

Recently a convert to stars of the lid, I suppose Biosphere are a logical step forward and my word, WHAT A STEP FORWARD. This is simply a breathtaking piece of work.

haunting, melodic, and with that simply superb hunt like electonic persistance, this is truely a remarkable album, and is the electronic melodic ying to the wonderful understated strings, piano of the post classical yang.

Buy this album. Your life is not complete without it

Phil
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2002
If you're into ambient music buy this, switch out the lights and stick it on.If it doesn't scare the life out of you you'll love it forever! Top marks.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
To be honest this is an astonishing piece of work....completely original and way ahead of its time for the early - mid nineties. For me the first track is the only weak track...The Shield, Patashnik and Startoucher truely amazing.
Shame Geir completely changed direction for his next album(Substrata)......

Compelling purchase if you want ambient, chilled out bliss......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
another album to add to my collection of music for reading to nice trippy great ambient album only just got into biosphere and i'm not dissapointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Beautiful atmospheric music. Very useful if you are working with theatre pieces or with dance pieces. I can see I'll be using this a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2003
Patashnik has been my favourite album for years: as I am on here to replace the snapped tape in immortal optical plastic, I thought I'd share my impressions. Its actually a good one to own on tape, for a bit of analogue comfort-noise and ease of continuously looping it.
First off, the album is haunting but hummable. Certain other works of Jensen's (eg Shenzou) sound like a whale with wind but patashnik is an earlier work and remains more strongly in the dance-music tradition, plunging from ethereal heights to pulse-racing breaks with the fluency of a falcon, then cruising in an intellectually active but viscerally tranquil state of grace which can last for subjective days. One track I take issue with has the cheesy sample "...an Extra-terrestrial disk-jockey" repeated several times. In the end I re-recorded the tape with just the intro and the first part of the sample re-cued a few times ("can you imagine..?"). I also threw in the drum solo from a nameless sixties rock song to fill up the rest of the space, and provide a much needed bit of analogue palate-refreshment. 10 minutes of silence were another excellent adjunct to the music, at the end of the other side of the tape.
Listen and love.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.87

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)