Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars48
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2011
A. Opening/closing seems fiddly but it reassures me the jar is airtight or as good as; have had several for over a year and no damp's got in yet.
B. The jar has an attractive shape.
C. It takes a reasonable quantity, and obviously things other than spices too.
D. As it's clear you can easily see how much is left.
E. Easy to attach a sticky label to. I de-label using a fingernail under the label edge plus dilute white spirit.
F. Handwash, though I once washed a jar OK in the dishwasher top basket but hand-dried it as soon as it was washed, and I needed to replace my label.
G. You can build up a set of jars that's your own and not that showing the name of one or more herb/spice supplier.
H. You can buy matching jars in at least one larger size.

Recommended but please be aware:
(1) The Amazon page I'm submitting this review to sells only one jar not three as pictured.
(2) Jar's width doesn't fit standard spice racks. This means having to think about storage or adjusting/replacing an existing spice rack.
review image review image review image
33 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
I have gone through many different kinds of spice/herb jars; starting with Shwarts own supermarket bought spices in a wooden rack, then snazzy glass and chrome jars with chrome rack (this time holding 20 jars), but ultimately, it still wasn't enough and the jars were too small

These jars have a pressure seal which preserves freshness - very important for spices. Also the eliptical shape means you do not need a special spice/espresso spoon

The metal pressure clips do not feel flimsy at all despite the size and there is even a hook on the other side should you wish to hang the jars off hooks

There are slightly cheaper pressure-seal spice jars out there but I cannot recommend these enough; I bought three sets of twelve, all labelled across the top (being eliptical, there is more room for those long-named spices!)
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
Jars are glass and eliptical as described in other reviews; plus they are of the described size. However, the closings are not the clip type as shown on the photo, but rather the metal wire types shown on other jars. This makes closures shoddy and ill-fitting. It will be interesting to see how long they last! Already the closures on two of the five jars stick and require force to be applied. This means that none of the jars are air-tight. Not a problem because of my contents, but out of curiosity tried dry herbs and herbs sprinkle out of closed lids; more than a couple of millimeter gap regardless of rubber seal. The seller should provide detailed description in the details to avoid diappointment and frustration.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
I cook a lot and have load of different types of spices and want a neat and clean way of organising it. I was looking at various option but I was looking for some stylish, affordable and utility jars, then I saw these on Amazon and my problem is solved :) I loved them they are very stylish and being crystal clear you know what its in it. The only thing is they are not big enough to hold 100gm of any spices (like Rep pepper, Garam masala, Black peper), they can approximately hold 80gm. But I am overall pleased with product and I have already purchased 12 of them will purchased more :)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2009
I bought these jars to get rid of all the old and mismatched herb and spice containers that I have accumulated. I keep them all in a basket under the island unit and being clear glass it is easy to identify the contents at a glance-you can easily make your own labels on a computer. These could also be used by crafters for beads etc-all in all an excellent purchase
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
Perfect - just a great size and really better than I originally thought.
They have a hook on them that you use to hang them up. Haven't quite figured how that will work in my kitchen but.....
They are just great for what I want them and indeed am away to order more for a foody friend who is just moving house. Then she can fill them with all the spices and herbs she really wants!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
I purchased these jars to make home-made gifts for the upcoming festive season. Most jars of this type for sale online were the larger round kind, but these were the perfect size for what I have in mind. Good quality and packaged very well. Excellent.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2010
Nice little jars, perfect size for a load of spices we bought abroad. Very easy action and the seal looks as though it will last.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
These are great little jars excellent for herbs and spices. Look lovely, a huge improvement on the jars the spices come in, as they have a great seal they will keep everything fresher for longer. I ordered 20 and I just ordered a further 20, can wholly recommend them and the seller I bought them off.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Beware when ordering the advertisement shows more then one. I thought I would get about 4 but you only receive the one. They seem ok but I feel deceived with the advert.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)