Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Columbo - Series 8
These episodes were made 17 years after the first series, and I think you have to expect some differences. Yes, they are more padded out and if anything a little less precise on plot sophistication. It's just a sign of the times. The first four series were shorter (75 mins with a few 90 mins. features) and were snappier, edgier, and more a product of well-crafted early...
Published on 3 Sep 2008 by steveacoustic

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Columbo's Return Marks A Few Inspiring Ideas Mixed With An Abundance Of Mediocrity
I won't deny my feelings for Columbo's return in the late 80s was firstly a feeling of joy which later transpired to vague disappointment, not necessarily because the new episodes are overwhelmingly bad - in fact there are plenty of things to recommend about them, the problem is, however, when compared with the original 70s series there's often a feeling that something's...
Published on 27 April 2008 by Jervis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Columbo - Series 8, 3 Sep 2008
By 
steveacoustic (Norwich, Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
These episodes were made 17 years after the first series, and I think you have to expect some differences. Yes, they are more padded out and if anything a little less precise on plot sophistication. It's just a sign of the times. The first four series were shorter (75 mins with a few 90 mins. features) and were snappier, edgier, and more a product of well-crafted early 1970s US TV 'tec dramas. These later episodes are almost a different Columbo from the early ones but they're still well worth watching. If you're a newcomer to Columbo I'd suggest trying the early ones first and then working your way through.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Columbo's Return Marks A Few Inspiring Ideas Mixed With An Abundance Of Mediocrity, 27 April 2008
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I won't deny my feelings for Columbo's return in the late 80s was firstly a feeling of joy which later transpired to vague disappointment, not necessarily because the new episodes are overwhelmingly bad - in fact there are plenty of things to recommend about them, the problem is, however, when compared with the original 70s series there's often a feeling that something's not quite right, and for one reason or another the show often fails to ignite like in the old days.

Actually, the strongest aspect of this series is often the basic premise of the storylines, which in many cases does compare most favourably with those from the 70s, and it is quite obvious, especially after getting reacquainted with them with this DVD release, that a lot of thought had gone into making the stories as strong as one would expect especially when compared to Columbo's previous high standards. Where these stories lose out, however, is in their translation to the small screen, where be it with the unnecessary drawing out of the stories to fill the allotted time, the slickness of the presentation, or the choice of actors playing the lead roles, that makes them infinitely inferior to their 70s counterparts. The biggest problem does appear to be the chemistry (or lack of it) between the killers and Columbo. Very rarely do these actors ever have the spark or charisma of those 70s villains to ever effectively ignite their roles - perhaps because they were at the time lesser known stars and lack a strong visual presence, but there is a degree of anonyminity about them that translates very much to an overall blandness. However, perhaps the biggest drawback is Columbo himself, as Peter Falk doesn't play his role with anything like the effectiveness of his early days. He lacks a sharp edge and seems distinctly groggy for the most part, which really does blunt much of the fine work laid down by those working on developing the plots.

The series only contains four episodes, also, which may not prove such good value for money as the previous series', also. Really, generally a very mixed bag overall, where obviously plenty of dedication had been applied to the concept of the stories, but somehow their effectiveness falls a little flat between then and the finished result. One could, and would perhaps be wise to ask whether Peter Falk would ever have been considered for the role of Columbo with the quality of his portrayal here, had it not been for his fabulously effective portrayal in the 70s. He has a richly deserved iconic status playing Columbo, where the role fits him like a glove, but that status comes from his portrayal in the 70s, his 80s portrayal really doesn't match up, and, if anything proves a hinderance at times to the show's general effectiveness. Perhaps it boils down to his age, although he wasn't excessively old at the time of this series' production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fast had me losing the will to live, 4 Sep 2010
By 
W. S. Barklam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first box set I bought after viewing the excellent "Classic" series of Columbo filmed in the 1970s. Frankly ( as many other reviewers have pointed out )it's a bit of a comedown.

The murders are not that imaginative, the murderers are not that charismatic ( opposite was the case in the 1970s episodes ) and Columbo's rapport with the murderers which used to be the excuse for the culprits letting their guard down and misled into believing that Columbo was a bit of a doofus gumshoe is generally weak and unconvincing. I don't have a problem ( as some do ) with Peter Falk's portrayal of Columbo in this new batch, but the writers for this lot of stories don't seem to invest Columbo with the same kind of panache and semi-slapstick wit that was so strongly executed in the 1970s.

The stories are also about 20 minutes too long to enchant the average viewer

There are good moments in each of these episodes but they are not sustained and my concentration on the plot was waning about a third of the way in, so don't ask me how Columbo arrived at the final conclusion because by that point I had given up caring.

Would have given this a one star rating but for Peter Falk giving his all to these rather ho-hum proceedings so have upped it to two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive for 4 episodes. . ., 6 Jun 2008
By 
A. A. Jones "A A Jones" (Stockton on Tees, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Contains all 4 episodes from Season 8

46 Columbo Goes to the Guillotine--06/02/89--(Season 8)
47 Murder, Smoke and Shadows--27/02/89--(Season 8)
48 Sex and the Married Detective--03/04/89--(Season 8)
49 Grand Deception--01/05/89--(Season 8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very hit and miss., 5 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
For me ,it all goes mostly wrong from season 8 onwards. As other reviewers have commented,the late great Peter Falk always gives his best but is up against corny scripts and in some episodes the annoying "tittilation" that somebody somewhere thought was necessery to update Columbo. Series 8,episode 48 being a classic example;"Sex and the married therapist". The word "sex" shoehorned in as often as possible for some reason and the sight of a lady supposedly dressing herself erotically in stockings etc to go out on her murder.It has such a cheap,straight to TV movie feel about it where you would usually find desperate actors willing to strip off whenever the weather changes to get some attention or more TV time.I thought this demeans the Columbo franchise. Other episodes from season 8 on are OK and some are good-look for established actors such as Patrick Macgoohan for the better ones.It must have been painful for Peter Falk to work with some of these amateurs after the greats from the 1970's who were probably queuing up to be the murderer in the next Columbo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't confuse different releases!, 19 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
For those who are collecting the PLAYBACK series releases, do not worry, this release is perfectly correct, and there is nothing missing. (In fact, if you are already collecting these, I expect you aren't worried, but this may interest those who might be starting to collect Columbo.)

Judging by other reviewers comments submitted here, one would have to think that we live in an authoritarian state with a sole Bureau responsible for releasing DVDs and therefore it would never be possible to have multiple overlapping releases. What a load of nonsense!

UK TV Series broadcasts usually match the calendar years, but in the US they rarely do, a so-called "Season" rather beginning in Autumn and ending in Spring the following year.

This PLAYBACK release, clearly stated as "The Complete Eighth Season" (inappropriately labeled Series 8" by Amazon), contains only those episodes that belonged to the eighth Season, just as did the previous Season releases.

The UNIVERSAL release called "Mystery Movie Collection 1989" contains all the episodes that were broadcast in 1989, one of which (the "missing" one other reviewers have been complaining about here) belongs to the Ninth Season. I feel confident that this episode will appear in the PLAYBACK Ninth Season release when they get around to it.

While I'm on the topic, this reminds me of the never-ending complaints by reviewers about how US releases often appear to be longer (supposedly "uncut!") than European releases. It is true of course, that there are differences in length that result from cutting scenes out (or adding them back in). However, more often than not this is not the case, and the difference in length is really due to the difference in frame-rate conversion between the original film (24fps) and PAL (25fps). Because NTSC uses a different method, the play-back time remains the same as the original, but a 90-minute movie will play back in 86 minutes and 24 seconds in PAL.

All this information is freely available in our internet world, so please, please try to find out the facts before making false accusations and complaints!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars we have been short changed, 4 April 2008
By 
jeannie (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 8 contains, 1 columbo goes to the guillotine, 2 murder smoke and shadows, 3 sex and the married detective and 4 grand deceptions. The movie collection dated 1989 in region 1 has these but also another episode not encluded above. WHY??
Ive given a rating of 3 only because of this. Dont make the same mistake as myself, as i now own both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Columbo Season 8, 28 Oct 2008
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 8 contains only 4 episodes,(On 2 DVD's) very dissapointing. If you are a serious Columbo fan my advice would be to buy the boxed set, seasons 1-8 as this is a far better way to get hold of all those great series for much less...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pleased with, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
arrived on time, pleased with item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Watchable., 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
A very watchable series though am disappointed that the number of programs are getting less each series. I never tire of Columbo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Columbo: Series 8 [DVD]
Columbo: Series 8 [DVD] by Peter Falk (DVD - 2008)
9.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews