Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent set of episodes from this long running comedy., 23 Mar 2008
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Another excellent collection of Last of the Summer Wine episodes. My particular favourite episode is the feature length: "Getting Sam Home" which contains an incredible storyline and dialogue. For fans of the series this DVD boxset is recommended.

This set contains the following episodes:
The Frozen Turkey Man, The White Man's Grave, The Waist Land, Cheering Up Ludovic, The Three Astaires, The Arts of Concealment, The Mysterious Feet Of Nora Batty, Keeping Britain Tidy, Enter The Phantom, Catching Digby's Donkey, The Woollenmills Of Your Mind, Who's Looking After The Cafe Then?, All Mod Conned, Getting Sam Home and The Loxley Lozenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic TV Comedy!, 17 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
This is classic stuff worth getting alone for the 'Getting Sam Home' feature length film from Xmas 1983. This was the first feature length film of a sitcom to be made for TV. Shows such as Only Fools and Horses later followed this trend with their own Xmas feature length specials.
If you like classic BBC comedy like Steptoe and Son, Dad's Army etc then this is a must buy ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GREAT GREAT nothing else says it like this, 30 April 2008
By 
J. JOHNSON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show and the way it makes me feel . The DVD is well produced and as usual the actors and the writing are the best . The characters always remain true to their 'character', to use a word again . This comes from the same writer, Roy Clarke, being the only writer since 1973 to ever write any of the shows . This is not the case when several writers are involved with a show over a period of time . You may get used to the way a character is and what to expect from them when another writer changes the character so much that you hardly recognize them as you had gotten use to . Form 1973 until the present this longest running comedy on British TV has remained true to form and I pray it will go on for many more years and that we will be able to purchase all the episodes ever made . One sad note, from a reviewer on Series 9-10 which is due out in May of 2008; he says that he has found evidence that there will actually be no episodes from series 10 on this set called Series 9-10 . It does seem as if he will be right if the running time of 440 minutes listed is correct . There were 12 episodes in series 9 and there is supposed to be 3 Christmas/New years Specials on the set also . There is no way that any more episodes could be on the set with only 440 minutes of running time . When you divide 440 by aproximately 30 minutes you see that this will come to about 15 episodes and there will be no way for the 6 or 7 epidodes from series 10 to be included . I only wonder what the next set will be called and how Universal Playback UK will explain this to we buyers . In any case, I want all of the episodes and hope we will have them available , in some form or the other . Some of the previous sets like 1-2 and 5-6 are hard to find and some say they may never be released again . Why, with a pouplar and wonderful show like this is it so hard to purchase them as we all want ? Will we be forced to buy counterfeits sold on sites like Ebay in order to complete our collections ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing Foggy, 10 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
For me, there's no doubt that Brian Wilde was the star of LOSW.
Whilst, at times, the compo character could be somewhat limited, Wilde was consistently funny, even in the [inevitable] weaker episodes....and Sallis always had the glib remark.
Brian brought in a suggestion of that voice quivering, from his 'Porridge' character - together with the condescention and 'superiority', that only a corporal sign-writer can apply...
Along with the later development of the ongoing Howard/Miranda 'debacle', it's Foggy, that possibly kept viewers watching and helped give the series it's deserved longevity....
RIP, Brian....you were just wonderful!
And thanks for another superb collection.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent series from the Holmfirth Posse, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Yet another wacky round of adventures for the three eternal school boys. I thoroughly enjoyed this box set as I have with the others. Compo's tempestuous relationship with the feisty Nora Batty is a sight to behold. I look forward to continuing my viewing with the crazy trio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Loxely Lozenge, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Just a warning, there is a couple of scenes edited out of 'The Loxley Lozenge', about a minute around the 6:17 mark is missing, along with an 8-second edit around the 7:50 mark. Both scenes edited out are of the actor Jonathan Lindsley who according to some sources were edited out due to unexplained reasons. Jonathan played 'Milburn' around this time. The dead giveaway is that his name appears on the end credits. To see it unedited, go onto Youtube and watch 'The Loxley Lozenge Part 1'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series and SUBTITLES.....YEAH!!!, 30 May 2010
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
We recently purchased a Region Free DVD player so we could see these wonderful shows, and it was so worth it. The best part is having the subtitles. My husband is hearing impaired and he just can't follow the Yorkshire accent very well. I love the way Playback puts the names of each episode on the box, too.
Even with the exchange rate, these DVD sets are cheaper than the ones we have that have been released in America. We are very happy with our purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and Constant Humour, 15 Feb 2009
By 
Mad Madam Mimm (Barking, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
As always, it's a pleasure to watch these two series of Last of the Summer Wine.

Never disappointing in its humour the lofty (in more ways than one) Foggy, the woman fearing Clegg and the irrepressible Compo rule supreme. Gentle smiles and loud laughter accompany any viewing of this wonderful programme, no matter which episode/series you are watching.

I cannot envisage anyone being disappointed by any of the episodes.

Mad Madam Mimm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Compo, Clegg and Foggy are three old men in a small town in England. The stories tell about their daily adventures and also some other inhabitants of the place, as well as give a fine view of the countryside.

They bring smiles on my face and always turn up with a surprise ending, often hilarious. My experiences come from the DVD's with Bill Owen, Peter Sallis, Brian Wilde, and they have given me hours of great fun.

Although I have a fluent command of English the subtitles help catch the occational odd local jargon, and if copyright laws allow could be used for educational purposes in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST COMEDY ON TV, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
THIS WAS THE BEST COMEDY ON TV, FOLLOWED CLOSELY BY "OPEN ALL HOURS" AND "KEEPING UP APPEARANCES".
I NEVER USED TO MISS AN EPISODE, AND TO HAVE THE DVD OF THE SHOW IS WONDERFUL. LOVELY TO SEE COMPO AGAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last of the Summer Wine - Series 7 & 8 [1983] [DVD]
8.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews