Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good for a modern vampire story
Having seen a lot of vampire films, I'm usually unimpressed by modern versions but this one is suprisingly good.

The story centers around a reporter out to hunt down and kill the vampires who turned her - how she became a vampire and why she wants revenge and death instead of imortality becomes apparent as the film progresses.

With plenty of action,...
Published on 10 Feb 2008 by R. Carpenter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow Vampire Flick
Ok ....i like vampire films and i like Lucy liu,alot!!!...This could have been great but alas it was very slow and the action very small,too much drama and no substance.
I was expecting a bit of kick ass action from the lovelly lucy as seen in her previous films but all i got was a tiny cross bow and no real fangs!!!
Even a die hard vampire fan would love...
Published on 9 Feb 2008 by J. DER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good for a modern vampire story, 10 Feb 2008
By 
R. Carpenter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise - The Blood Hunter (Unrated) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen a lot of vampire films, I'm usually unimpressed by modern versions but this one is suprisingly good.

The story centers around a reporter out to hunt down and kill the vampires who turned her - how she became a vampire and why she wants revenge and death instead of imortality becomes apparent as the film progresses.

With plenty of action, blood and some sex this is an engaging film. Lucy Liu is a strong presence in the lead role.

The only downside is that some of the story is told in flashbacks and its not always immediately obvious which scenes are the present and which are the past. Until it becomes clear, the story is occasionally a bit confusing.

This film is definately worth seeing at least once. Fans of vampire films will probably enjoy it but as with any film, if you're not sure, rent it first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rise, 12 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. S. A. Emo "film lover" (Bedfordshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise - The Blood Hunter (Unrated) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
this is a good film about a girl played by lucy liu she wakes up in a coroners freezer to find she is a vampire so she goes on a mission to kill all involved.I'm not to in to vampire films but this is a good one would rate very high lucy liu is grate in this film it has a good twist well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good action vampire movie, 8 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Rise - The Blood Hunter (Unrated) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
RISE - BLOOD HUNTER DVD R2 2008

Back in the 1980s I replaced most of my collection of 8mm movies with VHS and I have been going through a same process of upgrading to DVD for the last two or three years. This has given me the excuse to revisit many films that I have not watched for some time and to sample new films of the genre which have appeared over the past 20 years.

I thought that this film was actually a very good, modern take on the vampire genre, the storyline was good, the acting better than normal for a modern horror movie, especially Lucy Liu, who brings her reluctant and vengeful character to life (after death) as she hunts down those that she sees as responsible for her becoming a vampire. The blood suckers are suitably nasty, not the effete prancing pretty boys of the television serials and the film cracks along at a fast pace for most of the time although there are a couple of short periods where the action seems to stall for a minute or two. This is one of those films where the viewer needs to pay attention as there are recall sequences which are not always clearly defined.

I had not even been aware of this film until I started looking to replace older VHS tapes with DVDs and came across it by chance. I am glad that I did, it is an enjoyable movie, and certainly much better than many contemporary vampire offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise BD Slick Slow n Sexy Horror (all region), 6 Jun 2009
This Blu-ray is the 2 hours 2 min. Unrated Cut and 'all-region' (attn: Yanks and others). A Dolby track and two DTS tracks, one loseless master! Looks good, sounds good. I had the DVD and thought it was boring but here I am rebuying it in 1080p because it's a good boring; with style. Interesting cast and unusual production. Slow paced and moody vampire story gives genre a sexy underworld angle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow Vampire Flick, 9 Feb 2008
By 
J. DER (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok ....i like vampire films and i like Lucy liu,alot!!!...This could have been great but alas it was very slow and the action very small,too much drama and no substance.
I was expecting a bit of kick ass action from the lovelly lucy as seen in her previous films but all i got was a tiny cross bow and no real fangs!!!
Even a die hard vampire fan would love this....sorry Lucy,i love you but this Sucked...or in this case not enough!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2.5--Lucy Lui what have they done to you ?!?!,, 25 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Rise - The Blood Hunter (Unrated) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
While Rise: Blood Hunter isn't a terrible film, it's a predictable one. This is meant to be a revisionist vampire film (no one actually uses the word vampire in the movie) but these are the same trendy vampires that have haunted the screen since Blade. Is it too much to ask someone to try and shake up the vampire film the way Kathryn Bigelow and Eric Red did with Near Dark? Or Larraz did with Vampyres (over 30 years ago)? Can't we just get a little Nosferatu around here? Instead what we have here is a journalist by the name of "Sadie" (Lucy Lui) who discovers that a young goth girl she briefly covered in a recent article has been found dead and a hidden message she left behind may lead to her killer's whereabouts. What she discovers is a secret underground group of vampires, who feed on unsuspecting women. Sadie becomes their latest victim, but instead of being left for dead, is turned into one of them. After she awakens in the morgue, she must come to terms with her new self and is enlisted by a mysterious Spanish man, who gives her the means and know-how on how to find and destroy the vampires that turned her.

This movie proved to be another interesting take on the vampire mythos. The vamps in this flick are fangless and really show no signs of being Nosferatu, with the exception of their strength, lack of a reflection, and thirst for blood. They're not afraid of crosses, and we're not shown whether the old garlic theory works on them. Sadie doesn't even use wooden stakes to kill them; instead she seems to use metal bolts shot from her small crossbow. Although the flick is very slow-paced and doesn't offer a whole lot of the typical vampire action we're accustomed too, it does show a different side to the legend, by following Sadie from the moment she awakens in the morgue, to how she gradually copes with her thirst, and eventually finding strength in herself to confront those that harmed her.

The whole sequence where she awakens in the morgue, to her trip to a homeless shelter, where she feeds on her first victim, was somehow mesmerizing to me. I also liked a scene where she finally accepts the fact that she needs to feed and picks up a hitchhiker in a secluded road. From the homeless shelter to her reactions and awkward dialogue with the hitchhiker, the film seemed to portray a kind of realism behind vampirism and the need to feed. That, and my general interest with revenge-type flicks, led me to enjoy the movie mildly. Since this isn't your typical vampire film, there's no flying, clawing, or neck biting, so the gore is kept at a minimum. There is, however, a lot of blood spurting and bolts to the heart. In the end, what it lacks in gore and action, it makes up for in story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT UNDER -THE -RADAR HORROR., 4 Dec 2007
By 
J. Pogmore ""trash hound"" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lucy Liu is given a rare starring role in this overlong but interesting vampire movie in which she plays Sadie a reporter turned into a vampire by a cult of decadent sleazy bloodsuckers.
Sickened by her new addiction to blood Liu seeks out and kills the swines with her trusty crossbow. Micheal Chiklis plays a grieving cop who hinders then aids her in her quest. The best Vampires are played by James D'arcy as as the suave leader and Carla Gugino as the seductive Eve.
The plot is somewhat like Kill Bill meets Blade. Initially the the director jars the audience with a fragmented flashback structure at the beginning that establishes Sadie's normal life and the events leading up to her "turning". With some streamlined dialogue and more strict editing this could have been a perfect B-movie horror. As it is it's very good but sags during the middle pace-wise. However this is compensated by the unusually strong atmosphere by todays standards, high claret content and nudity laced with genuine sensuality. Liu in particular cowboys up with a brazen, raw performance that washes away memories of cold fish Ling on the dire Ally McBeal.
Fans of the vampire genre will want to check this out and will be rewarded with a strange lttle gem that nobody seems to have seen but me. If you're a Lucy Liu fan then you really have no excuse not to buy this item. Grrrr!
if you like your horror a little less quirky then proceed with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars don't go into empty houses!, 2 Oct 2013
By 
A. C. Sharpes "sakkara" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise - The Blood Hunter (Unrated) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
If you like the Blade trilogies and the earlier vampire themed films then you'll like this. There's plenty of gore to satisfy most fans of this genre but unlike some you do genuinely feel for the character that Lucy Liu plays Sadie Blake whose human self befalls a pretty gruesome end - all shown in great painful detail. Her newly found condition and how she copes is shown partly in flashback and partly as it's happening and we follow Sadie as she sets out to destroy the man who made her the way she is. There is a little humour to release the gloom and the baddie Bishop played by Englishman James D'Arcy relishes his role to the full if a little over the top! Michael Chiklis adds to the 'conflict and trying to get his head around the whole thing' role too (if only he were taller - those shoulders....) as the policeman Det Clyde Rawlins who's daughter fell victim to Bishop et al. Sadie tries to convince Rawlins of who she is which she eventually does - she says she will help him kill Bishop in revenge for the death of his daughter but on condition that Rawlins kills Sadie when it's done to put her out of this abject misery.which he says he'll do. All in all it's a good film - leave some expectations at the door and enjoy. I'm secretly hoping there'll be a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FEAST MY EYES, 14 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rise - The Blood Hunter (Unrated) [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with an erotic scene as Cameron Richardson strips for Lucy Lui. We then flashback 6 months. Lucy is investigating a cult. However without Dru and Diaz, she is no match for a vampires. She becomes one herself and seeks revenge on the vampire cult. The film has a number of good scenes and would be a cult movie except the field of erotic vampire cult movies is overcrowded. Still it might be a worthwhile view.

F-bomb, suggestive sex scenes, nudity (Cameron Richardson, Lucy Lui).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rise -the bloodhunter, 21 Jun 2010
By 
D. Sampson (wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is ok but mostly looks like it was shot in a hurry and in a dark environment, The acting looks a bit rushed as if the actors couldnt wait to get to the end of the filming and disappear with their pay checks. dont get me wrong but It feels like a made for tv film if you know what I mean if you havent seen it I would rent rather than buy whatever is the cheaper option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise - The Blood Hunter (Unrated) [2007] [DVD]
Rise - The Blood Hunter (Unrated) [2007] [DVD] by Sebastien Gutierrez (DVD - 2008)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews