Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good wholesome fun
I bought this looking for a slightly more grown up film for my ten year old and this fits the tween market perfectly. Not too scary, not too much smoochy stuff and not too babyish. The story keeps them gripped and definitely made my ten year old feel that wee bit more mature than her younger sister.
Published 9 months ago by Nicola

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing but, IMHO Just not the real Nancy Drew
Having been addicted to the books as a child, I was thrilled to discover this DVD and very much looked forwards to watching it.

Sadly, I was somewhat disappointed with the results. Although an intriguing film in its own right, it just wasn't the Nancy Drew I had pictured; and not the Nancy Drew that I remembered reading about in Carolyn Keene's books...
Published on 2 May 2010 by E. Heckingbottom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good wholesome fun, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I bought this looking for a slightly more grown up film for my ten year old and this fits the tween market perfectly. Not too scary, not too much smoochy stuff and not too babyish. The story keeps them gripped and definitely made my ten year old feel that wee bit more mature than her younger sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing but, IMHO Just not the real Nancy Drew, 2 May 2010
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Having been addicted to the books as a child, I was thrilled to discover this DVD and very much looked forwards to watching it.

Sadly, I was somewhat disappointed with the results. Although an intriguing film in its own right, it just wasn't the Nancy Drew I had pictured; and not the Nancy Drew that I remembered reading about in Carolyn Keene's books.

Nancy was made to appear so retro that she was unbelievable as a teenager. Carson Drew looked nothing like the person I had pictured in my mind - and came over as far too young and attractive. (If he really looked like that, why was there never a second Mrs Drew?)! The plot was a little drawn out and rather laughable in places. However, on the other hand, the baddies were belivably bad, and the conclusion to the plot was great.

My conclusion - an enjoyable film for those who don't remember the books or the TV series from the late 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 5 Jan 2014
By 
MP (Staffs, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Good film, bought for teenager who loved the film and it has now been watched several times with various friends & grandparents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple fun film, 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Just a pleasant film of the infamous Nancy Drew and Emma Roberts does a great performance.

Little note before buying - its a young teen film, maybe a great idea for a girls sleepover. its a fun, harmless movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FASHION STYLE MYSTERY ORGNASTION.... THAT'S NANCY FOR YOU!!!!, 20 July 2008
By 
S. Arden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This story is a teen classic basicly filled with everything if you want to know, for a girl that is! ...fashion,style,mystery,orgnisation,the villians,the friends and much more.
Nancy fills the story to top to bottom. The outline of the story is she is heading off for a hoilday with her dad(as her mums died) which they rent and Nancy picks the house, and of course, knowing her it's one with a years ago death and mystery! What's a girl to do -investergate.
Years and years ago their lived a famous actress "Dehlia Dreycott", who died by someone else's doing who was found in the pool. That was the same house Nancy's in. Ohhhhhhhhhh.
It's strange and as Nancy's a star and has worked out many other cases will she work this one out. A tough challenge huh.
She finds clues, puts them together like a puzzle and she has a story. Of course the story would be nothing without her friends helping.
I really ennjoyed this movie and if you get it I hope you get it too.In some places it gets scary but it's a natural plot line twist. It's a story for the whole family. Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emma Roberts impresses, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Before watching this movie I had of course heard of the character Nancy Drew but had never read/watched the character in anything. I picked up this movie based on the cameo by Bruce Willis and I'm kind of glad I did. It isn't a great film by any means, but Emma Roberts is very good as Nancy Drew and I really liked the way they kept her character very 1950's in style and outlook, from her dialogue, to her car, to her clothes. The story itself is rather formulaic and the supporting cast are generally mediocre. The cameo with Bruce Willis made it worth the cheap purchase for me as the rapore between him playing himself and Nancy Drew at the film set makes for one of the funnier sections of the film. I'm sure Nancy Drew fans and teenage girls will love this film, but generally speaking, it was average and is worth a rental only unless you're a big Willis fan. 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not convinced by this retro-Nancy..., 1 April 2009
This review is from: Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It probably seemed a clever idea on paper: Nancy Drew arrives in modern LA but she's still the wholesome, penny-loafer-wearer of the original books. She's square, she eats cupcakes and knows First Aid; the LA kids meanwhile are jaded, bitchy and fashion-obsessed. In other words it's a culture-clash, fish-out-of-water comedy in the style of Crocodile Dundee. Or, indeed, Back to the Future: although the film doesn't actually show her climbing out of a time-machine, that's the basic conceit.

Perhaps if they hadn't laboured the joke so much, and given Nancy just a hint of old-fashionedness instead of the full Alice-band treatment, it might have worked better. Perhaps. But the point about Nancy Drew is that she's always been a modern girl -- she was in the 1920s and she was in the 1950s. Maybe in the decadent 2000s the writers felt that Nancy could only be presented as an ironic, kitsch figure from the past. If so (and I'm speculating, of course) I don't think it's true. One of the things that strikes me when watching a show like Buffy the Vampire Slayer is how straight the kids are. If them, then why not 14-year-old Nancy too?

The other problem with this throw-back Nancy is that she's simply too bland. It really is difficult to root for someone who, in a car-chase, won't go above the speed limit. It's not a bad joke, but it makes her look silly.

Given all that, I thought Emma Roberts made a good Nancy Drew. She certainly has the requisite self-possession and charm. It's just a shame that the script and the direction reduced her to a two-dimensional figure. And the story itself was pretty ho-hum.

Let's hope they do another one with Roberts but drop the irony. A modern Nancy Drew is perfectly do-able without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pre-teen film, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
My ten year old loves this. Just scary enough that it does not give her nightmares but exciting and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nancy was fab, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nancy Drew (Amazon Instant Video)
Great movie full of suspense. Convincing actors and good humour too. Enjoyed by whole family. Will look out for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nancy Drew (Amazon Instant Video)
Great film! was a bit slow but might be my computer. will use Instant again when i get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007]
Nancy Drew [DVD] [2007] by Andrew Fleming (DVD - 2008)
2.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews