Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing
I was so pleased to finally get this cd from Damien as I have been a HUGE fan for well over three years!! I have aquired a lot of songs of his that are live but this album's sound quality is amazing and really captures the atmosphere and beauty of his singing. Although it is only 8 songs there is a really nice mix of popular and lesser known ones and I think Lisa adds a...
Published on 2 Jan 2008 by mrsdamienrice

versus
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only 8 songs!! Where's the rest of the concert???
This release is a big disappointment as there are only 8 songs on the album and at least two of them are sung exclusively by Lisa Hannigan. Where is the rest of the concert and for that matter, where is the live DVD in DTS/PCM sound quality? This release falls well below expectations for an international artist and looks to me to be a quick cash in for Christmas.
Published on 28 Nov 2007 by Mr. G. S. Wheelhouse


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 2 Jan 2008
This review is from: Live From The Union Chapel (Audio CD)
I was so pleased to finally get this cd from Damien as I have been a HUGE fan for well over three years!! I have aquired a lot of songs of his that are live but this album's sound quality is amazing and really captures the atmosphere and beauty of his singing. Although it is only 8 songs there is a really nice mix of popular and lesser known ones and I think Lisa adds a lot of variety and is simply compelling to listen to. Its a great addition to my alarmingly large collection of Damien Rice songs and is a must-have for any fan- especially if you have seen him live and want to recapture your experience (I know I do!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICE IN A CHAPEL?, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From The Union Chapel (Audio CD)
Great, superb, magnificent, superlative, splendiferous, wondrous and live with the fantastic Lisa Hannigan. That little lot should explain how much I like this album. It finishes with a spine chilling solo of Silent Night lyricised by Lisa. For the rest of the album, they either harmonise like angels or Damien goes from a whisper to a scream, from peaceful recollection to angry protestations. If you don't do anything else in the first half of 2013, BUY THIS and become entranced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Live From The Union Chapel (Audio CD)
great album better than i'd hoped for and Lisa Harrington singing two songs is an added bonus Silent Night is fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Amazing, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From The Union Chapel (Audio CD)
It is a beautiful album for everyone that loves Damien Rice...
I'am listening to this for a month... and i am not tired...
I recommend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honesty is the best policy, 6 Jun 2009
By 
burnthouse (Mabe Burnthouse, Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live From The Union Chapel (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful album, honesty and musical genuis - if you like Damein Rice are folk music in general Why haven't you already got this work of art?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only 8 songs!! Where's the rest of the concert???, 28 Nov 2007
This review is from: Live From The Union Chapel (Audio CD)
This release is a big disappointment as there are only 8 songs on the album and at least two of them are sung exclusively by Lisa Hannigan. Where is the rest of the concert and for that matter, where is the live DVD in DTS/PCM sound quality? This release falls well below expectations for an international artist and looks to me to be a quick cash in for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Major Problems With CD Sound....?, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From The Union Chapel (Audio CD)
I love the songs of Damien Rice, especially when Lisa Hannigan is singing with him and I was really looking forward to this. However, I had major problems with two copies of this CD. I only ever listen to music via my laptop - in fact listening to music this way is so convenient that I no longer have a home stereo. I always buy whatever CD takes my fancy, load it onto my laptop for home and keep the original for playing in my car. I loaded the first copy of this CD onto my laptop and found that the sound was overdubbed with loud static, and was impossible to listen to. My first thought was that it was faulty, so I contacted Amazon who immediately sent a replacement copy. Unfortunately that CD was exactly the same, with loud, rasping static over the music. I tried the CD on two laptops, both with problems, and then on my car CD player where it played perfectly. I can only assume that for some reason these CD's have been manufactured so that they can't be put onto a computer in case they are copied or shared, which I have never done and am not interested in doing. This is the first time this has happened to me, and other CD's I have put onto my laptop since have played without a problem. I think Amazon are looking into this, (fab customer service as ever from Amazon)but in honesty so many of us listen to our music via laptops / computers that I think we should be told if we can't play a CD in this way. I will be downloading an MP3 of this album onto my laptop, but it's spoilt it for me in a way. I'd be really interested if this has happened to anyone else - maybe you could let us all know in a review....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live From The Union Chapel
Live From The Union Chapel by Damien Rice (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews