Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great playing from this stellar lineup
Apart from taking time out to play with Brad Mehldau last year, Metheny has been playing in this trio extensively since the release of his last Group effort in 2005; in fact, it turns out that all the pieces on this CD were laid down in October of that year during a recording session that lasted a single day (hence the title). Sanchez is the current drummer in his group,...
Published on 10 Mar. 2008 by Jeremy Walton

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed
Is everyone easily pleased ?
This is just another boring album , his recent music is sounding so dull & predictable,
i have been a great fan of pat metheny in the past, he produced some beautifull & imaginitve music in the past, STILL LIFE TALKING being one of the best,he's a great musician but has become to self indulgent, he should get back with Lyle mays &...
Published on 14 Feb. 2008 by GILBERT & GEORGE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great playing from this stellar lineup, 10 Mar. 2008
By 
Jeremy Walton (Sidmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
Apart from taking time out to play with Brad Mehldau last year, Metheny has been playing in this trio extensively since the release of his last Group effort in 2005; in fact, it turns out that all the pieces on this CD were laid down in October of that year during a recording session that lasted a single day (hence the title). Sanchez is the current drummer in his group, and McBride - while still only in his mid 30's - has played with the likes of Benny Carter, Freddie Hubbard, Michael Brecker and Sting. When these three stellar musicians get together, it's a powerful mix, ranging from the supremely confident opener, "Son Of Thirteen" to the terrific title track (known, somewhat confusingly, as "Number 13" in early live setlists). Others have already commented on the elegaic "Is This America?", though the titular connection with Metheny's hit single "This Is Not America" doesn't seem to have registered.

I bought this disc in HMV Ottawa a couple of weeks ago, having had my eye on it since its release. Personally, my preference is always for Metheny's group outings with Lyle Mays, as they seem to offer a little more scope for his gifts of melody and texture, but I'll take him in pretty much any form that he chooses to dispense himself, as I've long thought of him as an artist of impeccable taste and ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Jazz, 2 May 2008
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
Guitarist Pat Metheny hardly needs any introduction. Though primarily a jazz musician, his music encompasses diverse genres, including, avant-garde music (with Steve Reich and Derek Bailey), world music, folk, and country. Day Trip is firmly in the jazz camp, being rooted in modern mainstream jazz and post-bop. With the exception of the somewhat schmaltzy track `Is this America?' all compositions are straight-ahead jazz workouts in trio format (guitar, bass, and drums). Metheny's pleasantly warm and melodic guitar sound recalls Wes Montgomery (Wes' influence seems to have become stronger over the years), but, in terms of its sheer virtuosity, is in a league of its own. This is the jazziest Metheny I have heard in a while. Compared to the sometimes bombastic sound of the Pat Metheny Group (as well as the Metheny-Mehldau recordings) the trio is a compact, bare-knuckle vehicle for Metheny's compositions. No gimmicks or sound effects, just pure jazz. Stripped down to the bare essentials of groove and improvisation, Day Trip is a masterly lesson in contemporary mainstream jazz thanks to drummer Anthony Sanchez and bassist Christian McBride. Sanchez is a polyrhythmic monster whose powerful drumming pushes Metheny's improvisations, while McBride's flexible bass lines and fat tone add give the trio a nice bottom sound. The mix on the record is very good, too. Especially Sanchez's excellent drum work is clearly audible. This is recommended listening for fans of modern post bop as well as the usual jazz guitar buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Major release, 5 Feb. 2008
By 
M. Bamford (stamford, lincs, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
With all due respect to the superb Metheny-Mehldau recordings, this has to be the most significant Metheny release since The Way Up.

It's the most mellifluous, colourful, catchy and accessible of his trio recordings, so definitely a required purchase for all fans. Think of the track "Three Flights Up" from "Question and Answer" and you get the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A side of sheer quality..., 30 Jan. 2008
By 
L. White "Musician and PMG fan" (St. Albans, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
I'm going to continue to listen to this disc every day for the coming weeks, and will continue to discover more and more wonderful hidden depths..

For now let me say that it is, without doubt, an excellent album.

The tunes are varied and colourful, with some absolutely brilliant playing from all three musicians (Pat, Chris McBride, Antonio Sanchez), and as with all of Pat's (and esp. Nonesuch) it is just BEAUTIFULLY recorded. I never cease to be amazed at how good these records Pat makes sound on my hi-fi. All the nuanced subtleties of this truly immense trio are displayed in glorious detail. The production is so transparent, and the different guitar sounds are so lush to the ears. The drums sound just great (a lot to do with A.S.'s playing, I know!), and the bass purrs throughout. Brilliant.

Perhaps I'll come and write another review in a few weeks that says more about the tracks!... but for now, I'll turn it up and carry on getting lost in the music.

Great stuff. Hope I get to see them play live soon...

L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 7 Mar. 2008
By 
J. Wilks (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
Coming from someone who is not a huge Pat Metheny fan, this album is absolutely great. I love the space that each player occupies in this 3 piece group. Well worth the purchase as it has rarely left my CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 14 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
Is everyone easily pleased ?
This is just another boring album , his recent music is sounding so dull & predictable,
i have been a great fan of pat metheny in the past, he produced some beautifull & imaginitve music in the past, STILL LIFE TALKING being one of the best,he's a great musician but has become to self indulgent, he should get back with Lyle mays & the rest of the band & stop producing this lifeless test card music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
Andy (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
Agree with L. White. The more I play it, the better it gets - shear excellence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
All it's good as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
R. Thacker (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
All good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Metheny, we wait for better days!, 16 July 2008
This review is from: Day Trip (Audio CD)
This album, like pretty much all his output since the early nineties, lacks that crucial element of experimentation and risk-taking. There's no doubt about Pat's talent but really I'm suprised that he is so stuck creatively. Dont start into his music with this album. I've followed his career since 1985 and was so impressed with 'Still Life' and 'Letter from Home'. This led me to his back catalogue and there are some amazing albums like 'First circle' and 'Watercolors'. Lyle Mays has been a great backup and solos just as inventively. Time moves on but sadly, middle age has made Metheny just too comfortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Day Trip
Day Trip by Pat Metheny (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews