Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2007
Never has a film been so critically applauded (it was nominated for several Oscars, including Best Actor Paul Newman), so criminally neglected or so in need of Region 2 release!

Having read Richard Russo's giant of a novel, I rushed to see this film when it opened in the cinema and was not disappointed. This gentle tale of small town America is a joy to behold. The quiet simplicity of its characterisation rings true on every level, the beautifully bleak landscape of the town providing the perfect backdrop for the hopes and fears, joys and sorrows of its citizens. Paul Newman is perfect as Sully, the part-time worker, part-time father central to the story. The supporting cast are no less impressive, particularly Jessica Tandy, but even Bruce Willis shines in a straight, non-action role!

I would snap up the DVD today if it were only available in Region 2 PAL format! Paramount, I hope you're reading and taking note!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2005
This is one of my favorite films of all time, and I only regret that it is not available in Region 2 encoding. It is a slow, lovely film about a small New York town miles from anywhere exciting. The people in the town have relationships that don't go so far as scandal (most of the time) but are complex and heart-breaking nonetheless. Small-town New York is the perfect setting for the interwoven dreams, old grudges, and reunions they share. This a movie for people who find ordinary life sad, rhythmic, and beautiful. The entire cast gives remarkable performances. Have patience. This is a gem.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
Nobody's Fool is one of my favourite movies, so I am biased. It's not such a well known film, and this is a little puzzling, because it is great from start to finish. Paul Newman is just superb, backed by a wonderful emsemble cast including Jessica Tandy, Bruce Willis and Melanie Griffith. The setting, the small town of North Bath, in upstate New York, hovers somewhere between reality and Bedford Falls (It's a Wonderful Life.) There is no such place, and yet everything seems very real.

The film is ultimately about fatherhood and the discovery by the onery Sully (Newman) that if he wasn't a father to his son, that he is now someone'e grandfather. Around this there are all kinds of side plots involving stolen ride on mowers, a doped guard dog, and an unlikely love interest. Newman as Sully, in one of his best later roles, almost walks away with it, but the supporting cast are all excellent. North Bath feels like a living breathing place, populated by believable characters. The film is from a novel which may explain the feeling of richness. It is also very funny as well.

The currently available Region 2 DVD edition seems to come only from the Netherlands. The movie plays is English and it is simple to switch off the Dutch subtitles.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Lovely old film I had not seen in ages. Paul Newman plays a 60'something man named Sully, who ran out on his family when his son was a baby. He lives in the town where his ex wife lives, but they travel in different circles. We meet his son now grown with a family of his own. He and his wife are going through difficult times, as they arrive at his ex-wife's home for Thanksgiving.

Sully does odd jobs here and there, he hurt his knee while doing a job for Bruce Willis's character, Carl Roebuck. Melanie Griffith plays the wife and Sully has a big crush on her. Jessica Tandy plays Sully's homeowner, he rents a room in her home and Sully has become a son of sorts. Phillip Seymour Hoffman plays a young, naive policemen always after Sully for one thing or another. Margo Martindale plays the bar owner of Sully's choice. Fun to see these actors as young characters.

Sully tries to establish a relationship with us son via his grandson, and you can see regret and guilt in his eyes and voice. Sully is liked by everyone, good to his best friend, a young disabled man. Sully has an off and on gamesmanship with the character, Carl Roebuck, played by Brice Willis. All of these characters are ones you would see and meet in a small town. Most of them doing the best they can, and scraping along. Paul Newman is a strong character and this role shows off his talents. Filmed in 1995, it is the quintessential film of it's times. It is good to go home again. excellent film.

Recommended. prisrob 05-07-15
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2007
This is one of my favourite films! It's very slow-paced, but has a lot to say about life. Set in a small town in upstate NY, every character is in conflict with the others, but absolutely reliant on them as well. It's a film about families, disappointments, and deciding in the end to be brave. Beautiful!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
This is an absolutely excellent film, gentle and enjoyable. Great performances all round.

One for the collection of any film fan. wish there were more like it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2007
The bittersweet mainstream American movie of the 1990's.Paul Newman in possibly his greatest performance plays Donald "Sully" Sullivan a man whose life has been one long history of failure- divorced,estranged from his only son, an odd job man with a dodgy knee whose only friends are a selection of oddballs who all live in the depressing town of Bath in upstate New York.
However in the hands of director Robert Benton with a script from Richard Russo(who adapted his novel of the same name)this is more upbeat than down with a stellar cast that includes an excellent Bruce Willis as Newman's archrival in business and Melanie Griffth who has a moment with Newman that makes the film worthwhile almost on it's own.
From the ashes of broken relationships and directionless lives comes a film of beauty,quiet grace and exquisite charm.Highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 January 2012
This film wouldn't be nearly as successful without the wondrous
understated performance by Newman.

He plays Sully, a small town man who has long since lost his family due
to his drinking, and who never amounted to much in life, but still has
a sharp sense of humor, life, sexuality, and even rage burning in
himself at age 60.

It's also a genial slice of small town life, related to Benton's
'Places in the Heart', but less treacly, and with a less Hollywood
spin. The characters (a terrific supporting cast including Jessica
Tandy, and both Bruce Willis and Melanie Griffith doing some of the
best work they've ever done) are off-beat, without it feeling like
writer/director Benton was sweating hard to create 'quirky'.

Nothing all that much happens in the film, yet people grow and change,
just like in real life.

Not quite a great film, but it still captures a sweet, almost Caprasque
Americana, without becoming cloying. The movie, like Newman, never
pushes hard, and that goes a long way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2009
I have been trying for ages to get a PAL version of Nobody's Fool, one of my favourite films of all time. It didn't make a big splash when it was released despite good reviews; don't uderstand why. It's a slice of small town America that may well have disappeared now - I don't know. If I was being hyper critical then the relationship bewteen Griffiths and Newman doesn't quite work but then they fail in the end so perhaps they both know. I am going to watch it again and see if that's the case. But anyway, I urge you to buy it and wait for an evening when you want to settle down and watch great characters meander through a wonderful film - you will NOT be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Amazing this item came all the way from the Czech Rep, quicker than some of my orders from British Companies. I bought this for my parents as my mum has wanted this for years and it is quite hard to find. I was worried that it might not be English speaking, but please be reassured it is and you get a very handy little printout explaining very clearly how to change from Czech to English and how to remove the subtitles. Very pleased and the item arrived 9 days early. I haven't watched the film but my parents have said it is clear and of good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)