Customer Reviews


380 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (75)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larva Lamp
Great product for the money. Would definitely recommend it. Delivery was good, and it's quite abit bigger than I thought it would be. Very pleased. Thank you
Published 17 months ago by Sharon Harby

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses.
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow...
Published 6 months ago by Home- schooler


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow.

The purple liquid glows a purply red with the bubbles at the bottom glowing deep yellow through to a burnt reddy orange on rising. The bubbles in my photo look more orange when they are actually much more red than this.

It took about 1 1/2 hours from cold to start gaining movement, but was bubbling well in about 2 hours, but it really does depend on the ambient room temperature and if it has been in use hours before. On first use there appears to be no issues with my new 'lavalite' lamp and it is just what I was looking for.

Don't worry if the liquid sits short of the top cap level at first, this soon disappears as the liquid heats up and expands. WARNING! The lamp does become very hot so I advise caution with young children.

Update: However, after only a few uses the wax refused to bubble, no matter how long it was given to heat up. My daughter had to return 2 faulty Lavalite lamps to another seller before she got one that worked; one faulty lamp gave off a worrying electrical crackle and so was immediately returned, the other stopped bubbling after only a few uses, so I suppose it's a case of finding one that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larva Lamp, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product for the money. Would definitely recommend it. Delivery was good, and it's quite abit bigger than I thought it would be. Very pleased. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I loved this coloured lamp and I am gutted this happened, 10 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I have had 3 of these same lamps since November '14. First, wax wouldn't melt after 2 weeks. Second, the purple faded to almost nothing after four weeks. The third, the purple lasted almost eight weeks!! I loved this coloured lamp and I am gutted this happened. I could not risk another of the same. Got another replacement, clear with black wax...I hate this new one but I hate more the fact that there was never an explanation as to why this specific one is a failure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't go near this!, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this for my son recently. Within only a few weeks it has stopped working and has become dangerous, just heating up until it becomes really hot to touch. Very very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars do not buy, 21 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
it worked fine for about a month, then it lost its colour, disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
very disappointed. Bought this as a present for my grandchild and has stopped working after 2weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Liquid lost all colour, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
The purple liquid has lost all it's colour after just a few weeks leaving the yellow wax sitting in clear water. If only I kept the packaging so I could return it. Poor quality product, avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars item exploded! ruined carpet!, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the lava lamp exploded on first use, looked amazing at first then unexpectingly exploded and ruined our carpet, now needs replacing... havn't received response from seller via e-mail... don't waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful effect. Apart from centring the bulb fitting in ..., 13 April 2015
By 
John S (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
Beautiful effect. Apart from centring the bulb fitting in the lamp base with some gentle pulling and tiny specks on the glass which appear white (only visible very close up and haven't altered the overall colours produced in any way), a nicely finished item. Stable base with light bulb included. Very pleased with my purchase, after reading some others' more negative reviews though I do hope it lasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where did the colours go?, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
First one arrived with a broken bulb and a dented base. But, hey, that sort of thing happens occasionally and Amazon's returns system makes that a very minor inconvenience.

Second one was OK, but after a couple of months of use, the colours faded so it's now pale yellow blobs going up and down in a pale yellow liquid. Not so interesting, somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews