Customer Reviews


399 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (83)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larva Lamp
Great product for the money. Would definitely recommend it. Delivery was good, and it's quite abit bigger than I thought it would be. Very pleased. Thank you
Published 18 months ago by Sharon Harby

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses.
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow...
Published 7 months ago by Home- schooler


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow.

The purple liquid glows a purply red with the bubbles at the bottom glowing deep yellow through to a burnt reddy orange on rising. The bubbles in my photo look more orange when they are actually much more red than this.

It took about 1 1/2 hours from cold to start gaining movement, but was bubbling well in about 2 hours, but it really does depend on the ambient room temperature and if it has been in use hours before. On first use there appears to be no issues with my new 'lavalite' lamp and it is just what I was looking for.

Don't worry if the liquid sits short of the top cap level at first, this soon disappears as the liquid heats up and expands. WARNING! The lamp does become very hot so I advise caution with young children.

Update: However, after only a few uses the wax refused to bubble, no matter how long it was given to heat up. My daughter had to return 2 faulty Lavalite lamps to another seller before she got one that worked; one faulty lamp gave off a worrying electrical crackle and so was immediately returned, the other stopped bubbling after only a few uses, so I suppose it's a case of finding one that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larva Lamp, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product for the money. Would definitely recommend it. Delivery was good, and it's quite abit bigger than I thought it would be. Very pleased. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I loved this coloured lamp and I am gutted this happened, 10 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I have had 3 of these same lamps since November '14. First, wax wouldn't melt after 2 weeks. Second, the purple faded to almost nothing after four weeks. The third, the purple lasted almost eight weeks!! I loved this coloured lamp and I am gutted this happened. I could not risk another of the same. Got another replacement, clear with black wax...I hate this new one but I hate more the fact that there was never an explanation as to why this specific one is a failure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't go near this!, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this for my son recently. Within only a few weeks it has stopped working and has become dangerous, just heating up until it becomes really hot to touch. Very very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars do not buy, 21 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
it worked fine for about a month, then it lost its colour, disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
very disappointed. Bought this as a present for my grandchild and has stopped working after 2weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Liquid lost all colour, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
The purple liquid has lost all it's colour after just a few weeks leaving the yellow wax sitting in clear water. If only I kept the packaging so I could return it. Poor quality product, avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Colour gone after 3 weeks, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
All the colour has disappeared after 3 weeks. It's useless and waiting to see if amazon are going to refund me.
Caution
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY DISAPOINTED, 21 Dec. 2014
By 
Jordan (Newcastle Under Lyme) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
The lava lamp looks really good and can't wait to use it however the bulb was broke when it arrived, I tried to contact the seller about a replacement one but have had no reply and from the looks of other peoples reviews it'll only work for about 2 days when i do eventually get a new bulb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It starts looking good, and obviously at great price, 31 Mar. 2015
By 
Jeremy Christey "J-109er" (South Coast uK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
It starts looking good, and obviously at great price. Fades out to yellow after about 8 weeks.

I ordered a second one as I was so pleased INITIALLY with the first, the second one followed the first almost in sequence on after another.

Do not buy this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews