Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larva Lamp
Great product for the money. Would definitely recommend it. Delivery was good, and it's quite abit bigger than I thought it would be. Very pleased. Thank you
Published 13 months ago by Sharon Harby

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses.
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow...
Published 2 months ago by Home- schooler


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses., 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow.

The purple liquid glows a purply red with the bubbles at the bottom glowing deep yellow through to a burnt reddy orange on rising. The bubbles in my photo look more orange when they are actually much more red than this.

It took about 1 1/2 hours from cold to start gaining movement, but was bubbling well in about 2 hours, but it really does depend on the ambient room temperature and if it has been in use hours before. On first use there appears to be no issues with my new 'lavalite' lamp and it is just what I was looking for.

Don't worry if the liquid sits short of the top cap level at first, this soon disappears as the liquid heats up and expands. WARNING! The lamp does become very hot so I advise caution with young children.

Update: However, after only a few uses the wax refused to bubble, no matter how long it was given to heat up. My daughter had to return 2 faulty Lavalite lamps to another seller before she got one that worked; one faulty lamp gave off a worrying electrical crackle and so was immediately returned, the other stopped bubbling after only a few uses, so I suppose it's a case of finding one that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larva Lamp, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product for the money. Would definitely recommend it. Delivery was good, and it's quite abit bigger than I thought it would be. Very pleased. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very relaxing, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
Lovely item. Looks well-made and stylish and radiates a warm glow. It took about 2 hours to "get going" but this may have been due to the fact that the gel was standing upright instead of sitting at the bottom of the glass and may, therefore, have taken longer to liquify. My advice is to make sure that the gel is lying flat at the bottom before you switch it on. The blobs and movements seem to get better the longer you have it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab light for a Great Price !, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
This arrived today, 1 day before the estimated delivery day, so super fast and very well packaged.

I got the wax to sit evenly on the bottom so the metal coil heated properly then plugged it in after fitting the bulb.
It has taken about 1hr 45mins to really get bubbling, but produced some interesting shapes before that.

The wax colours are similar to the photo, so the bottom wax (closest to the light) is yellowy/orange going up to a beautiful deep pinky/red as it floats to the top.
The water is a lovely violet/pinky-purple colour, so not as stark purple as the photo, but in my opinion much prettier and more subtle.

Overall I love this lamp, It's a good size and looks fabulous. Gives off an ambiant light, and I have mine standing by a mirror so I get double the effect.

I would highly recommend this lamp for this great price.
Happy Christmas to me... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hubbly bubbly, 7 Nov 2014
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I was a bit worried to begin with as I noticed the wire coil that should be at the bottom to heat the lava was perched at the side of the lamp. It did take 2 days at approx 5 hours to get it in position but now it works well so long as you give it about 2 hours to warm up properly in the meantime you can enjoy the sculptures that the lava makes before it bubbles. ( faces, moon, animals ) Yes it helps to have imagination. I would call it more red than purple when alight only when it is off I would say purple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
Exactly how it looked on the website and was delivered quickly. It woks well and I would recommend the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the lamp when it worked, 22 Nov 2014
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I love the lamp got it as a present but disappointingly after a short period of time the wax just lay as a blob at the bottom, the first one was replaced very promptly but the second one has gone the same way and will be getting sent back as well. Maybe third time lucky!!!!! Can't fault the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this for an Christmas present for my daughter she loves it , it came when they said it would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice lava lamp at a good price, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this as a present for someone who's wanted a lava lamp for ages, and they were very happy with it. It's a great product for the price. Only downside is that it takes quite a while to heat up enough that the wax starts flowing in the signature lava lamp style. Almost two hours I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars item exploded! ruined carpet!, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the lava lamp exploded on first use, looked amazing at first then unexpectingly exploded and ruined our carpet, now needs replacing... havn't received response from seller via e-mail... don't waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews