Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larva Lamp
Great product for the money. Would definitely recommend it. Delivery was good, and it's quite abit bigger than I thought it would be. Very pleased. Thank you
Published 14 months ago by Sharon Harby

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses.
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow...
Published 3 months ago by Home- schooler


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the colouring as it gives off a warm glow - Didn't love the fact that it stopped working after only a few uses., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I wanted a lava lamp that gave off a warm glow and this one certainly does. Amazon's website describes this as purple/yellow and on arrival when cold, it is visibly a yellow wax in purple liquid. However, reviewers had described it as purple/orange which is what I was looking for and once warmed up this lava lamp definitely gives off more of a warm red glow.

The purple liquid glows a purply red with the bubbles at the bottom glowing deep yellow through to a burnt reddy orange on rising. The bubbles in my photo look more orange when they are actually much more red than this.

It took about 1 1/2 hours from cold to start gaining movement, but was bubbling well in about 2 hours, but it really does depend on the ambient room temperature and if it has been in use hours before. On first use there appears to be no issues with my new 'lavalite' lamp and it is just what I was looking for.

Don't worry if the liquid sits short of the top cap level at first, this soon disappears as the liquid heats up and expands. WARNING! The lamp does become very hot so I advise caution with young children.

Update: However, after only a few uses the wax refused to bubble, no matter how long it was given to heat up. My daughter had to return 2 faulty Lavalite lamps to another seller before she got one that worked; one faulty lamp gave off a worrying electrical crackle and so was immediately returned, the other stopped bubbling after only a few uses, so I suppose it's a case of finding one that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larva Lamp, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product for the money. Would definitely recommend it. Delivery was good, and it's quite abit bigger than I thought it would be. Very pleased. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very relaxing, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
Lovely item. Looks well-made and stylish and radiates a warm glow. It took about 2 hours to "get going" but this may have been due to the fact that the gel was standing upright instead of sitting at the bottom of the glass and may, therefore, have taken longer to liquify. My advice is to make sure that the gel is lying flat at the bottom before you switch it on. The blobs and movements seem to get better the longer you have it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lasted less than a month, just turned into a ..., 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lasted less than a month, just turned into a blob on the bottom then the bulb blew. don't buy its rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Turned it on xmas day bulb blew straight away had ..., 25 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
Turned it on xmas day bulb blew straight away had to wait till shops open will try new bulb on boxingday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working, 29 Nov. 2014
By 
LEH "LEH" (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worked great for a week or two, then like others have said it stopped working and sits as a single blob at the bottom. Has anyone had a reply from the seller or found a solution? Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
Exactly how it looked on the website and was delivered quickly. It woks well and I would recommend the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars item exploded! ruined carpet!, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the lava lamp exploded on first use, looked amazing at first then unexpectingly exploded and ruined our carpet, now needs replacing... havn't received response from seller via e-mail... don't waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the lamp when it worked, 22 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I love the lamp got it as a present but disappointingly after a short period of time the wax just lay as a blob at the bottom, the first one was replaced very promptly but the second one has gone the same way and will be getting sent back as well. Maybe third time lucky!!!!! Can't fault the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lava Lamp Classic Lava Lamp, 14.5-inch, Purple/ Yellow (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this for an Christmas present for my daughter she loves it , it came when they said it would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews