Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2002
For those who, like me, came to Joni Mitchell's music too late to have much chance to see her perform live, this DVD is like manna from Heaven. Here's an opportunity to see her perform a selection of songs from a wide range of her output, from Ladies of the Canyon to Taming the Tiger. It's all good (with the possible exception of "Why do fools fall in love" - I hated it on Shadows and Light, too!), but if I had to choose, I'd name particularly moving renditions of "Hejira" and "The Magdalene Laundries" as my favourites. Joni's voice may have lost some power and range over the years, but her words, music and performance have lost none of their ability to move and inspire.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
A cool collection of 19 very nice songs with a small but very heavy setup. Her ex-husband Larry Klein on the bass and Brian Blade on the drums among other stars. The concert is very exclusive. Around 200 people are sitting around Joni in some nice big couches. With this DVD you can sit in your own couch and get the lovely mrs. Mitchell for yourself. This DVD contains also a discography and a collection of Jonis fine paintings.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2000
This video is a treat for newcomers and Joni afficionados alike. The somewhat fawning introductory talk, is soon forgotten when, surrounded by her fans and her paintings, she travels from a solo "Big Yellow Taxi", via Billie Holiday's "Comes Love" back to Woodstock. Mitchell still manages to tug at the heartsrings with her words, and the much vaunted "smoky voice" towers over the band. Her version of "Harry's House", as well as being a showpiece for drummer Brian Blade is just stunning, the bittersweet look at "marriage in the modern world" still sounds as fresh as Summer Lawns. Whether, like me she won your heart decades ago, or if you just want to hear what she is about, buy this video.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I didn't know that this DVD existed until Mrs Wolf unearthed it and
bought it for me for Christmas. I'm a huge fan and have been so since
my early teens. Mme Mitchell's music has played a significant part in
the soundtrack to my life; 'Hejira' will ever be my all time favorite album.

This 1998 concert finds her in playful mood in front of a small (and very
lucky!) audience with a cracking four-piece band in tow (for whom especial
mentions must go to former hubby Larry Klein on mercurial bass guitar
and Brian Blade, impeccable as ever on percussion) surrounded by a
substantial collection of her paintings highlighting, perhaps echoing, the
lyrical and autobiographical content of the songs. It's a wondrous affair!

It's easy to forget, until one sees her play live, what an awesome guitarist
she is. Those extraordinary almost organic chord progressions which revolve
both within and around the timeless, ecstatic, unimpeachable melodies!
That voice too! It's still in damned fine shape here; a little lower in
timbre as is inevitable for a singer in the glowing late Autumn of her career
but with the ever-present capacity to draw us into her World and to find
ourselves reflected there ("I see something of myself in everyone...")

There is nothing at all not to love here but if I had to pick a few songs to
tell you about then the beautifully restrained performance of 'Night Ride
Home'(1991); the almost unbearably painful 'The Magdalene Laundries' (1994),
together with utterly sublime renditions of 'Amelia' and 'Hejira' (1976)
would have to be very close to the top of the list. An unforgettable evening!

You may already own it (if you love her) but for goodness sake buy it if you don't!

Essential.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
I'm a huge Joni fan, and somehow only just discovered this DVD exists - needless to say it was a pleasing find. Filmed in 1998, when Joni's voice had changed but not completely morphed; her range has dropped, but it's been replaced with beautiful feeling and emotion. The song choices are excellent; classics like Amelia and Hejira, and a couple of great covers including a jaunty version of Why Do Fools Fall In Love. She closes with a haunting rendition of Woodstock.

The venue is intimate and in the round, which adds to the atmosphere, and that her band sounds great comes as no surprise, as Joni always surrounded herself with great musicians to complement her genius. The arrangements are always well put together, and the only complaint is that the guitar sound remains the same throughout, which I can imagine some getting bored with. For lovers of Joni in the early 70's, she bears no resemblance here to that period; for better or worse, she has matured as a performer and as a woman, but she's lost none of her wonderful talent along the way.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Well I don't expect this review to be popular, because the other 3 already up are 100% positive!!! but this circa 1998 Joni Mitchell performance style is not for me.I am a great admirer of Joni's work from her debut album up to "for the Roses", and it's not so much the fact that joni's voice has"changed" that I dislike, it's the whole set_up.The venue is essentially a kind of tv studio, and the hand-picked audience are too overtly"enthusiastic". Joni's back-up band is top quality and includes virtuosi like Greg Leisz and Mark Isham, but there doesn't seem to be any "groove"to me.It's all rather lacklustre, and includes a cringeworthy presentation of a"trophy" from ex-lover Graham Nash and a lengthy story from Joni in which she "imitates"-very badly- an englishwoman's accent!!! Still it is very cheap and an interesting look at where Joni's "muse" was around 1998
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
As stated in the earlier review, this is the later Joni voice, the illnesses and the cigs have deepened the voice, but she is still a wonderful singer. It's great to see one of my favourite songwriters singing some of my most-loved songs, and she seems to be having great fun. The versions of the songs from Hejira has me in goosebumps, her quick impersonation of His Bobness had me laughing out loud. She was blatantly having a ball on Why do Fools Fall in Love, and I found the joy infectious.
Top class band behind her as you'd expect, I found the whole DVD a pleasure to watch.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I've listened to Joni for years, but never seen her perform. Never have I spent £5 more wisely.
No sign of the difficult diva here. She's relaxed, she's mellow, and she's performing many of her greatest songs fromthe 1970s and 80s. Wonderful!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Excellent sound quality, good picture, sublime music ( it is Joni after all) so just buy it. Can't believe how cheap this excellent record of her work was to purchase. A bargain for fans of this great talent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
This is a great collection of Joni's later music (plus Big Yellow Taxi) played live and with some interesting guests and audience interaction. Well worth owning if you like Joni Mitchell.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)