Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars15
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is one of those songs I'd heard a few times but didn't know who it was by and when I made the effort to find out, I was glad I did.

The sound is gloriously modern soul/jazz. What a voice, with real emotion driving it and emotive lyrics. I also loved the string instrument arrangement; it doesn't always work so well in such a commercial song, or should I say, songs with these instruments in them don't always get such commercial success, but anything less for this song would be a travesty. This song is absolutely beautiful and one you'll recognise the minute you hear it. An instant classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2007
I've just heard Adele on the Jonathan Ross show. This is a beautiful song, very original and Adele's got such an emotive voice. I can't wait for the album.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 March 2008
Barcode: 0634904032128

Early 2008 - you couldn't go anywhere without hearing this song. It was all over the radio and provided a fantastic showcase for Adele and her amazing voice. With insightful lyrics coupled with a brilliant video, Chasing Pavements isn't just a great pop song, but one that easily stands out from the crowd as something special.

The production quality is great, the string section in particular on the chorus is stunning as Adele sings 'would it be a waste even if i knew my place?'. The song is just so uplifting and classy, it'd perfect to brighten up a morning and along with previous single Hometown Glory serves as a perfect introduction to her album.

You also get the stripped back B-side - a cover of Sam Cooke's 'That's It, I Quit, I'm Moving On' - on here.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2008
Adele has one of those voices that music needs at the moment, a welcome escape from all those perfumed pop singers that get churned out and forgotten about.
This song, while the lyrics sound contemporary, the sound is like a step back in time to when the singer's voice mattered at much as the appearance. None of "All style, no substance" that shows like X-factor promote.
Adele is a singer who makes you feel good about liking music.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Great. l simply love her voice. What more can l say.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2007
Meet Adele, a girl who mixes Lily Allen-type lyrics with an Amy Winehouse-like soul voice and you have a unique artist indeed which is shown indefinately on her debut single, Chasing Pavements.

This is an excellant song and Adele sings it so well and shes even excellant live too (Jonathan Ross show).

A definate star in 2008 so watch out for Adele.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
great buy and good quality mind you who can fault ADELE well pleased and would recommend to anyone wanting some great tunes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Chose this for my daughter, as she has always liked Adele.... She was thrilled. I was glad that she was happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2008
What an album, downloaded via i-tunes and haven't stopped listening yet. I'm loving the recent rush of british female talent and hope that Adele can keep her feet on the ground unlike the infamous "drink made from grapes, abode" who has masses of talent but needs to check herself. She combines a fantastic 70's soul voice with contemporary lyrics and doesn't produce any duff songs through the album. Definately an album either for background dining music or a long journey.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008
This single is amazing i cant turn it off and i cant wait until her album is released.All i can say is BUY BUY BUY!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.