Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing Pavements.
This is one of those songs I'd heard a few times but didn't know who it was by and when I made the effort to find out, I was glad I did.

The sound is gloriously modern soul/jazz. What a voice, with real emotion driving it and emotive lyrics. I also loved the string instrument arrangement; it doesn't always work so well in such a commercial song, or should I...
Published on 25 Dec 2008 by Flickering Ember

versus
3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awful!
I really don't understand what the fuss is about with 'Chasing Pavements'. When there are female singers like Amy Winehouse, KT Tunstall, Shirley Manson and Dolores O'Riordan around we don't need a mediocre tune. We need something from them, and if not them, someone with a good strong and a voice with some personality.
This is the thing. It's a pretty average song;...
Published on 20 Mar 2008 by Nina Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing Pavements., 25 Dec 2008
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
This is one of those songs I'd heard a few times but didn't know who it was by and when I made the effort to find out, I was glad I did.

The sound is gloriously modern soul/jazz. What a voice, with real emotion driving it and emotive lyrics. I also loved the string instrument arrangement; it doesn't always work so well in such a commercial song, or should I say, songs with these instruments in them don't always get such commercial success, but anything less for this song would be a travesty. This song is absolutely beautiful and one you'll recognise the minute you hear it. An instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful song , great voice!, 10 Dec 2007
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
I've just heard Adele on the Jonathan Ross show. This is a beautiful song, very original and Adele's got such an emotive voice. I can't wait for the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega successful single from Adele's debut number 1 album, 16 Mar 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
Barcode: 0634904032128

Early 2008 - you couldn't go anywhere without hearing this song. It was all over the radio and provided a fantastic showcase for Adele and her amazing voice. With insightful lyrics coupled with a brilliant video, Chasing Pavements isn't just a great pop song, but one that easily stands out from the crowd as something special.

The production quality is great, the string section in particular on the chorus is stunning as Adele sings 'would it be a waste even if i knew my place?'. The song is just so uplifting and classy, it'd perfect to brighten up a morning and along with previous single Hometown Glory serves as a perfect introduction to her album.

You also get the stripped back B-side - a cover of Sam Cooke's 'That's It, I Quit, I'm Moving On' - on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
great buy and good quality mind you who can fault ADELE well pleased and would recommend to anyone wanting some great tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing Pavements, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
Chose this for my daughter, as she has always liked Adele.... She was thrilled. I was glad that she was happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars [] Chasing Pavements, 17 Dec 2007
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
Meet Adele, a girl who mixes Lily Allen-type lyrics with an Amy Winehouse-like soul voice and you have a unique artist indeed which is shown indefinately on her debut single, Chasing Pavements.

This is an excellant song and Adele sings it so well and shes even excellant live too (Jonathan Ross show).

A definate star in 2008 so watch out for Adele.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like honey on marshmallows, 21 Feb 2008
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
Adele has one of those voices that music needs at the moment, a welcome escape from all those perfumed pop singers that get churned out and forgotten about.
This song, while the lyrics sound contemporary, the sound is like a step back in time to when the singer's voice mattered at much as the appearance. None of "All style, no substance" that shows like X-factor promote.
Adele is a singer who makes you feel good about liking music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic voice, and great lyrical content, 29 Jan 2008
By 
G. O'Donnell (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
What an album, downloaded via i-tunes and haven't stopped listening yet. I'm loving the recent rush of british female talent and hope that Adele can keep her feet on the ground unlike the infamous "drink made from grapes, abode" who has masses of talent but needs to check herself. She combines a fantastic 70's soul voice with contemporary lyrics and doesn't produce any duff songs through the album. Definately an album either for background dining music or a long journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and New, 3 Jan 2008
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
This single is amazing i cant turn it off and i cant wait until her album is released.All i can say is BUY BUY BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Voice., 2 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Chasing Pavements (Audio CD)
Another brilliant London based singer comes our way and she's only 19. Adele's amazing vocals complement this track perfectly, reminiscent of Dusty Springfield and Amy Winehouse.

Adele is definitely going places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chasing Pavements [7" VINYL]
Chasing Pavements [7" VINYL] by Adele (Vinyl - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews