Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Country, Blues And A Lot More
It seems an unlikely pairing, the Black Country Plant and the Queen of Bluegrass, but hey, Mark Knopfler and Emmylou Harris, Loretta Lynn and Jack White, so what's new? Throughout his almost 40 year career, Plant has been a restless spirit and this album is a celebration of his diversity.

It is difficult to categorise this album which is an eclectic mix of...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by Angel Delta

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected but worth listening to
I listened to this CD without any ideas of the musical styles that would be used. It was only through having heard solo songs composed by Robert Plant some years earlier (think "Big Log") that I wanted to listen to 'Raising Sand' to see what all the hype was about. When I heard the first few bars of each song I thought 'how the hell is this going to develop?' and then it...
Published on 18 Jan 2008 by Lesley_Redd


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Country, Blues And A Lot More, 29 Oct 2007
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
It seems an unlikely pairing, the Black Country Plant and the Queen of Bluegrass, but hey, Mark Knopfler and Emmylou Harris, Loretta Lynn and Jack White, so what's new? Throughout his almost 40 year career, Plant has been a restless spirit and this album is a celebration of his diversity.

It is difficult to categorise this album which is an eclectic mix of delta blues, acoustic blues, alternative country and even folk rock, but somehow producer T Bone Burnett makes it work. He has taken the pair through a selection of thirteen well chosen songs and there isn't an ounce of filler on the album. Burnett has given it a warm, appealing sound and the voices of Plant and Krauss blend effortlessly together on such tracks as Killing The Blues and Stick With Me Baby. The latter sounds almost like the Everly Brothers with a chiming guitar propelling the melody.

There are two Gene Clark songs, Polly Come Home and Through The Morning, Through The Night and are given fine, haunting, interpretations that Clark himself would have been proud of. Plant gets to rock a little on his driving take of the Everly's Gone, Gone, Gone, which sounds nothing like the original!

The Plant/Page collaboration Please Read The Letter translates readily into a country styling whilst Nothin', sounds like late Zeppelin with Krauss's fiddle soaring above the electric distortion. But, for me, the finest moment on the album is Sister Rosetta with Krauss's gypsy fiddle and haunting vocal making this song a restrained, but compelling masterpiece.

If you are a fan of Krauss's fiddle, you might be disappointed to find that she only gets to play it on two tracks, but there is much to compensate with her mature and intelligent interpretations. Plant fans too, will not be disappointed in this latest chapter of his voyage of discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planted in bluegrass: the Krauss collaboration gives birth to something special, 3 July 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Raising Sand (Audio CD)
There seems little point in repeating the praise heaped on these landmark recordings already in so many excellent reviews. When I first heard "Raising Sand" in 2007 it was obviously destined not for musical obscurity but for some kind of greatness, and since then I've listened to these songs hundreds of times in the morning, the evening, on lazy summer afternoons and driving through the mountains of Andalusia in an open-topped sports car. It's one of those rare occasions when dedicated professionalism, inspired musicians with a love for the material and first-rate production know-how come together to create something remarkable and hard to categorise.

Robert Plant has always had a deep interest in, and understanding of, the many strands of traditional American folk music. Anyone familiar with his back catalogue over the past 40 years will see evidence of this interest and of his ability to interpret traditional styles like slow blues, R&B and folk-country in new ways. Just listen to "Babe I'm gonna leave you" from Led Zeppelin's first album in 1969 - it goes back that far.

Alison Krauss has spent a career playing bluegrass - she's a great fiddle player too - and in Plant has found what seems to be her perfect musical match. This superficially improbable collaboration has given birth to something truly wonderful. Plant's voice turns out to be perfect for bluegrass and brings a depth of feeling - yet with a light touch - to complement Krauss's serene and beautiful singing in harmonies of such richness and serenity they raise the bar in the same way Simon & Garfunkel did way back in the 1970s (though the analogy is confined to the quality of the harmonies and goes no further). The care and respect they have for the material is obvious in the quality of the resultant product. The album cover carries a MOJO quote: "The musical relationship between Krauss and Plant is so gentle, attentive and respectfully intimate it feels more like a courtship dance" - perfect summary.

It's a great, great album, and something of a benchmark. If you've never heard it, you should. You'll likely listen to it for years and years, and love it more every time - like the rest of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar Collaboration - A Must Buy!, 27 Oct 2007
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
First of all, this is a truly great collection of songs. The arrangements are all superb, delivering an irresistible blend of country and rock. I love the musicianship on this album and the combination of these stellar voices works really well. Alison Krauss is a remarkable talent and Robert Plant shows that he still has the quality and dexterity to deliver magical vocal performances. We know we are in for something special from the very first track ('Rich Woman') which is a swampy stomp with a lovely reverb guitar reminiscent of Roy Orbison or Chris Isaak. The next track ('Killing the Blues') is a great country song and the vocal harmony is just to die for - superb! And it just keeps getting better. There is a lot to enjoy here and even if you're not really a fan of either artist, or are unsure about the collaboration, this album is definitely worth taking a chance on - it is unlikely to disappoint. This is quality country rock along the lines of some of the modern country music around today from the likes of Howe Gelb, Calexico or Iron & Wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb. Is this the way forward?, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Ben Bottle (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raising Sand (Audio CD)
I was initially quite hesitant about this album and ended up buying it out of curiosity. My curiosity is satisfied.
This may well be the future for Robert?
As much as I am - and always have been - a great Zep fan, I cannot see any future there. I do believe this may be the way forward for "old Planty".
His voice sits so well here; no screeching or wailing, no gutural roars, no real demands on his able but none-the-less ageing voice. Mostly gentle and/or easy-going with a few skippy numbers picking up the pace here and there.
BUT - this is also Ms Krauss who is surely a BIG influence on our hero. Her voice is silky and melifluous but doesn't lack strength.
This album surprised and pleased me. A meld of blues, bluegrass, country-rock and folk sauced with a bit of rockabilly.
This is Robert Plant - NOT Led Zeppelin and it is Ms Alison Krauss who will now (if there is any justice), get the credit she richly deserves.
Put it on, sit back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album Of The Year?, 22 Oct 2007
By 
S. J. Christie (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my favourite record of the year so far. A great selection of songs, most of which I had never heard before. The two voices work really well together and are enhanced by the excellent production. It may not appeal to hardcore Led Zep fans but is a must for anyone interested in Americana or atmospheric country music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Voices, 27 April 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Cole "Coleser" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raising Sand (Audio CD)
Raising Sand by Robert Plant and Alison Krauss is a special recording. Here is a collection of a baker's dozen haunting and atmospheric slices of Americana, enhanced by sparse production and exquisitely understated musicianship. The Plant fellow is on restrained form and the numbers benefit from his tender and thoughtful interpretations. Krauss possesses a beautiful voice, its clarity reminding me a little of - don't mock - sixties song thrush Mary Hopkin. Both voices complement each other splendidly and some of the harmonies are ethereal, subtle and rather magical. Not one note is wasted; every second is exceptional. A pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real surprise!, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have never been a fan of Robert Plant or Led Zeppelin and would not call myself a fan of Alision Krauss although I do like some of her music. I have always tended to find her vocals fairly bland. So when I was given this I thought it would be an unwanted present to give to someone else but decided in a moment of boredom to give it a listen. I am glad I did. I have now listened to it many times. It is a real surprise. The vocal combination works incredibly well and the production is first rate and very symathetic to the singers and the songs. The production itself is beautiful. The album as a whole is atmospheric, interesting and exciting. It is a mix of many musical styles but it is simply great music. Thoroughly enjoyable and one of the releases of 2007. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best CD I have bought for a while, 7 Mar 2008
By 
Carlile John Warren "Syngentian" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raising Sand (Audio CD)
I love it, since getting the CD it has been going in the car non stop. The combination of their voices and the different music styles make this a listening pleasure. I was not dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical treat for the ears!, 28 Oct 2007
By 
Thank you Amazon for delivering on the actual day of release and not making me wait a second longer!!

OK, firstly, don't expect to hear any Led Zeppelin influence on this album. Although Robert Plant does deign to give us a few
"Aaah Aaah Aaaaaaah's" - it's mainly a collection of country rock mixed with blues, rock and roll, acoustic rock, folk rock. . . you get the idea.

The first thing that comes across is how well the two voices go together. They harmonise so naturally, it's very hard to believe this is
their first collaboration together. It's like they've been singing together all their lives.

Plant's grainy tone and Krauss's 'pure' vocals merge together easily, and neither one of them overpowers the other.

I had no preconceptions about this album at all (having been disappointed by Page & Plant's "Walking Into Clarksdale") - so it was a really unexpected pleasure to hear just how good this is. There are some amazing songs here:

KILLING THE BLUES - SISTER ROSETTA GOES BEFORE US - PLEASE READ THE LETTER - THROUGH THE MORNING, THROUGH THE NIGHT
NOTHIN' - TRAMPLED ROSE - STICK WITH ME BABY.

Some are musically very moving, particularly Alison Krauss's rendition of 'SISTER ROSETTA'. From 2.00 until the end, the tango-style violin
and banjo is eerily haunting, and when Robert Plant joins in, the hairs literally stood up on my arms!

"PLEASE READ THE LETTER" is actually a cover from 'Walking Into Clarksdale', so Plant is covering himself :)) But this version is much better.
Krauss's vocals add a honeyed layer, making it sound more balanced, much sweeter than the original.

This is one of those albums that doesn't need to grow on you - it feels like an old friend as soon as you hear it.

You know the type of CD you have to play over and over again??? Well, this is one of them!

Buy it - your ears will be eternally grateful :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect indeed, 28 Oct 2007
By 
Dean Calculator (newport, gwent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
We all know Alison Krauss is a brilliant singer/songwriter,and the idea of her and Robert(wildman of rock) Plant performing together seems madness.
But how wrong can you be,this album is just beautiful,perfect in every way,i didnt want it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raising Sand
Raising Sand by Robert Plant (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews