Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable.
I suprisingly enjoyed this; i usually hate zombie "i am legend" type films, they prey on my mind too much, but this was fine. I thought the acting was superb, Jackson Bond is the best little actor i've seen in a movie aside from Dakota Fanning of course. Nicole Kidman once again portrayed her character perfectly and Daniel Craig; well 007 can't faulter really! Overall...
Published on 9 Mar 2008 by JG

versus
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dont fall asleep
I couldnt make up my mind whether i was watching this film because the beautiful and talented N. Kidman was in it or because i thought it was a decent thriller. I preferred 1978 bodysnatchers with Donald Sutherland, but thats not to say this movie is bad just a little rushed in places.

Yes, their is a lot of irony in that the alien virus which renders all...
Published on 28 Feb 2008 by stephen


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dont fall asleep, 28 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Invasion [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I couldnt make up my mind whether i was watching this film because the beautiful and talented N. Kidman was in it or because i thought it was a decent thriller. I preferred 1978 bodysnatchers with Donald Sutherland, but thats not to say this movie is bad just a little rushed in places.

Yes, their is a lot of irony in that the alien virus which renders all emotion obsolete is also seen as a good thing. No more war, people working together for the common good as a single entity. It raises some questions about the human being good and bad. But a world without people properly expressing themselves is a very dull one indeed. The ending is also slightly disappointing in that the 1978 version was darker and overall more depressing. Attempting to explain the appearance of the alien spores and how they work, also the possibility of a vaccine is all sandwiched in between Kidman running away from infected people. Scriptwriters obviously found they had a lot to squeeze into 90+ mins and found it a struggle.

Its a shame because the movie ratchets up the tension pretty well to keep the viewer engrossed, and the performances are solid. Kidman and Craig work well together, and every scene with Kidman on the run is when the movie works best. Kidman really is a good actress and can make you feel the desperation she is going through, but without her the movie would have been flat. But for gods sake its time hollywood started to come up with original ideas, endless remakes and remakes of remakes are proving tiresome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Invasion, Blu-Ray, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Invasion' is a modern take on `Invasion of the Body Snatchers' and sadly for me ended up being a huge disappointment. This is all the more so because I was on the edge of my seat and filled with the right amounts of tension the whole way through, only to be left aghast at the weak and `cop-out' ending that fizzled out without any impact. Following Nicole Kidman (who acts remarkably well in this film) and her family as they deal with the impact of an alien invasion that leaves the populations as hosts to the alien parasites, this film has excellent apocalyptic themes. You are nervous whenever she encounters an afflicted person and flinch every time she nearly gets infected and this never lets up for the duration. The story is well written and you are gripped the whole way through and then the end arrives and you are left angry and disappointed wondering what happened. At 90 minutes this isn't that long and they could have easily added an extra 15 minutes to tie things up more neatly. The effects are pretty good, everyone acts well and the direction is good as well. Overall this would get 4/5 stars for the first 80 minutes and then 1/2 for the last 10 minutes. Such a shame, but worth a look never the less.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Body Snatchers film that got taken over and turned into something else..., 24 Jan 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Invasion [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The Invasion is a classic example of what happens when interesting ideas go bad because the studio gets a severe case of buyer's remorse in post-production. Originally intended as a `cerebral' updating of Invasion of the Body Snatchers for a post-9/11 world, Oliver Hirschbiegel's film was actually shot before Daniel Craig was cast as Bond (he got the call on the set, which must have pissed off Jeremy Northam, who for years reportedly thought he had the part in the bag), which should tell you how long it was on the shelf while Warner Bros. and producer Joel Silver tried to work out how to turn it into something more obviously commercial after poor test screenings. Their solution was to bring in the Wachowskis and James McTeigue to turn it into an action movie, hence the CGI `infection effects,' the absurd chase at the end and, presumably, Jeffrey Wright's I-really-don't-want-to-be-here-and-can't-be-bothered-to-pretend-any-different final speech explaining it all away in a scene that practically screams `shot under protest.' They probably shouldn't have bothered: with the final cost ending up somewhere around the $80m mark they probably spent more on the reshoots than the film took worldwide.

Some nice ideas do still survive. Rather than pod people, the alien threat is to an intelligent virus reprogramming people's DNA, with the government spreading it via flu jabs. There's even a lengthy debate at an embassy party about human nature and whether civilisation is simply an illusion to convince ourselves that we have conquered our primal self-interested animal instincts, something that appears to be borne out as the world becomes a more peaceful place once that troublesome human element is removed, with even Bush and Chavez embracing while the war in Iraq suddenly ends (mind you, it's not such a great new world for dogs). Of course, many of the old ground rules still apply, with the only way to fool the infected is to avoid displaying any emotion, which might help explain Nicole Kidman's Botox. But unfortunately the new hands on the tiller are just too desperate to cut to the chase and around the half hour mark just when you're thinking this isn't so bad after all the film suddenly goes haywire with a flashback montage mostly made up of soundbites from scenes that, er, we haven't actually seen because they didn't make the final edit. Yet even then enough interesting elements shine through to keep you watching until the film abandons its concept almost altogether to turn the infected into an angry Molotov cocktail throwing mob of kill-crazy zombies going on the rampage en route to a happy ending that at least has a semblance of human imperfection even if it wraps everything up too neatly.

Aside from a quite terrible Jeremy Northam as the ex-husband and government official spreading the virus, the film is capably acted even though no one really excels. Kidman is fine in the lead, Craig seems stuck in young Terence Stamp mode as the boyfriend and it's amusing to see his Felix Leiter, Jeffrey Wright, in a thankless supporting role, while Veronica Cartwright's distraught abused wife offers a nice link to Philip Kaufman's superb 1978 version. Yet there's the constant feeling that the human element has been partially removed and replaced in the name of improvement long before the virus gets them. It's a shame that the original cut wasn't given a DVD release like Paul Schrader's shelved-and-reshot Exorcist prequel Dominion, but somehow that seems unlikely. It's entirely possible that Hirschbiegel's original cut fails in different ways, but it would still be interesting to have the chance to find out. After all, it's hard to get around the irony of a Body Snatchers film getting taken over and turned into something else...

DVD extras are limited to a trio of featurettes, but no deleted scenes nor any mention of the troubled production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 9 Mar 2008
By 
JG "jen" (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Invasion [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I suprisingly enjoyed this; i usually hate zombie "i am legend" type films, they prey on my mind too much, but this was fine. I thought the acting was superb, Jackson Bond is the best little actor i've seen in a movie aside from Dakota Fanning of course. Nicole Kidman once again portrayed her character perfectly and Daniel Craig; well 007 can't faulter really! Overall it's an easy watch, even though the ending got on my nerves a bit because it seemed to leave too many loose ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'The' Invasion?, 8 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: The Invasion [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
3rd remake of the original 1956 thriller Invasion of the BodySnatchers!
This is a slick looking movie, though an inconsistant story.
A poor script (In places) doesn't help! But Kidman gives a good central performance if a little on the cool side.
One has to ask; Why remake this then?
With only a novel new 'Take-over' sequence and a slightly more focused look at the aliens being more benign towards each other, than humans are to each other. There is just not enough here to recommend this version over ANY of the others!
Not a terrible film by any means, it just seems too ordinary for it's own good! A VERY AVERAGE MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Invasion of the Plot Snatchers, 24 May 2009
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Invasion [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film seems to feed off so many other films that one wonders what its creators saw as its reason for being made. It has a good business-like level of tension; who has "gone over", how can the heroine get out of this. It has nicely creepy scenes as the proportion of uninfected humans reduces and the streets get more orderly. But it lacks the sweaty bite of Body Snatchers and the ending (considering the dislocation that would have occurred) is unbelievable even given the genre. Watchable but not memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the reviews say, 7 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invasion [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
'The Invasion' is a much better take on the 'Invasion of the Body Snatchers' than it is given credit for. It was so maligned after its troubled production, that when I first saw this, I wasn't expecting much. Instead, I was treated to a very slick and well thought out science fiction thriller. The Body Snatcher movies have at their best, always made a comment about our society, and this does it rather nicely for our decade. Though the original 1956 version will always be my favourite, I actually think this is an improvement over the much touted 1978 version (Which does admittedly have some wonderful scenes, but overall I feel doesn't gel as well as the original or this updated version)

There are many who complain that it is a film of different styles, because of the switch in directors during production. Perhaps there is, but if you didn't know this specifically, you would simply think the director changed style with the story progression. I don't think it jars anywhere near as much as we're told it does.

It's not a perfect film, I would probably give it a 4 & 1/2, but since I can't, I've given it a 5. The HD version has an amazing picture, that really stands out. It's one of those films that if you're ever pondering the merits of HD over SD, pop this in, and you'll remember why you bothered with HD-DVD/Blu-Ray in the first place. The real shame is the lack of extras. There's a few that are better than nothing, but a substantially longer making-of and a decent commentary are sorely missing (And would have been very interesting, given the production problems).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull, dull, 11 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Invasion [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A tedious mess, this botched rehash of the classic story is limp and unconvincing. No where near the standard odf Don Siegel's original, or Philip Kaufmann's 70s remake, or Abel Ferrara's 90s incarnation. No dramatic tension, no suspense or sense of fear or dread, no characterisation (except the always impressive Jeremy Northam) and a horrible cop-out ending. All you have is an even more than usually useless Nicole Kidman running around and squealing, while Daniel Craig is wasted, stuck with a redundant boyfriend role, there simply to prove Nicole is hetero (like girlfriend roles in hackneyed cliched Hollywood pap).

Avoid unless you're looking for a cure for insomnia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Invasion, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Invasion [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Somewhat lacking in tension etc. The original Bodysnatchers circa 1950's did a better job of keeping the terror alive until the final reel (The original Bodysnatchers movie was a kind of homage to paranoia in relation to "Reds under the bed" fears in relation to communism) Poor in the excitement/drama dept. Must do better messrs Kidman/Craig!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric thriller, 2 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Invasion [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a good old-fashioned lights out huddled on the sofa creepy sci-fi thriller flick It seems like Hollywood stopped making these in the 70's or 80's, leaving sci-fi series like X-Files to fill in the gaps.

Craig and Kidman are perfectly cast and make a great team. The premise may not be original but it's still effective. It may be too scary for the kids but it's perfect for grown-ups who want to watch a scary movie on a Friday night.

Great looking sci-fi flick with some truly tense moments. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Invasion [DVD] [2007]
The Invasion [DVD] [2007] by Oliver Hirschbiegel (DVD - 2008)
2.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews