Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars usb charger
i love this product!

it has a lot of safety features (see the energizer website) and can charge just one rechargeable battery at a time (others usually need two). i like the fact that it's usb as well - you can connect it to the computer, but you can also connect it to an external usb power adaptor - i use it with apple's original power adaptor, similar to that...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by Edinburgh lad

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Software doesn't work/malware scare?
When I plugged in this device, the "found new hardware" wizard installed something on the disk, but there was no indication how to use it, no icon on systray or desktop and none in the windows start menu.

When I searched on the web about the software I found numerous sites stating that the software supplied contained a Trojan that gave a back door allowing the...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by Dr. I. Strachan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars usb charger, 4 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
i love this product!

it has a lot of safety features (see the energizer website) and can charge just one rechargeable battery at a time (others usually need two). i like the fact that it's usb as well - you can connect it to the computer, but you can also connect it to an external usb power adaptor - i use it with apple's original power adaptor, similar to that shipped with iphones.

the downsides are: 1) the cover connectors seem a bit flimsy, so i'm hoping they'll not break soon; and 2) the company that sells them on here was selling them on ebay half of the price advertised here. A bit unfair me thinks, but i suppose one is at the liberty of selling at the price they want (within reason, of course), and i should have checked the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Software doesn't work/malware scare?, 24 Mar 2010
By 
Dr. I. Strachan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
When I plugged in this device, the "found new hardware" wizard installed something on the disk, but there was no indication how to use it, no icon on systray or desktop and none in the windows start menu.

When I searched on the web about the software I found numerous sites stating that the software supplied contained a Trojan that gave a back door allowing the PC to be controlled remotely. According to one of the reports, Energizer have now removed the offending software from their website.

So I am at a loss as to whether anything has been installed. One of the atractive features of this product was a software app that could give you useful information e.g. how much time left to charge etc. Since this is not available, it is less attractive, and I'm left wondering what invisible changes it has made to my machine.

Has anyone else encountered this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Energizer USB Battery Charger, 3 July 2010
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
Ordered on the Thursday 1st July 2010
Shipped on the Thursday 1st July 2010
Received on the Saturday 3rd July

Brilliant service by the seller very fast delivery time. Now for the charger. It is a very neet and tidy little usb charger which I found works on just about anything with usb slots (It works on my laptop, xbox 360, blu ray player, etc)
As stated it charges in 2 - 5 hours but I thought some people might need a little more detail so heres the battery charging table in the manual.

AA Nimh 1300 - 2400 mah 2.8 - 5.2 hours
AA Nimh 2500 - 2650 mah 5.5 - 5.8 hours
AAA Numh 850 - 1000 mah 1.9 - 2.2 hours

I should probably state that the rechargeable batteries it comes with are 900 mah ones and in my case they even came fully charged yay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trjoan Scare, 12 Sep 2010
By 
Jan Janssen "JJ" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
As the previous reviewer wrote, the driver software for this charger has an embedded trojan virus.
The software is said to have been removed but it is not, so your windows will automatically download it including torjan if you plug it into your USB.
I was able to remove it after my security softward blinked up, but I am not comfortable with hardware that creates trojan scare.
Would strongly advise not to buy unless you are purely useing it to charge batteries from a USB power adaptor and not from your PC.

See link:[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A neat product, unfortunately too fiddly to score any higher, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
Although a USB charger is a good idea in principle, the regulators are so sensitive to small voltage changes that you come back to your batteries a few hours later only to find the LED flashing away indicating a problem charging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Charger is working withouth software, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
This charger is working without any software but I put only 2 stars because There is no any software available now without any viruses. I got this charger only because is charging very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great charger powered via USB port!, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
This charger is great in that it charges both AA and AAA batteries as well as plugging into a computer's USB port to do it. Thus it simply draws power from your laptop, PC or MAC as you use it, without the need to waste electricity by plugging the charger into a separate power outlet, as you do with other battery chargers.

On occasion the charging batteries do seem to work loose in the dock, creating an error light, and the USB connection cable could do with being a couple of inches longer. But these are minor faults with what is otherwise a first class battery charger, light and well made. It comes with a pair of rechargeable AAA batteries too, and at this great price is difficult to argue with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars USB Battery Charger, 24 Jun 2011
By 
Andrew H Bridge (CHESTERFIELD, MO, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
The product is small and light and good value as it contains 2 AAA batteries. Its very convineint as I travel a lot and can charge it from mu laptop USB port, so I dont need a plug converter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for lightweight travel, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
I actually bought two of these in australia 18 months ago and i use them as a main battery charger on my world travels. They are absolutely fantastic and have been used in all kinds of temperatures and conditions, including the everest base camp trek.

The chargers can charge AA or AAA and its possible to charge a single battery at a time.

The construction is solid, durable and very lightweight.

I bought them for a similar price to what they are on amazon at the moment, and to me this product is exceptional value and quality.

There is very occasionally an error signal when charging batteries, but just taking the batteries out and in again solves the problem.

Just to point out, there is absolutely no need to use the software for the charger. You can just plug it into any USB power source and it works. The charger itself gives appropriate indications of the charging process.

I have used the software previously but really there is no need to do so.

I quite often charge batteries with this unit attached to a mains-USB power adapter.

The input demand is 5V 500mA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Blinking Crazy, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Energizer USB Battery Charger with 2x AAA Batteries 2-5Hrs Charging Time AA or AAA Ref 629969 (Electronics)
ok the charger charges the batteries for only a few minuets then it starts blinking which means theres a error in charging right? and it does this on my computer and a AC USB charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews