Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beaut!
I admit it! I'm a Daniel Radcliffe fan even though he's young enough to be my son - just!

The photography and script are brilliant and you can't better the Australian scenery as a film set.

I'll be watching this film with great delight for years too come!

Money well spent!
Published on 6 Nov 2010 by Hippo Queen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 Stars...
I was slightly disappointed by this film as I had been wanting to see it for ages. The film itself isn't bad but nothing major happens, it just has a great story to it. Still worth the money!
Published 18 months ago by Laura Jamieson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beaut!, 6 Nov 2010
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I admit it! I'm a Daniel Radcliffe fan even though he's young enough to be my son - just!

The photography and script are brilliant and you can't better the Australian scenery as a film set.

I'll be watching this film with great delight for years too come!

Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and thoughtful, 17 Mar 2010
By 
G. Lees (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I bought this film after I had originally rented it as I wanted to watch it over and over again. And I have seen something different in it every time. So this is a good film if you want something gentle, but moving and thought-provoking. There are some powerful messages, not least the fact that families may take different forms and may not always be made up of blood relatives. Another hidden gem was the emergence and fulfilment of Maps' vocation as a 'big brother' to those who have been abandoned. You'll have to watch the film to understand fully what I'm talking about! It's also appropriate to comment on Daniel Radcliffe's performance which I think was intelligent, mature and good to watch. Because it is what I would describe as a film based on real life (as opposed to fantasy), it is an ideal vehicle for him to make the transition from 'you know what' to a long-term acting career. And it was interesting to see him play a role which relies less on dialogue, but on facial expressions and body language. The only thing that jarred slightly was the ages of the grown-up characters at the end. They just looked too old, but this is a relatively minor gripe about a film that I have really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars something completely different., 17 May 2012
By 
Wazza Jude (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
the disc is a widescreen 2.4:1 presentation and audio is 5.1.Merit to be given as the audio could easily have been 2.0 as alot of releases still can be.,especially as this title could either have been a hit or a miss in regards to sales.There are only 'additional scenes' as extras which is poor,no commentary track.,this I'd say was this titles only floor as there is no HD equivalent as yet.
I will skip to the chase.Daniel Radcliffe fans will be over the moon with this film,he's about 15/16 years of age here,probably filmed it inbetween Potters five & six.Radcliffe is not the Radcliffe we see in the Potter movies...he looks different,I am made up I own this dvd.
The story portrayed here is very similar to alot of stuff which comes out of Australia,...sentimental,inspirational,simplistic,organic & re-watchable.,but in this case unquestionably a showcase for Radcliffe.
Is a 12 rating but should be at least 13a as contains parts which are sexually suggestive.,not for young kids as the '12' may recommend.,very Australian.
Wazza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, super, better than i thought it was going to be, wow, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
just great, have read the book and in MY opinion the film was everything and more, the back drop to the film is just great and inviting, the boys were just superb actors that somehow just fit the bill so natuarly to the film, the other actors alongside the story were great,they looked and slid well into the film, i loved how relaxed the father was he was a holy man but not restricted to the vows of the cloth very laid back, and wanting the boys to feel free, danial radcliff was super not at all what i expected, his accent was brill to the point i was shocked, sullivan stapelton played this underling character that was just needed for the whole story he played the part great, i will watch this again it made me feel warm happy sad joyfull, great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Harry Potter, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
There is a specific Australian film genre about children growing up outside of the normal family group. Despite this, the film holds your attention with a good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, I guess, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Newt Beaumont - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to watching December Boys. But it's such a disappointment. I found it dull and boring tbh. I have never read the book so I can't talk about that. But yea, not for me, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
a very touching and sensitive story about friendship and loyalty among four orphan boys. Beautiful scenery. Recommendable to all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 Stars..., 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I was slightly disappointed by this film as I had been wanting to see it for ages. The film itself isn't bad but nothing major happens, it just has a great story to it. Still worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really bad, 30 Oct 2008
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Everyone watches this because they want to see Daniel Radcliffe in something other than Harry Potter. Ok. Fine. And he doesn't do a bad job. The only thing is, he's not in the main role, but he's in many more scenes than the main character. He's only really been casted as Maps so that they can have his name on the front of the box. They've added in whole scenes just to make up a relationship between Maps (Radcliffe) and some random girl who didn't figure in the book. WHY?!?

It's an ok film. But not if you want it to be close to the book. It's been changed so much since the book. I think it's a real shame that it's changed. Because the book is fab. And the film isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my dvd, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: December Boys [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
it is in amazing condition and it was very fast

thanxs
XxX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

December Boys [DVD] [2007]
December Boys [DVD] [2007] by Rod Hardy (DVD - 2008)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews