Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weak ending but the rest is very good
Directror Craig Gillespie's debut movie before he went on to direct the amazing indie classic Lars and the Real Girl was this. Now he was replaced near the end of Mr Woodcock and a number of scenes were reshot by a new director because the first cut was considered too dark. This clearly shows in the finished film as there are some very dark comedy scenes that works great...
Published 22 months ago by Mr Blonde

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr Woodcock
I was really put off buying this with all the reviews saying how bad it was, but i bought it and watched it and can honestly say its not that bad. I thought it was okay, some funny moments and Seann William Scott and Billy Bob Thornton are very funny together. I would say its worth a watch.
Published on 22 Jan. 2012 by MissCxx


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weak ending but the rest is very good, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Directror Craig Gillespie's debut movie before he went on to direct the amazing indie classic Lars and the Real Girl was this. Now he was replaced near the end of Mr Woodcock and a number of scenes were reshot by a new director because the first cut was considered too dark. This clearly shows in the finished film as there are some very dark comedy scenes that works great but then the movie ends with a rubbish conventional climax that you don't buy and feels very Hollywood. It is in the scenes when the film is really dark and raw and uncomfortable that it is at it's best, funniest and most original. If you like funny, dark, Indie comedies then you'll like parts of this. All the performances are really good with Sean Willain Scott and Thornton sharing some great chemistry and Susan Sarandon being very emotionally touching. The film backs out of the dark direction it is heading and the climax is a real slapstick Hollywood finale that fails. The film is not a 'Dodgeball' style comedy like it was sometimes advertised as but is (mostly) a indie dark comedy. There is some great dialogue and some excellent scenes and it's certainly worth a watch.
3 and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr Woodcock, 22 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [DVD] (DVD)
I was really put off buying this with all the reviews saying how bad it was, but i bought it and watched it and can honestly say its not that bad. I thought it was okay, some funny moments and Seann William Scott and Billy Bob Thornton are very funny together. I would say its worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Gym Class in North America Could Be as Brutal and Humiliating As So Notoriously So in U.K. Schools!, 29 Mar. 2012
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [DVD] (DVD)
The thorough review (for Amazon`s U.S. WWW site) by Lawrence Berbabo of "Mr. Woodcock" gives a very good idea of what the movie is about, so I shall not cover the ground anew that he traverses so well. I only would take issue with his low rating of it. I found the film amusing and well conceived, the acting excellent. Anyway, I am one of those fans who can find almost no wrong at all with whatever Billy Bob Thornton (as the stern gym coach) does for the siver screen. He, in the title role, and the entire cast make this tale of junior high physical education lived and relived very lively. Probably, in real life, the only teachers, as a group, who are as dreadful as gym teachers are math teachers; that applies, dismally, at the college and university level, as well. Teachers of both subject areas rated really, really low in my memories (and in those of a lot of other folks whom I know) of junior high school. (I was luckier in senior high school, where the math teachers were equally abysmal but where the gym teachers were quite decent men and instructors, but the experience of mathematics and physical education hit new lows, if anything, in my university years!)

Having lived too sheltered and pampered a life to have experienced anything so soul-trying and ruggedly harsh as military "boot camp" and the drill sargents or petty officers who train the troops thereat, John Farley (as Sean William Scott so comically plays the role) conceives, instead, of his past gym teacher as a cruel tyrant who has been the Great Personal Nemesis in his life and nightmares, which makes John`s horror on discovering that his widowed mother`s affection for Mr. Woodcock, as her exceedingly virile lover, will end in Woodcock becoming John`s step-father, a prospect that appalls the son.

Anyway, Mr. Woodcock gets back, from John Farley, some of what he deserves for what he had done to, ahem! so many athletically challenged pupils, such as John himself, in Woodcock`s highly disciplined phys. ed. classes. John, a successful writer of sappy motivational self-help books, whose mother (acted by Susan Sarandon) is romantically involved with Woodcock, has a capital opportunity to grow up (at last!), the hard way. The film really is worth a video rental, at least, really and truly! I would say that it`s worth more than that, too, so feel assured that it is worth purchasing.

And, yeah, I would toss any of John`s books of utter therapeutic pyschobabble into the fire, too, as Woodcock does to one of them at the end of the comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the heaviest sledgehammer in existence, 6 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [DVD] (DVD)
Mr. Woodcock was a surprise for me.but a pleasant one.i found it very
funny.in fact,riotously so,at times.i don't really like Billy Bob
Thornton,but in this case,the movie transcends him.sure,a lot of the
humour is juvenile and raunchy,but sometimes that's what you
need.there's no subtlety here.they brought out the heaviest
sledgehammer they could find,and employed it generously.if you don't
like broad comedy stay away from this one.it also takes a very
cynical view of things,but a lot of people can probably relate to
having someone like Mr. Woodcock as a teacher/authority figure of some
kind in their life,so it might resonate on that level.and it's always nice
to see these things happen to others rather than ourselves.all i know
is,i laughed a lot.for me,Mr.Woodcock is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Silly yet has its moments, 19 April 2011
By 
Rion (Braidwood, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is one of those ones that you put on with a groups of friends and share a few laughs. Some of these laughs are at the jokes while some are just at the movie it's self. Its definatly not a movie for the young kids or those people who are shall we say way over the hill ;) But for those inbetween this movie is not a bad laugh and i have found it best to be enjoyed with friends never seems as funny by yourself. As for the acting its about what you would expect for this type of movie. None of the acting is what i would call amazing but the ineraction between Billy Bob Thornton and Seann William Scott is at times extreamly entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great cast but didn't deliver, 27 Feb. 2008
By 
J. Gagnon "JGagnon" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [DVD] (DVD)
I had great expectaions for this film. Billy Bob Thorton and Sean William Scott. I really thought hey this film should be a gas. However, the laughs just were not delivered. Sure there is the odd part that you get a little chortle out of but mostly the film is pretty much "been done before" I couldn't help but relate some of the plot to that of "Just Friends".

this film might appeal to some people that are big fans of Billy Bob thornton and Sean william Scot. But other than that give it a miss unless you want to just chill out on a Sunday afternoon and get a light laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny & realistic, 2 Nov. 2008
By 
M. Kidd "love film" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [DVD] (DVD)
After reading the mixed reviews I thought I had made the wrong choice in renting the film. But I really enjoyed it. It is intelligent humour with a great story line and reaches out to those you prefer a mopre sophisticated comedy rather than an in your face lewd humour.
If you like the former then this is definatley worth a rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good service but scratched disk, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [DVD] (DVD)
It came rather quickly which I was very impressed with but when I received it, the disk wasn't even in the slot inside the case so the disk has been scratched and keeps jumping when I'm trying to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Made i laugh alot, 16 Mar. 2011
By 
S. WATKINS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [DVD] (DVD)
A really funny film especially
when there is so much rubbish out there
get a few beers and have a fun night in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome film, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Woodcock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brought for a present and they loved it. I would recommend this to other people / friends / family. Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Woodcock [DVD]
Mr Woodcock [DVD] by Craig Gillespie (DVD - 2008)
£2.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews