Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie goes camp!
This is a deliciously filmed, high camp and tongues thrust firmly into cheeks murder-mystery 'whodunnit'. Think classic Agatha Christie plot mixed in with The Rocky Horror Show and you're getting close. You've got a house deep in the French countryside with no communication with the outside world, enough snow to prevent anyone from coming or going, a corpse, and eight...
Published on 18 Aug. 2003 by Lesley Flischer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly bizarre but worth a view
Camp as Christmas, a mixture of Agatha Christie and La Cage aux Folles. Open up a bottle of wine, leave your brain at the door, get a few mates around and marvel at the weirdness. Not something I'd watch twice but an "experience".
Published 21 months ago by Miss S. E. Brown


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps better to see in the cinema, 28 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a good film, but I think it would have worked better in the cinema. It has that 'it needs a big screen' feel from the start. However, if you saw it in the cinema you would not have got the video of Catherine Deneuve singing her song from the film, while undressing. In the film it is Huppert and Ardant who deliver the best performances. Huppert is one of my favourite actresses. Wile Deneuve is the grande damme of French cinema, I think when you tot up their good films/performances, Huppert will easily win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strange, but fun!, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this film years ago, but found it great fun to watch. Strange dynamic between the charcters, but a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fine product, quickly delivered., 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
I received my package in tip top condition and it is among my best buys of all time, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes, but ..., 1 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
Yes it's wonderful, but spoilt to a considerable extent by the compulsory subtitles which intrude upon the visual, and distract from the aural, beauty which make it so special. It's the sort of film that can be watched several times, so even someone who didn't speak French could have enjoyed it "au naturel" after a while. Indeed I would go so far as to say that it cannot be fully appreciated in this state. Whether this extraordinary situation is due to disdain for the English consumer, or an act of sheer philistinism, is a mystery, but 1 or 2 stars have to be subtracted for desecration on this scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny and I'm not used to subtitle films but this was fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mystery story worthy of Hitchcock, 16 Dec. 2007
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie. It is a thriller/mystery where a murder has been committed and it is plain that it has to be one of 8 women, but who exactly. Everyone appears to have a good reason to have committed the act and the accusations, jealousies and intrigues are rife.

A treat to have some of the very top French actresses all in the same film and the acting is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars splendid french film, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
quirky fun French film
need a break try this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les huit femmes - the best(est)..... :), 23 Jun. 2009
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen this film in a cinema and it is so fantastic, so much fun, cheer, makes you feel very alive, it's acted so fantastically that I am going to order it right now on DVD.... I want to indulge in it again... and again... Buy it, it's on special right now! (It's less than 10Euros in France too but with this version you get the English subtitles...) But even if you don't understand French, you'll get the message!! Enjoy, sisters and brothers
Kiki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
OK On time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] (DVD)
good fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

8 Women [DVD]
8 Women [DVD] by François Ozon (DVD - 2008)
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews