Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie goes camp!
This is a deliciously filmed, high camp and tongues thrust firmly into cheeks murder-mystery 'whodunnit'. Think classic Agatha Christie plot mixed in with The Rocky Horror Show and you're getting close. You've got a house deep in the French countryside with no communication with the outside world, enough snow to prevent anyone from coming or going, a corpse, and eight...
Published on 18 Aug. 2003 by Lesley Flischer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly bizarre but worth a view
Camp as Christmas, a mixture of Agatha Christie and La Cage aux Folles. Open up a bottle of wine, leave your brain at the door, get a few mates around and marvel at the weirdness. Not something I'd watch twice but an "experience".
Published 20 months ago by Miss S. E. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie goes camp!, 18 Aug. 2003
By 
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a deliciously filmed, high camp and tongues thrust firmly into cheeks murder-mystery 'whodunnit'. Think classic Agatha Christie plot mixed in with The Rocky Horror Show and you're getting close. You've got a house deep in the French countryside with no communication with the outside world, enough snow to prevent anyone from coming or going, a corpse, and eight women, all of whom it transpires had a motive for murder. Throw in an all singing all dancing number for each of the women, Catherine Deneuve and Fanny Ardent looking edibly gorgeous throughout, and a most satisfying twist of the plot right at the end, and you have one of last year's best films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very silly, great fun, 17 April 2006
By 
Darren Ross (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Curiously, I agree with all of the varying reviews below. From plot to setting to costume to all eight characters, it's as if this film deliberately sets out to gorge itself on cliche. Finding themselves in a film that cannot be taken seriously, the cast throws caution to the wind and just goes for it. The result is a joy. It's almost like watching a football friendly where all the pressure is off so the players just set out to entertain.

Each actress knowingly sends herself up, Emmanuelle Beart in particular playing exactly the stereotype that others have thrust upon her. Strangely, of all the cast it is Catherine Deneuve who looks a little lost from time to time, but let's not split hairs - the interaction between the women is wonderful to watch and the dialogue absolutely scintillates. It is worth buying this film just for Isabelle Huppert's brilliant depiction of the repressed, acidic aunt. I really think she gives one of the great comic performances of all time here and, for me, absolutely steals the film.

The musical interludes are a mixed bag, ranging from the cringeworthy to the moving (I thought Firmine Richard's lament in particular was rather beautiful).

Had the dialogue and wit been less polished, and had the actresses not gone at the script with gusto, this film could have

been a stinker, but instead it looks great, it's regularly laugh-out-loud funny and is, quite simply, fun. With its gathering of the leading female lights of French cinema, plus the presence of the rising star of Ludwine Sagnier, one gets the feeling that this is a film that will, despite its many flaws, endure.

My only criticism of the DVD was having American English subtitles embedded into the picture - you can't turn them off. Is it really beyond the wit and budget of a film company to have British English subtitles on DVDs sold in Britain?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars silly but highly entertainig, 16 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a charming movie coming from France and which gives you the great opportunity to see 3 generations of beautiful leading ladies of the French cinema like Darieux,Deneuve,Beart,Huppert,Ardant,Sagnier .
This movie is done in the classical style,actualyy loking like a coloured movie from the 50's.All the action takes place in the family mansion which is separated from the outside world by a snow storm.The father is found murdered,with all the 8 women who sorround him beeing suspects.
I have to warn the viewers that this is also a musical film with the ladies bursting unexpectedly into singing.Although it's very charming,some might find the idea less atracting.
In conclusion a silly mix of mistery ,comedy and music which is highly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never disappointed! Terrific technicolor in French whodunnit, 19 Aug. 2003
By 
DM Webster "arakis2002" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Watch out for Francois Ozon, the director of this brilliant film. I've seen most of his earlier films and have never been disappointed! 8 Women is typical of his film making style, a slightly skewed view of a familiar genre. Set in a country house during twenty four hours, one Christmas, the film focuses on the emerging secrets of a group of women. And there's a dead body! The whodunnit is a red herring here, providing Ozon with a familiar form to play around with. By the end of the film it doesn't really matter who did it (and there's a twist), you just enjoy the eight excellent actresses bouncing off each other.
And what actresses there are; Catherine Deneuve, Isabelle Huppert and Emmanuelle Beart are perhaps the best known for English audiences but the others are equally excellent. Add to this musical numbers from each of them (to be honest not the strong point of the film), wondereful costumes and a general glowing technicolor straight out of fifties movies and you're guaranteed a terrific 106 minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars C'est Magnifique!!, 20 Aug. 2003
By 
Jimmy "city_lad" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I do not watch french films a great deal, and I was not looking forward to a trip to the cinema to see this one...but encouraged by a friend, I forgot about those dreadful black and white 60's films that they were prone to showing on Channel 4 and made a special effort.
To say that I was rewarded for this would be an understatement. The first thing you notice is the opulent colour that suffuses every scene. You will also notice how much this looks as though it is a filmed play, and this is quite deliberate as it is also framed to look as though you are viewing it on a proscenium arch stage. The single set re-inforces this idea, as does some of the melodramatic moments throughout the film. This is an excellent device that helps the mood as opposed to detracting from it.
The film itself is a whodunnit set in 1950's France, in fact at first it seems as though this is stright from the pages of an Agatha Christie novel, with 8 women trapped by the snow in a large mansion house and one dead body. In turn each of the women are accused allowing them a moment in the spotlight so they can (rather unsettlingly at first) burst into a song, putting out of your mind any references of the first lady of crime novels. This feels like a tribute to those light musical comedies that simply don't get made anymore,and though some of the jokes here can be lost in the translation, even with my schoolboy french I was able to fully enjoy the humour.
This is colourful, refreshing, playful and utterly charming.
Do not hesitate to add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer joy, 25 Oct. 2006
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I love this film, mainly because it has fantastic roles filled with beautiful and brilliant actresses.

Yes, it is pretty silly and it is like a Gallic spoof of Cluedo but just suspend your cynicism, kick off the slingbacks and get wrapped up in the fun.

It is the kind of film that you don't get from Hollywood, apart from the fact it has roles for "women of a certain age" it also lacks the big screen wizardry that disguises the woeful lack of plot that seems to be part and parcel of so much multiplex fodder.

In short it is witty, sexy, silly, funny and all together brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly enjoyable, and a surprise!, 8 Feb. 2006
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Well this film surprised me at every turn! Whilst the cover blurb describes a ‘Cluedo’ style film, set around 8 ladies (family and staff) and the murder of the father, all trapped in a snow bound house, what it doesn’t tell you is that it is… a musical / comedy, and a bizarre one at that. Yes, it is very ‘Cluedo-like’, the family knows one of the women in the house has to be the killer, and as the film continues, each has secrets that are revealed, all seeming to have a reason to kill the man of the house. So ‘who-dunnit’? Every now and then, each one of the ladies breaks into a little song and dance routine, to be honest, all of which are describes their characters or situations, and what I particularly loved, was that in most musicals, the fact that someone just burst into song is ignored. Not here, they gather round and give a round of applause after! There is a nice twist at the end to look forward to.
This film looks stunning, the use of colour and the ladies outfits are stunning, the performances are excellent (especially Deneuve and Ardant), and the film is truly enjoyable and very funny. The only criticism is that the songs are quite weak, and the dance routines, ‘minimal’ though this doesn’t detract from the film, as they are still enjoyable and ‘cute’. The extras are adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Random but original, 26 Oct. 2003
This review is from: 8 Women [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
I went to see this film not knowing anything about it, not even that it had numerous musical numbers or more to the point, that it was french! But i found the film so enjoyable. The film basically consists of 8 women from the same family(bar the maid) trying to discover who had killed the main man. The storyline is pure fantasy, the songs bizarre but completely in keeping with the films theme and i defy anyone not to get engrossed with the story. And with an unexpected twist at the end, this is a true original of a "who did it" film. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic- Ignore the criticisms, 10 Sept. 2004
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I dont usually do reviews on films, but after reading reviews for this one, i felt i had to! Please let me make it clear, this film cannot be taken seriously and if you are looking for a film with fantastic songs which beat classics like singin in the rain, or your looking for a dark thought provoking thriller then you are WATCHING THE WRONG MOVIE!!
It is simply a chance for France's leading actresses to get on the stage and have some fun!! Every woman in this movie is gorgeous-particularly Isabelle Huppert as the nerdy aunt and the abrupt and random bursting into song, the quick witty dialogue and the dramatic out burst of each characters secrets is enough to keep you laughing throughout.
Watch this film, it is absolutely fab, and i loved every minute of it. But as i said before do not watch it if u want something which will beat all musicals, or all thrillers or all comedies. It is completely uncategorizable and is unique in every way.
Thankyou France! Another great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8 stars, 13 Dec. 2003
By 
C. Krolyn "cserka" (Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8 Women [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I saw it first time when I was ill and very depressed but this film made me laugh thought beginning to end.
I think that this movie is a kind of classic like its storyline. A murder, lots of questioning but I won't kill the point...
It's worth seeing the film at least for Catherine Deneuve, she is a real actress one of the best!!
Buy and enjoy the film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

8 Women [DVD]
8 Women [DVD] by François Ozon (DVD - 2008)
£5.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews