Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still not right!
Waited and waited for what probably is my all time favorite movie bar maybe Gladiator (Extended cut). I have the VHS, region 2 DVD, region 1 Directors Cut and now the Bluray definitive cut whats the difference? The original region 2 was the one released in UK cinema's and then on VHS and DVD. The Directors cut was released in the USA and added several scenes such as a...
Published 20 months ago by Customer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu-ray
Firstly, I think this film is great.

Now on to the UK Blu-ray. Like reviews for the American one's the picture on this is also dark, I wonder if this is deliberate to hide the little or no effort they have put into the transfer. If you look at older films, such as Zulu or Alien,you will see how amazing blu-rays can be. This film is a lot newer and it really was...
Published 19 months ago by Draavig


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still not right!, 29 Nov 2012
Waited and waited for what probably is my all time favorite movie bar maybe Gladiator (Extended cut). I have the VHS, region 2 DVD, region 1 Directors Cut and now the Bluray definitive cut whats the difference? The original region 2 was the one released in UK cinema's and then on VHS and DVD. The Directors cut was released in the USA and added several scenes such as a longer battle at Fort William Henry and a different extended end scene speech by Chingachgook, minus some graphical violence (cut to Magua's elbow) between Chingachgook and Magua. It also emitted the Clannad waterfall music (Criminal) and many of (Daniel Day Lewis), Hawkeye's one liners such as 'Clean it up anyway', 'Just dropped in to see how you boys was doing' which gave him a slightly more arrogant and rebellious type of portrayal. The definitive version now includes the Clannad music, a slightly longer Fort William Henry Battle scene a different dialogue order when Hawkeye is talking to 'Sachem' in the Huron camp in French through Major Heyward and the original ending including the more graphical violence between Chingachgook and Magua , Hawkeye's one liners are still omitted. Why could we just not have the whole thing with an arrogant Hawkeye or at least both versions how hard must that be. The Bluray transfer appears ok and worth the purchase but slightly dark in places better than the DVD. Is it as good as good as Sky's HD version which is the original region 2 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rousing Adventure, 12 Jun 2004
By A Customer
As an adaptation it's far from faithful to the book but manages to capture the spirit nevertheless.
In the midst of war, Cora (Madeleine Stowe), the daughter of a British General, falls in love with Hawkeye (Daniel Day Lewis), a white man raised by Indians. Their struggle to stay together inspite of the madness surrounding them forms the core of the story.
It is beautifully filmed - the landscapes are breathtaking and the fight/action scenes switch from being brutal to almost balletic at times. The acting is of a high quality throughout - Daniel Day Lewis makes a surprisingly convincing romantic lead in a departure from his previous roles and Madeleine Stowe is strong as the determined Cora. I'm no expert on the details of the time but there's plently of dirt, blood and sweat in evidence and it doesn't feel overly glamorised. The score is sublime.
If you love heroics and romance (not the soppy but the epic kind) then you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Version of The last of the mohicans - Superb, 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of Mohicans [Blu-ray] [1992] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I have watched every version of this master piece, the Blu Ray version even beats the Laser Disc version.

The picture is so crystal clear you see new details of the film that you couldn't see before.

The audio is stunning.

None of the content is new, which is odd considering the original pre-edited version was apparently 3 hours long. This version is similar to the directors edition, but bizarrely Michael Mann removes the "Once we were here epic ending".

Here's hoping Mann releases an uncut 20th anniversary special edition!

Overall 10 out of 10, i loved every second.

Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu-ray, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I think this film is great.

Now on to the UK Blu-ray. Like reviews for the American one's the picture on this is also dark, I wonder if this is deliberate to hide the little or no effort they have put into the transfer. If you look at older films, such as Zulu or Alien,you will see how amazing blu-rays can be. This film is a lot newer and it really was poor. It also comes with a DTS-HD Master Audio sound track and this was quite underwhelming as well.

So all in all a real missed opportunity for an awesome film...damn shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, 19 April 2007
By 
K. C. Simm "kenart" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the first real epic of new cinema if you wish to pay any credence to such classifications. It is also a very finely crafted film. Micheal Mann has not been hidebound by the Fennimore Cooper novel and some have seen that as a mistake. I do not. Performances are remarkable in particular Day Lewis as Hawkeye. Villans are villans but with reason. Magua knows what he is doing and why. Minor characters are given room to breath and the set piece battles are extremly well done. The main story line, the love story between Cora and Hawkeye is romantic without being mawkish and the secondary story of the battles between the British, French and Indians is told with feeling and understanding. There is passion and Drama here, the direction is strong, the cinematography and the soundtrack are stunning. If you have not seen it buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars last of the mohicans blu-ray, 28 Nov 2012
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well,I just thought that I should give my view on LOTM Blu-ray,firstly,the usual excellent service from Amazon!!!! released on Monday,arrived at my door early Tuesday morning,and at a very reasonable price.
Now,the blu-ray,it,s pointless talking about the film itself,everybody knows the storyline,there was quite a lot of negative reviews when LOTM was released on blu-ray in America,most of which were about the "darkness" of the transfer,which I "kinda understand",BUT,dark is DARK,the night time scenes are supposed to be DARK,in fairness to these reviewers I have to say that the blu-ray is much darker than the dvd,but in that darkness is a clarity of picture that the dvd doesn,t show,good picture quality on the dvd mind you,so,I definitely give this blu-ray transfer "thumbs up",I give it 5 out of 5 because of the clarity/sound,and of course most of all the Film itself!!!
A wee question though,like one of the other reviewers I,ve had both region 2 dvd and the extended region i dvd,there are "more" scenes in the extended dvd,but I didn,t see much extension on this definitive version on blu-ray??
maybe I missed it?
All in all Last of the Mohicans Blu-ray is a must-buy for lovers of the film,and general movie fans too,in my opinion of course!!!!!in fairness to the dvd I dont think there,s a huge jump in picture quality with this blu-ray transfer,but there is enough of an improvement for this blu-ray to be well recommended.
Cheers Guys,
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 7 Feb 2002
Daniel Day Lewis plays the part of a colonial named Hawkeye, the adopted son of the last of the Mohican tribe. The film explores the bloody nature of colonial times, while at the same time introducing a beatifully acted romance. Madeleine Stowe plays the part of a British general's daughter, who eventually falls for Hawkeye. Amongst the Chaos of war between the French and British, Michael Mann explores the cultural abyss between colonials and transplants, and the barbaric war methods of homogenous tribesman. This is an enlightening film, set in lavish locations, with amazing cinematography. The soundtrack is also astounding. Don't let this one pass you by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Nov 2010
I love the original theatrical version of this movie. Unfortunately, in the United States the only version you can buy on DVD is the Director's Cut version. The director's cut version is terrible, some of the best scenes in the whole movie were removed and the musical score was changed during the chase scene at the end. I don't know what the director was thinking. If you loved this movie in theaters the only place to buy this is in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Number 1!, 23 Dec 2003
The Last of the Mohicans has to be my favorate film of all time. A film you can watch over and over. The soundtrack is wonderfully moving and works with the film perfectly. The ending is unrivalled in my experience, stirring and unique. Will however make you want to quit your job and live off the land as a native american!!! An absolute must to any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magic, 16 Jan 2002
By A Customer
One of my all time favourite films,not so much because its one of the best films ive seen, (though it is very fine by any criteria)but because its the most outright romantic (in the true sense of the word, do not for romantic read lovey-dovey)in its style. This is due to the best soundtrack to a film ive ever heard (it really sweeps) being played against images of brutality and tragedy but with a strong current of grim heroism.It really sums up the kind of idealistic romanticism that filmmakers have been aiming to convert properly from poems and books for years. Only Hitchcock's Vertigo comes close to this film (which I would also urge you to watch and worship, its the best film ive ever seen)in these terms.The soundtrack really makes this film, without it it would only be good. But hey, its not without it so what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last of Mohicans [Blu-ray] [1992] [US Import]
Last of Mohicans [Blu-ray] [1992] [US Import] by Michael Mann (Blu-ray - 2010)
11.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews