Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Beloved Eels..., 15 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Useless Trinkets B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and Unreleased (Audio CD)
Quirky.

That's a word that could be used to describe Eels at the best of times, and the fact that this is a collection of B-sides, alternate takes and rare bits and bobs means that it is definitely not going to be mainstream. As an Eels fan, however, it is essential.

Yes, the songs swing rather far into the dark, but there are also some frankly brilliant tracks - the multiple explorations of 'My Beloved Monster', for example, show the trademark wit and vitality that shows that E is not just some kid moaning about the world, but has a wicked sense of humour too.

Absolutely splendid, often surprising and sometimes laugh-out-loud funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great alternative best-off, 26 July 2008
This review is from: Useless Trinkets B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and Unreleased (Audio CD)
this album is a great way to revisit some old favourites afresh whilst discovering plenty of new songs and artists.

Not that many songs are listed as previously unreleased but i've got all their albums and a vast majority of their singles and had only heard about 15 of these tracks before.

the two Prince covers are excellent aand have lead me to want to buy something by him, there's also some very interesting reworkings of the songs previously released on albums - naturally these aren't as good as the proper versions but they are still good and give fresh new take on them.

there's also lots of completely original songs such as rotten world blues which is catchy enough to be a single and of course it's handy to have all those b-sides compiled.

well worth buying for the long-term fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
Brian Scott (Wigan, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Useless Trinkets B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and Unreleased (Audio CD)
E's throw aways are a damn site better than a lot of band's first choice material. Haven't stopped listening to this album, all 30 songs of it, since I bought it 3 months ago. Probably one for diehard Eels fans though. Some real gems buried in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Useless Trinkets B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and Unreleased (Audio CD)
I can't believe this CD escaped me until now. Got it today and have listened to it on repeat. It truly is a masterpiece. Different versions of well-loved songs - I even like Susan's house again and some wonderful unreleased material. Some songs I really did laugh out loud to (Jelly Dancers).

Some good covers and E has managed to do something that I thought would never happen - I really enjoyed his Prince covers ( If I was your girlfriend and I could never take the place of your man).

I LOVE it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of lost treasure for Eels fans, 24 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Useless Trinkets B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and Unreleased (Audio CD)
Like so many B-Sides and Rarity compilations, it's only really the die-hard fans of the artist who will go and buy the CD. I am an Eels fan (and obviously I did buy the CD) and can only say that there is a fantastic amount of lost/rare tracks to enjoy on this compilation for Eels fans. There are a couple of oddities on here which you probably won't listen to again but with standout tracks like Living Life and the absolutely gorgeous last track Saw A UFO, there is much to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... 'b-sides and rarities' compilation album is usually not the best, this however is genius, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Useless Trinkets B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and Unreleased (Audio CD)
I had been aware of this album for years but had ignored it as a 'b-sides and rarities' compilation album is usually not the best, this however is genius. I think that it is their best album. 2 CDs both over 70 minutes in length and no poor songs. Well done gentlemen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For eels fans only, 19 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Useless Trinkets B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and Unreleased (Audio CD)
The versions of novocaine & the live version of "I like birds" make this a must for eels fans. The greatest hits CD is contentious but this is very interesting, even when it doess'nt work. For eels fan only but there are a good 10 or so tracks that make it worth buying, even if you haven't got all they've ever done !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews