Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Pumpkins album
People have been lining up to have a pop at Zeitgeist, including a ridiculous amount on here who penned reviews based on hearing the first (and poor) single, hearing a couple of dodgy live outtakes or obtaining, (cough) "an advance copy" (cough).

It's easy to have a pop at Billy Corgan. He wears his heart on his sleeve and has done a complete u-turn on his...
Published on 22 July 2007 by Mookie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Billy Corgan turned up to 11 is not necessarily a good thing
And so, the Smashing Pumpkins return from a LONG hiatus...or, to be more accurate, only half of them do. A lot of fans were up in arms when this was first announced, but let's not kid ourselves; the Pumpkins were always Corgan's baby, and if he can write, record and play `Siamese Dream' pretty much single-handedly, then this `back-from-the-dead' thing should be a...
Published on 28 July 2009 by Mr. B. L. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you're not after the ballads, 18 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
I was never a big lover of the Pumpkins' ballads off of the earlier albums. So, after hearing Tarantula and Doomsday Clock, decided to get the latest album as both songs were very energetic (like all my favourite Pumpkins songs off of Mellon Collie...). After reading some of the bad reviews I was not expecting the overall album to be very good, but, in my opinion, it is easily the best Pumpkins album overall. Most of the songs have tremendous energy and the sound is very fresh - not just a rehash of the old Pumpkins sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever..., 11 July 2007
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
Zeitgiest has come in for some fairly hefty criticism from certain quarters, but much of it is unfair. The new look Smashing Pumpkins may be missing James Iha and Darcy Wretzky, but the fact remains (with respect to the distinctive guitar work of the former) that it was always Corgan and Chamberlin who were the key members of the band. This being the case, it would be fairer to dismiss the excellent Adore as 'not a Pumpkins album' than Zeitgeist, seeing as Chamberlin was absent for its recording.

Other reviews seem to focus their criticism on the fact that Corgan is said to be an 'egomaniac'. So what if he is? We're listening to the music not indulging in a character assasination of its creator...

But I digress... Zeitgiest is good. It doesn't reach the dizzy heights of Mellon Collie and The Infinite Sadness, but it compares extremely favourably when placed against what else is on offer in 2007. Recognisably a Pumpkins record, but not a blatant attempt to rehash former glories, it combines the powerful guitars of Mellon Collie with some of the more pop-y sensibilities of Zwan and touches of the electronica and style exhibited on 2005's, The Future Embrace.

The musicanship of Corgan and Chamberlin are as impressive as ever - the latter's drumming particularly helps elevate Zeitgeist way above run-of-the-mill rock/emo offerings with its sheer power. Corgan's lyrics largely cover familiar territory, although he does touch upon political themes at times. Zeitgeist is by no means a political album though and Corgan's strength remains more personal and emotional topics.

Starting loudly with Doomsday Clock, a classic Pumpkins track, and finishing softly with Pomp and Circumstances, a personal favourite and one of the offerings taking its cues from The Future Embrace, the quality rarely lets up throughout the 12-track album. At near 10 minutes, United States is perhaps too long (or not interesting enough to justify its length), but the remainder of the songs ensure things move along at a fast pace.

Zeitgeist is not only what many long-term Pumpkins fans will have been hoping for, but also a good introduction to the band's music for new listeners. Hopefully, it's just the first chapter in this second incarnation and there's more to come from Corgan and co...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 13 Sep 2007
By 
Andrew Curd (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
This is an excellent effort by Corgan and Chamberlain and the other new Pumpkins. Their ever evolving sound and style has taken a new direction whilst still obtaining a classic Pumpkins feel. The focus on COrgan's voice and inept guitar skills and Chamberlain's subtle and intricate skills on the drums make this album, whilst being a lyrical masterpiece. I think this album is bloody great.

Doomsday Clock- This track rocks big time, i love the distortion and Chamberlain's drumming, brilliant. At Reading Festival 2007 this song was great, it makes a great live track as well as an album opener. 9/10

7 Shades of Black- Not quite as powerful as the opener to the track and probably one of the weaker tracks of the album if you can call any of them weak. This track doesn't really have anything that stands out dramatically, however it still obtains the classic Pumpkins sounds to a certain extent, the song is particuarly rescued by Corgan's brilliant vocals. 7/10

Bleed the Orchid- This track is brilliant, a less dynamic song compared to the previous 2 this track really exloits the characteristics of Corgan's voice. It begins with Corgan singing in a kind of Skat as a creepy anthem before the chordal works begin, the lyrics in this song are beautiful, and the chorus works really well. 10/10

That's the way (my love is)- Probably one of the more commercial pumpkins songs but its great in the way it brings the tempo of the album down. The chorus is very catchy, with strings echoing through in the background. 9/10

Tarantula- I heard this on the radio before the album came out, and on first listening i thought this track was amazing, the Pumpkins are back. This is one hell of a good song. Musically this song is beautiful, Chamberlain and Corgan are genuilly brilliant. 10/10

Starz- This for me is a new type of song for the pumpkins. Corgan's voice over Chamberlain's drums prove textually innovative and, although the chorus is a little bit lame, works well. Te overdriven guitar work in this song works well. 8/10

United states- Chamberlain again proves his drum skills and inner metronome are very shape throughout this track, andCorgan proves he still loves his distortion. I love the chordal progression in this song, and again it made a great live track. It gets a bit monotomous after a little while though. 8/10

Neverlost- I love the laid back nature of this song and the inclusion of an acoustic keyboard instrument which sounds like a marimba or a vibraphone. Corgan's vocals again shine. A fairly plain and simple song. 8/10

Bring the light- Thrilling and tense. The introductory buildup is brilliant, and when the riff kicks in you are up on your feet rocking. Corgan's brilliantly trained jazz drumming prove a great assett to this song. 9/10

(Come on) Let's go!- Again good guitar work from Corgan, and i like the inclusion of the bassists backing vocals in this song. Not the most interesting Pumpkins voice but they do attempt a few new things which includes harmonising meldoical mvements between the guitar and Corgan's voice. Good track. 8/10

For GOd and Country- This track is brilliant. The piano at the start is very atmospheric, and the groove when it kicks in is a typical Pumpkins groove. Chamberlain's deft drumming again is brilliant and the subtle distorted progressions on COrgan's guitar work really well. 9/10

Pomp and Circumstances- Good track ,Corgan's voice is just brilliant, none like it really. What a great songwriter too.

Great album, it grew on me as a listened to it more, and its now up there with the likes of Gish, siamese dream, Mellon Collie and Machina for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done Billy, 31 July 2007
By 
Mr. Mr. Keating (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
This album is a gem. Have had it just under a month now and there is not a stand out track anymore. This is not a critisiscm however. It is simply because all the tracks are outsdanding in their own right.

Starz is a beautiful number on it's own, Tarantula a puntchy Pumpkins number, United States bellows out like a juggernaught (aka Silverf*ck), Bleading the Orchid will be a classic to adorn any Pumpkins Greatest Hits and as for the start with Doomsday Clock...Well it sets up the whole album...

People who I have seen critisize this album seem to slate it for not being a Siamese Dream or Mellon Collie. That's just ridiculous...Those albums are all time classics and to slate Zeitgeist against them is tantamount to a statement saying the Roman Colloseum is rubbish because the Pyramids were better.

If this album was released by a new band rather than a reunited Pumpkins, the press and all the fans slating this album would be going crazy about it. Unfortunately it seems that some cannot judge an album without looking at who made it and why. Well, heres a crazy idea just listen to the music and judge for yourself...

This album should be judged on it's own merrit and once again the Big Whig Billy has pulled it off...

4 Starz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are Starz, 12 July 2007
By 
Ghost17 "Ghost" (Shannon, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
Admittedly I couldnt get into this album at first, but now after many, many listens, I've seen the error of my ways. This album is great!! It really holds its own against the Pumpkins back catalogue. Of course, nothing can touch the greatness of Siamese Dream, but Zeitgeist is one of the best albums Billy Corgan has EVER released. Longtime "fans" of The Pumpkins are too caught up in the past to appreciate this album for what it is. Just because James and D'arcy are missing, they're too ignorant to really listen to this album and realise how great it actually is.

Bands get new members all the time, Red Hot Chilli Peppers are a prime example. They only have two of the original band members left, yet most fans agree that the current band is the best version of the band. Now The Pumpkins only have two original band members left, but it doesnt matter, life goes on, and they're as great as ever.

The best songs on Zeitgeist are...well theres too many....but my top 10, in no particular order are.... Neverlost, Bring The Light, For God And Country, Starz, Tarantula, Bleeding The Orchid, 7 Shades Of Black, Doomsday Clock, United States, and (Come on) Lets go!

So BUY THIS ALBUM! Give it a chance, and you really wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He's tried moving on, now he's tried going back. What next for wet baldy, Billy Corgan?, 18 Mar 2008
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
Well, it's not a BAD record, but Corgan and Chamberlin are suffering under the weight of past achievements on this one. Gish, Siamese Dream, Mellon Collie, Adore and Machina were all outstanding, even groundbreaking records - yes, even Machina. Zeitgeist can't help but pale in comparison.

From the outset I get the impression that this was all a bit rushed; from the dreadful front cover, the brash, incohesive liner notes, right through to the music - 12 songs of mostly pounding power chord riffs, with little variation, little in the way of inspiration, very little embellishment, and no chord progressions that might take you by surprise. Whereas on previous records multiple guitars might have been layered to create a huge sound, here Corgan appears to have been content with just recording a few takes of the same part.

The positives are that Corgan's voice sounds stronger and more even than usual, and Chamberlin's drumming is excellent, but I can't help thinking that Corgan could have delivered more in terms of arrangement and songwriting. "Tarantula" is the only track that stands out after repeated listens, and some of the others are just plain annoying - especially the 'epic' "United States" which is based around a generic rock riff, and has a long 'jam' section that just makes you wonder why it wasn't editted down, while Corgan's "la-la-la-lala" backing vocals are twee and grate on the nerves.

Lyrically Corgan is treading water throughout, and has decided to fall back on some clunky patriotism as his reaction to troubled times in the USA. Unfortunately he stops short of saying anything incisive or enlightening, instead professing a desire to fight and/or die for God and country.

So it's the first Pumpkins album in what, 7 years? With this one Corgan may have convinced a few fans to fork out their cash, but only at the cost of besmirching the legacy of one of the most important bands of the 90s. Some things are best left alone. Shame on you, Corgan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever..., 11 July 2007
Zeitgiest has come in for some fairly hefty criticism from certain quarters, but much of it is unfair. The new look Smashing Pumpkins may be missing James Iha and Darcy Wretzky, but the fact remains (with respect to the distinctive guitar work of the former) that it was always Corgan and Chamberlin who were the key members of the band. This being the case, it would be fairer to dismiss the excellent Adore as 'not a Pumpkins album' than Zeitgeist, seeing as Chamberlin was absent for its recording.

Other reviews seem to focus their criticism on the fact that Corgan is said to be an 'egomaniac'. So what if he is? We're listening to the music not indulging in a character assasination of its creator...

But I digress... Zeitgiest is good. It doesn't reach the dizzy heights of Mellon Collie and The Infinite Sadness, but it compares extremely favourably when placed against what else is on offer in 2007. Recognisably a Pumpkins record, but not a blatant attempt to rehash former glories, it combines the powerful guitars of Mellon Collie with some of the more pop-y sensibilities of Zwan and touches of the electronica and style exhibited on 2005's, The Future Embrace.

The musicanship of Corgan and Chamberlin are as impressive as ever - the latter's drumming particularly helps elevate Zeitgeist way above run-of-the-mill rock/emo offerings with its sheer power. Corgan's lyrics largely cover familiar territory, although he does touch upon political themes at times. Zeitgeist is by no means a political album though and Corgan's strength remains more personal and emotional topics.

Starting loudly with Doomsday Clock, a classic Pumpkins track, and finishing softly with Pomp and Circumstances, a personal favourite and one of the offerings taking its cues from The Future Embrace, the quality rarely lets up throughout the 12-track album. At near 10 minutes, United States is perhaps too long (or not interesting enough to justify its length), but the remainder of the songs ensure things move along at a fast pace.

Zeitgeist is not only what many long-term Pumpkins fans will have been hoping for, but also a good introduction to the band's music for new listeners. Hopefully, it's just the first chapter in this second incarnation and there's more to come from Corgan and co...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grower not a shower, 3 Aug 2007
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
I didn't like this album at first and then I had to drive across the country and forgot to bring any CDs. The only one in my car was this and over the course of the journey, I realised that this album is, in fact, brilliant. It takes a while to get used to but it's brilliant.

Alot of the reviews I have seen have clearly been from people who have listened once, written their review and taken their cheque. If you give it a chance, it is brilliant.

Standout tracks are 1, 3, 4, 5 and 8 in my opinion but I don't dislike the others.. I'm just not sure of them yet. These are the ones that have grabbed me so far and they are fantastic songs.

1 (Doomsday Clock) is just how you would want the return of the Pumpkins to sound. Rocky and hard hitting.

3. (Bleeding the Orchid) is a really dark song which will probably take a while to get used to. Lots of layered vocals.

4. (That's the way) is a much more light, airy sounding song. It has a really pumping drum beat the whole way through it with great vocals. Quite commercial sounding for the Pumpkins but still a really good song.

5. (Tarantula) is the best song on the album. It is really thumping with brilliant vocals and also features the best solo on the album. Definately an anthem.

8 (Neverlost) is a really laid back song which seems to just meander on until you've heard it a few times when it suddenly makes sense.

Overall, it is a great album. People will slate it because of their preconceptions of what the Pumpkins should sound like but if you take a step back and listen to the album with an open mind, you will like it.

DO NOT compare it to melancholy because it is different. To say it is bad because it is not as good as MC is like saying all paintings are rubbish because they are not as good as the Mona Lisa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Smashing Album ", 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Zeitgeist -Ltd- (Audio CD)
A lot of the "pumpkins" albums are a bit hit and miss,this album is a good all round listen."Doomsday Clock " is a stormer of an opener for the album.Billy Corgan has written some really good songs here.This is a real good value buy and if you have not got this album and are a pumpkins fan you,ll enjoy this one."Bleeding the Orchid " is another stand out song here,bringing the tempo down but very good track.Another rousing effort is the up tempo song " Tarantula " catchy,guts its rocking.Theres 12 songs in all ,no duff songs here in fact a "Smashing Album ".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I just don't understand the negativity, one of my favorite SP albums., 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeitgeist -Ltd- (Audio CD)
It's not Siamese Dream or Mellon Collie, it's a different album, get over it.....now that's cleared up, on to my short review.

I love and appreciate it when other people get all meticulous and go through the track list etc., but I don't do it myself!
This is a great album, if it was their first release instead of Gish, it would still not be as big as or loved as much as the a fore mentioned albums, but it would be appreciated and given the credit it deserves, I'm pretty sure. There are a lot of reasons people like to pooh on this newer, (not newest), version of the SP's, both the fans and critics, but the fact of the matter is, that if you take away all the moronic, pointless comparisons and negativity, and just let the album speak for it's self, it more than stands up with most of the SP's back catalog. Music is personal, so of course everyone can't and won't feel the same, but I believe some of the negativity towards Zeitgeist is jumping on the bandwagon stuff, also it's a grower, it makes you work a bit for your reward, that being, a very interesting, haunting in places, record, the production isn't bad, it's different and makes the album less, not more bland, it just takes a bit of time to peel this onion. In reality it's a 4-4.5 star review, but I feel like defending this album a bit, sticking up for it against the jock bullies, that being said, Amazon is the place were it seems to have the highest amount of acceptance, Billy should have called it, "Listen without Prejudice"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zeitgeist -Ltd-
Zeitgeist -Ltd- by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews