Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Pumpkins album
People have been lining up to have a pop at Zeitgeist, including a ridiculous amount on here who penned reviews based on hearing the first (and poor) single, hearing a couple of dodgy live outtakes or obtaining, (cough) "an advance copy" (cough).

It's easy to have a pop at Billy Corgan. He wears his heart on his sleeve and has done a complete u-turn on his...
Published on 22 July 2007 by Mookie

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A 4 star album, a 1 star "Special Edition"
I've given Zeitgeist 4 stars on the review against the standard edition.

This Special Edition is best avoided - it just isn't worth the money. For the extra dough you get:

- The same album, no musical extras.

- The exact same artwork, though packaged into some arty photo-album format. It's actually quite naff.

- Erm....that's...
Published on 31 July 2007 by Mookie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Pumpkins album, 22 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
People have been lining up to have a pop at Zeitgeist, including a ridiculous amount on here who penned reviews based on hearing the first (and poor) single, hearing a couple of dodgy live outtakes or obtaining, (cough) "an advance copy" (cough).

It's easy to have a pop at Billy Corgan. He wears his heart on his sleeve and has done a complete u-turn on his millenium 'rock is dead' rhetoric. His notorious 'artistic temperament' makes him an easy target and always will do. That said, he remains the one true survivor of the early 90s US alt-rock scene, (now that Pearl Jam have well and truely gone down the mainstream route with their sub-U2 latest offering and Rolling Stones support slots) and i'd suggest his longevity is in no small part down to his willingness to try new things and experiment with new sounds. For me he stands alongside Cobain as the only 2 real talents of that scene.

So to Zeitgeist. Id dispel the 2 most common criticisms thus:

"It isn't Mellon Collie / Siamese Dream"

- Of course it isn't. Since when did the Pumpkins EVER try to recreate previous albums? This was the band that issued a double album that went 13 times Platinum in the US alone, then followed it with a complete musical right turn to the 80s electronica-inspired Adore - a superb album, if commercially unsuccessful.

"It's only Billy and Jimmy, therefore not the Smashing Pumpkins"

- Siamese dream was written and performed almost exclusively by BC and JC as well. Let's face it, although we miss them D'Arcy and James Iha were always the Pumpkins' window dressing.

So forget bemoaning the fact BC and JC aren't still stuck in the 1990s and instead enjoy a record that shows flashes of sublime quality of the type many of today's overhyped young pretenders would give their right arm to be able to produce.

"Bleed The Orchid" is a Pumpkins classic that would sail effortlessly onto any 12-track 'Best Of'. The poppy "Bring The Light" would sit astride many a popular radio playlist were it being performed by The Killers or Razorlight. "Doomsday Clock" and "United States" are OTT, loud and just plain evil tunes. Corgan's ear for glorious melody is fully intact on Starz, Pomp & Circumstance and That's The Way (My Love Is). In true Pumpkins fashion the album is over-long and contains a couple of filler tracks that could've easily been left off the final cut. Most disappointing is the bizarre decision to release different editions of the album with different bonus tracks exclusive to each. A pretty poor show, especially when 2 of the bonus tracks "Gossamer" and "Stellar" are amongst the strongest tunes from the Zeitgeist sessions. Both should've made the 12-track (at the expense of Tarantula and Neverlost i'd suggest). You've done yourselves no favours there, guys.

Overall this is a damn good album. It sits comfortably within the Pumpkins catalogue and shows there plenty of life in the old dog yet.

Long may they rumble on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better with each listen; a real grower., 18 July 2007
By 
Mr. Mj Williams "Matt" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
I, like many of the other reviews that I have read, was not overly impressed with this album when I first heard it. This was a huge disappointment to me as Zeitgeist was one of my most anticipated albums since I had first heard of the reunion.
I really liked Tarantula and Doomsday Clock, but nothing else stood out. However, I kept wanting to listen to it and I'm thankful to say that after about 6 or 7 listens, I really like it now, and it stands up well against their back catalogue. I always thought Machina was a bit of let down, bar a couple of classics such as Everlasting Gaze and Stand Inside Your Love. This is a return to form in terms of consistency. Every song is strong apart from United States which, despite some good moments, is a bit of a self indulgent dirge. My highlights are Doomsday Clock, 7 Shades of Black, Tarantula and Bring The Light, which contains some wonderful guitar, powerhouse Chamberlin drumming, and great tempo changes. Doomsday Clock and 7 Shades of Black are two heavyweight old school Pumpkins rockers, and Tarantula hears Corgan's sublime screeching guitar return after an absence of far too long. There are still moments of Corgan's mellower more romantic side with the likes of That's The Way (My Love Is), which is in the vein of Zwan, which is not such a bad thing in my opinion. Corgan's willingness to experiment is still evident in For God and Country and Pomp and Circumstances. These two tracks require the most patience, but are rewarding in the end.
The album has been criticised as not being a true Pumpkins record due to the absence of Iha and D'arcy, but the fact that it is well documented that the Pumpkins masterpiece Siamese Dream was almost solely recorded by Corgan and Chamberlin renders this criticism void. Zeitgeist doesn't reach the sublime heights of Siamese Dream or it's excellent successor Mellon Collie, but it is still a worthy addition to your Smashing Pumpkins collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 10 Oct 2007
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
It has been a while since the smashing pumpkins made a truly great album (probably since melon collie) so I didnt expect much when I saw it advertised. However I was wrong to think they had lost their talent for making music. Zeitgeist, for me, was a brilliant album. Lively and well crafted all round. Highlights for me included tarantula, doomsday clock and united states. It is hard to say whether other people will like it though because the smashing pumpkins have tried so many different styles of music over the time. If you liked their earlier rock stuff however then you should like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A 4 star album, a 1 star "Special Edition", 31 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've given Zeitgeist 4 stars on the review against the standard edition.

This Special Edition is best avoided - it just isn't worth the money. For the extra dough you get:

- The same album, no musical extras.

- The exact same artwork, though packaged into some arty photo-album format. It's actually quite naff.

- Erm....that's it.

Pretty poor im sure you'll agree. If you're going to release a special edition at least ensure there's something 'special' about it. Otherwise you're just ripping fans off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you're not after the ballads, 18 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
I was never a big lover of the Pumpkins' ballads off of the earlier albums. So, after hearing Tarantula and Doomsday Clock, decided to get the latest album as both songs were very energetic (like all my favourite Pumpkins songs off of Mellon Collie...). After reading some of the bad reviews I was not expecting the overall album to be very good, but, in my opinion, it is easily the best Pumpkins album overall. Most of the songs have tremendous energy and the sound is very fresh - not just a rehash of the old Pumpkins sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Billy Corgan turned up to 11 is not necessarily a good thing, 28 July 2009
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
And so, the Smashing Pumpkins return from a LONG hiatus...or, to be more accurate, only half of them do. A lot of fans were up in arms when this was first announced, but let's not kid ourselves; the Pumpkins were always Corgan's baby, and if he can write, record and play `Siamese Dream' pretty much single-handedly, then this `back-from-the-dead' thing should be a doddle...right?

Wrong. `Zeitgeist' doesn't so much announce its arrival as it does aurally punch you in the face. `Doomsday Clock's droning, angular riffs demand your attention, even if you don't particularly like what you hear. `7 Shades of Black' follows this formula, combining stabbing riffs with quick-fire singing that almost instantly becomes irritating. `Bleeding the Orchid' and `That's the Way (My Love Is)' offer some welcome respite from the aural assault being, respectively, a down-tempo number that wouldn't have felt out of place on `Adore' and a cheery, sunny pop song that carries itself with an infectious energy. `Tarantula', unfortunately, swiftly follows. It's not that it's a particularly bad song, it's just that there's no real chorus to speak of, and the stabbing-riff formula set by the first two tracks is, by now, becoming very repetitive. `Starz' meanders around with no clear direction, `Neverlost' fails to take flight at all, and album closer `Pomp and Circumstance' feels completely out of place in this world of crushing dynamics. So far, so mediocre.

There is, however, some serious quality on the album. `Bring the Light' is played with the same infectious energy as `That's the Way...', and you just can't help but be swept up along the way. `United States' is a near-10 minute epic, showcasing some of the best drumming of Jimmy Chamberlain's career (it should be said, the drumming on the album as a whole is uniformly excellent). `C'mon, Let's Go' features a great riff, reminiscent in spirit to `Bullet with Butterfly Wings'. `For God and Country', despite being drenched in synths for the majority of its running time, emerges as a damn fine song. When he is willing to strip his compositions to the bare bones, Corgan's ideas work wonderfully; as he slowly recites `for God and country, I'll die' over a hypnotic bass loop, you'll have to remind yourself that he is probably being sarcastic, such is the dramatic power of this moment.

The album is, in parts, very good, and reminds you what was great about the Pumpkins in the first place, but at its worst it is nostalgic in the unkindest possible way. The man that wrote `Bullet...', `Today' and `1979' seems to have run out of ways to make any impact on listeners aside from bludgeoning them over the head with tedious riffs and sub-par song writing. It's as if he wants to make ANY sort of impression that he can by playing as loudly as possible. There doesn't seem to be any sort of quality control, something the Pumpkins have been guilty of since the bloated-but -brilliant `Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness'.

I should probably point out that I adore `Mellon Collie...', and I wanted to LOVE `Zeitgeist'. I really did. Unfortunately, this album serves as little more than a reminder of why the Pumpkins were one of the defining bands of the nineties and why they are no longer as culturally relevant a decade on, which is pretty damn ironic considering the album title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm in touch with you, 3 Aug 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Smashing Pumpkins are back. The legendary rock band, which blossomed like a dark rose in the musical wasteland of the 1990s.

Okay, only frontman Billy Corgan and drummer Jimmy Chamberlin have returned from the original lineup, and the absences can be detected. But their return album "Zeitgeist" is still worthy of epic praise -- dark, passionate hard-rock, written with a darkly poetic sweep. Too bad the extra material isn't so good.

The drums smash, the bass roars like unleashed tornado. "Is everyone afraid?/Is everyone ashamed?/They're running towards their holes to find out/Apocalyptic thieves/Are lost amongst our dead," Corgan drawls, telling us a story of gas masks, Kafka and fear.

It's followed with the roiling rocker "7 Shades of Black," with the level of depression you'd expect ("And without peer/And without fear/I'm without anyone at all!"). Then it pours into a series of blazing hard-rockers -- soaring grimy epics, buzzing and cascading bass rockers, a stripped-down melodic tune, and the soaringly exquisite "Pomp and Circumstances," which is only marred by Corgan singing "la la la la..."

"Zeitgeist" probably won't be gently compared to the Pumpkins' earlier classics, especially since it doesn't have James Iha and D'arcy Wretzy from the original lineup -- valuable talents both. But taken on its own virtues, it's brilliant hard-rock -- epic, dark, and with moments of sheer poetry woven into the stormy music.

If I had a main complaint, it would be that the softer songs are rare here, and that the bass doesn't have that epic quality in some of the songs. But Corgan is blazingly passionate in his playing, layering and building a storm of driving guitar and fuzzy bass. He pushes on the fiery melodies of each song, with Chamberlin smashing the drums beside him. These guys sound kinetic.

And Corgan's nasal voice sneers and drawls through the harder songs, but he can also sound wistful and tender, like when he sings, "that's the way my love is." And he pours plenty of passion into his songs, which seem to balance out between the happy and sad -- on one side, a crumbling, bitter apocalypse, and on the other, "no shadows follow me unsung."

Some of his songs aren't up to par lyrically, like "God and Country." But Corgan spins his weird poetry in other songs, like the the ethereal "Pomp and Circumstance": "Torn, broken and frayed/Oh don't we face/War, sunshine and grace/Oh won't you stay/For a while/We can fail in style..."

The special edition of "Zeitgeist" also comes with a eightyish-page booklet, but to be perfectly honest, the booklet is kind of pointless. It's primarily filled with arty photographs -- Paris Hilton in front of a burgeoning nuclear explosion, a grim reaper on the presidential podium, a Roman soldier, coffins, and quite a few others. They're interesting photos, but not really worth exerting yourself for, and they don't reveal much about the album itself.

The Pumpkins aren't quite all they once were here, but Corgan and Chamberlin are enough to make "Zeitgeist" a brilliant hard-rock album with some vintage flourishes. Just take it for itself, with no comparisons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Siamese Dream was 14 years ago, get over it people!!, 13 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
Zeitgeist hits the mark with enough of that Pumpkins passive aggressive sound still remaining intact after all these years, courtesy of Chamberlain's distinctive jazz trained hands and Corgan's heavy but never cliche'd fret work.
There's a few filler's on here but what SP LP doesn't have them (except for the sublime Gish)?
If you only bought Mellon Collie then you might not "get it" the first few spins, but it'll get you in the end!
Interesting to note that a few have said its not as good as Siamese Dream because D'arcy and James aren't there. The fact is, Siamese Dream was largely a Corgan - Chamberlain recording, as is this!
All we need now is a new album from the Pixies and I'll die a happy man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever..., 11 July 2007
This review is from: Zeitgeist (Audio CD)
Zeitgiest has come in for some fairly hefty criticism from certain quarters, but much of it is unfair. The new look Smashing Pumpkins may be missing James Iha and Darcy Wretzky, but the fact remains (with respect to the distinctive guitar work of the former) that it was always Corgan and Chamberlin who were the key members of the band. This being the case, it would be fairer to dismiss the excellent Adore as 'not a Pumpkins album' than Zeitgeist, seeing as Chamberlin was absent for its recording.

Other reviews seem to focus their criticism on the fact that Corgan is said to be an 'egomaniac'. So what if he is? We're listening to the music not indulging in a character assasination of its creator...

But I digress... Zeitgiest is good. It doesn't reach the dizzy heights of Mellon Collie and The Infinite Sadness, but it compares extremely favourably when placed against what else is on offer in 2007. Recognisably a Pumpkins record, but not a blatant attempt to rehash former glories, it combines the powerful guitars of Mellon Collie with some of the more pop-y sensibilities of Zwan and touches of the electronica and style exhibited on 2005's, The Future Embrace.

The musicanship of Corgan and Chamberlin are as impressive as ever - the latter's drumming particularly helps elevate Zeitgeist way above run-of-the-mill rock/emo offerings with its sheer power. Corgan's lyrics largely cover familiar territory, although he does touch upon political themes at times. Zeitgeist is by no means a political album though and Corgan's strength remains more personal and emotional topics.

Starting loudly with Doomsday Clock, a classic Pumpkins track, and finishing softly with Pomp and Circumstances, a personal favourite and one of the offerings taking its cues from The Future Embrace, the quality rarely lets up throughout the 12-track album. At near 10 minutes, United States is perhaps too long (or not interesting enough to justify its length), but the remainder of the songs ensure things move along at a fast pace.

Zeitgeist is not only what many long-term Pumpkins fans will have been hoping for, but also a good introduction to the band's music for new listeners. Hopefully, it's just the first chapter in this second incarnation and there's more to come from Corgan and co...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album I have heard in the past decade, 2 July 2007
Wow!

When I firsty started playing this album a few days ago I approached it with some skepticism. Some of Billy Corgans recent work including "The Future Embrace" and Machina has been ok but has not blown me away like Mellon Collie and Siamese dream did.

This album exceeded all expectations and is up there at the same level as Siamese Dream / Mellon Collie. Maybe not quite as good but it comes very close.

Favourites are 7 shades of black, Bleeding the Orchid, Starz, United States, Bring the Light and Pomp and Circumstance but all of them are good. There is not one filler on this album.

United States is an epic song, the drumming is fantastic and the ending was just outstanding.

Pomp and Circumstance is very strange. First listen I didn't really get it as it was so far removed from anything the Pumpkins have done before but now I am really enjoying it. It makes me feel like I am floating in a space ship.

People have criticised their decision to release 4 different albums but this has not merit. Have these people forgotten that they actually released their last album before they split up in 2000 on the internet for FREE?? Also, it is Reprise / Warner Bros that should be criticised for it is them that makes these types of marketing decisions and also it is a bonus track at no extra price. They will all be available in other places as well I am sure. Death from Above is already available on the Tarantula single.

This CD, once released, will be in my CD player for a long long time. One of the best albums I have heard in 10-15 years and I am not just saying this because I am a fan. I was heavily critical of Machina and TFE. Billy Corgan still has a genius ability to write some of the most powerful rock music out at the moment. They don't follow trends, they set them.

I find it hard to put into words how much I love this album - it is simply stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zeitgeist -Ltd-
Zeitgeist -Ltd- by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews