Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressed
Being no stranger to Cotman water colours I was looking forward to receiving my half pan studio set. I was delighted at the vibrancy of the colours, the selection and the very handy palettes, one of which helps keep the pans from falling out (a problem I've experienced with the small sets). Opening it I felt like a kid in a sweet shop. The shiny, colourful half pans are...
Published on 6 Jan. 2011 by Lazarus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd - buy with caution but still worth the price.
A bit odd. The paints aren't wrapped as they normally are with W&N paints. All colours are present but one is not labelled. Some don't have the W&N stamp in the bottom of the paint and for this reason I get the feeling they were not all made to be in a set together. The box also just doesn't feel like it is well made.

If I had brought this from W&N directly for...
Published 1 month ago by Will


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressed, 6 Jan. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Being no stranger to Cotman water colours I was looking forward to receiving my half pan studio set. I was delighted at the vibrancy of the colours, the selection and the very handy palettes, one of which helps keep the pans from falling out (a problem I've experienced with the small sets). Opening it I felt like a kid in a sweet shop. The shiny, colourful half pans are like little hard boiled sweets. It even had a space for my favourite water colour brush to fit. As far as value for money is concerned it is worth while. With each half pan individually priced at £1.69 in my local art store, it is really, really good value.

I'd recommend it to anyone passionate about water colours and as a relative beginner myself, I would certainly recommend it to others as there is no finer set of water colours to bring life to a piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phewwww, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When the product first arrived I was confused, and thought the product was a fake because the individual paints weren't in the usual Windsor and Newton packaging !!! I phoned up the providers and they assured me that it was genuine and it was a way for Windsor and Newton to save money !! After a sigh of relief I love my new paints and use them all the time !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great paints!!, 3 Sept. 2010
By 
B. Milburn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant selection of pans excellent value ideal for established artist or beginner great to have so many colours in easy to transport and use pallette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cotman The Half Pan Studio Set (45 Half Pans), 25 Feb. 2011
By 
S. Williams (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb service and superb product. This cost so much more via other art suppliers and to have 45 colours in such a compact set is fantastic. In fact, for me, a beginner, my problem has been identifying the different colours to use because there is so much choice. I just bought a half pan from Hobbycraft that isn't included in this set and just one cost me £6, so you understand the value for money in this set. It gives you a good start and when you know what colours you tend to use, you can buy them separately (though they will cost more than you get in this set).Cotman The Half Pan Studio Set (45 Half Pans)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great watercolour set, 11 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Perry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really pleased with this watercolour set - a present for a young artist who was delighted. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful watercolours, 22 Feb. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am delighted with the variety of colours in this pan. Plus the container is well constructed, the mixing pallet section can be removed to clean which is a bonus. A neat and substantial box. The colours are sufficient for all my colour needs and mix well. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set of watercolour pans, 11 Jan. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Great set of watercolour pans. Excellent gift for a beginner or an advanced watercolour artist. Great selection of colours. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous paints at a great price, putting them to good use already and they are proving to be a quality purchase. Very happy customer :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous colours and quality, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Cotman Half Pan Water Colour Studio Set (Office Product)
Took the opportunity to purchase this because it was on sale, for a student going GCSE Art and Design. They really enjoy using it. I would have given it five stars except of the tendency for the colours to fall out of the mini holders/pans and the large holder each time it is opened. Too finicky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windsor Newton Cotman watercolour set 45 half-pan, 21 Feb. 2012
By 
L. J. Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good value, this 45 half pan set being cheaper than a 24 pan set at a local store. Excellent quality paint, better than anything else I've used. If you paint in watercolour, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winsor & Newton Cotman Half Pan Water Colour Studio Set
£26.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews