Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the wiz
This is a wonderful film with great music, it is very different to the original but just as good. It is very 70s (something good )very colourful with some funky music that the whole family will love, as mine did "easy on down the road" and "Im a mean ole lion are my childrens favourite but I like the "crow anthem" by Michael Jackson. Diana Ross, Richard Prior, Michael...
Published on 8 April 2009 by Rachel Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE WIZ
well this film is a classic this is another version of the wizard of oz the multi coloured version brillaint to watch loads of stars in the film 8/10 my score
Published on 3 Jan. 2012 by MR MORRIS


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the wiz, 8 April 2009
By 
Rachel Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful film with great music, it is very different to the original but just as good. It is very 70s (something good )very colourful with some funky music that the whole family will love, as mine did "easy on down the road" and "Im a mean ole lion are my childrens favourite but I like the "crow anthem" by Michael Jackson. Diana Ross, Richard Prior, Michael Jackson and Nipsey Russell are all wonderful it was a delight to watch. Certianly one for all the family. If you are a fan of the original (as I am)you will enjoy this different take on what is a wonderful film .We watched it over and over and have learnt all the songs . Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WIZ - Michael Jackson. Diana Ross..., 25 Mar. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wiz [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is a classic! Stars including Michael Jackson (as scarecrow), Diana Ross (Dorothy), Tedd Ross (cowardly lion), Nipsey Russell (Tinman), Lena Horne (Glinda the Good Witch) and Richard Pryor (The Wiz). There is a great storyline, based on The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, with great catchy songs to sing along to. This is the perfect film for any generation and you will definatley be watching the film over and over again!!! The Wiz is a definate MUST SEE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 1 July 2010
This review is from: The Wiz [DVD] (DVD)
A great movie, a young MJ and you can already see his great talent and how much he enjoyed making this movie.
Just buy it and enjoy watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wiz, 18 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Wiz [DVD] (DVD)
i have The Wiz, but its not the Commenmorative edition, but i can't see how this is differnt. anyway, Michael is amazing in this, he could have been such a great actor too - incidentally he is the only good actor in the film, didn't think acting was Diana Ross' forte, didn't think much of her at all actually, its Michael Jackson that makes the film any good and thats an objective opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wiz........., 24 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wiz [DVD] (DVD)
The Wiz - Commemorative Edition [DVD] [1978]... A GREAT FILM, A GREAT STAR, DIANA ROSS.... THIS WAS WAY AHEAD OF ITS TIME AND ITS JUST GREA FUN TO WATCH, ALL THE CAST GIVE A GREAT TURN, JUST PUT IT ON AND YOU WILL BE SINGING ALONG TO THE SONGS AND YOU WILL HAVE AS MUCH FUN AS THE CAST..............GO FOR IT..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soul Funk soundtrack sets your toes tapping!, 28 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wiz [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Thsi video is excellent! Anybody with a love of good music will love this contempory remake of the classic 1939 film. In particular, songs such as "Ease on Down the Road" and "You Can't Win" will have you tapping those toes, or maybe even dancing around you living room! Some of the acting leaves something to be desired, but the excellent and funny script makes up for that. You will pity the Lion, dance along with Dorothy and laugh with the Crows, so if you love musicals this is the film for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome classic!, 19 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Wiz [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
An adaption of wizard of oz before the older generation knew the Wizard of Oz, (Judy Garland) we all know today.
as another classic.

At first glance my young children where abit mistifyied has to how michael jackson starred in Wizard of oz,on first watching many many questions was asked. One being 'this is not Wizard of oz is it'..of course they only know the newer versions! After explaining that michael jackson was more than just a singer and a dancer alot of michael jackson they already know about, my children have watched and laughed along to so many times now,,and will do so many many more in the future.
Falling in love with both michael jackson and Diana Ross even more.

A dvd classic not to be missed! With no shadow of a doubt a classic that will continue with the next generation at least!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING MOVIE!!, 1 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Wiz [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
This movie is absolutely incredible, not only does it star a who's who of music and entertainment, but it is such an incredibly soulful interpretation of a classic. I've loved this movie ever since i first saw it, which was a while back now. If the fact that Michael Jackson and Diana Ross don't get you wanting to see this movie, then the music showcased surely should. By the end of the film, you'll be left wanting more. The perfect dvd to add to your collection. I would certainly recommend this to all soul music fans out there, as well as fans of Michael Jackson or Diana Ross. This film is a definite must see.

R.I.P Michael, gone but definitely never forgotten. You are a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful WIZ, 11 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wiz [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this at the Dominion theatre in the eighties, I was determined to let my grandchildren see it. Now they can! Brilliant cast excellent music what more can you ask for. Oh, yes, and Michael Jackson!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed it, 26 Jan. 2010
By 
Jane E. Grost "jane" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wiz [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Admittedly I probably wouldn't have bought this if I wasn't a Michael Jackson fan but I think that this is a real feel good factor, fun film and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews