Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I have read many auto/biographical books by fighter pilots and bomber crew and this has been one of my favourites. It's a compelling read which gives a pretty much day by day account of a P47 pilot who later went on to fly P51's in the European campaign through 1944 and 1945. Fortier gives exciting incites into what it was like to fly these aircraft in both...
Published on 12 Mar 2006 by G. Leaney

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Ace Of The Eighth
What can I say. Pilots are fortunate to have such good memories...? No, pilots have their log books and this chap draws upon it with great chronicle precision and little of the story tellers art.
A good read for the historian no doubt and this part of me was satisfactorily informed; the wishing to be entertained reader was not.
Published on 24 April 2012 by kenneth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Mar 2006
By 
G. Leaney (Sussex. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many auto/biographical books by fighter pilots and bomber crew and this has been one of my favourites. It's a compelling read which gives a pretty much day by day account of a P47 pilot who later went on to fly P51's in the European campaign through 1944 and 1945. Fortier gives exciting incites into what it was like to fly these aircraft in both bomber escort and ground attack roles. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 13 April 2007
By 
M. Jamieson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a good book, got to the stage where I just couldn't put it down. Bud Fortier takes us all the way through the war in Europe in a book that reads like a novel. He tells the story as he saw it and stepped away from any political or military ideals as in so many other books. This is a fly by your pants read about the expolits of the role the American fighter pilots from escorting bombers, fighter patrols and straffing patrols. Well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ace of the genre, 28 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read of a great person doing his best in a bid to shorten the European air war.

Having read many exploits, 'Bud' Fortier's views and experiences are very written and I couldn't put the book down.

I live under the skies 'Bud' flew in and I often see road signs to the places in Suffolk he mentions. This is a reminder when the world was a different, unsafe place and you won't be disappointed with this ace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and in-depth, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. D. Hamilton "Duncan Hamilton" (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting slant on the business of war from what is an oft-forgotten branch of the Allied war machine, at least here in Blighty; While we are generally aware of the stupendous sacrifices the 'Yanks' in their B-17s and Liberators made, and constantly reminded of the efforts of the RAF's Fighter and Bomber Commands, the American lads in the long-range escorts sharing all the risks with the Bombers rarely figure in any documentary or narrative on the subject.

So with this in mind, I approached Fortier's book with enthusiasm and was certainly treated to a fantastic read. Fortier's style is easy and relaxed, and deals with the gruesome bits as well as the light-hearted parts.

The bulk of the work deals with the day-to-day life of the Squadron, and with the surprisingly humdrum work of escorting daylight bombing raids. Fortier has an obvious affection for the P-47, a huge respect for his colleagues in the bombers, and a warmth for the majority of the English, if not our weather.

Like most of the accounts I've read on WW2 Fighter combat, especially in the latter stages of the war, Fortier's experiences in the air over Germany alternate mostly between the monotony of solo long-distance flight, and wondering where the hell everyone went. The combat itself, both in narrative and experience, is short, sharp, and often ends abrubtly.

Nevertheless, it's a very good read, and certainly left me with a new-found respect for the American fighter pilots. However, as a book, it's not the seminal classic of Geoffrey Wellum's First Light.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ace of a book too, 20 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book. The author has a nice, informal style that is relaxed despite the subject matter. Very easy to read, it gives a fascinating insight into the life of a WW2 fighter pilot. Never gung-ho, never jingoistic it displays sensitivity towards the 'enemy'. How pilots survived a full tour is beyond me, though as well as skill the author highlights that luck played a large part too. I definitley recommend this to you, you will not be disappointed. You will finish the book having had a good read, but having also learned many things about the air war and with a greatly enhanced respect for the airmen of the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Ace Of The Eighth, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ace of the Eighth: An American Fighter Pilot's Air War in Europe (Kindle Edition)
What can I say. Pilots are fortunate to have such good memories...? No, pilots have their log books and this chap draws upon it with great chronicle precision and little of the story tellers art.
A good read for the historian no doubt and this part of me was satisfactorily informed; the wishing to be entertained reader was not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even if you were not around during WWII this book ..., 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ace of the Eighth: An American Fighter Pilot's Air War in Europe (Kindle Edition)
Even if you were not around during WWII this book is a must, one appreciates what sacrifices the lads made for our freedom, it is an exciting read as well as a historic document, in truth it matters not whether we are talking about allied or German pilots, every time they took off their lives were held in the balance until they returned to aerodrome. Reading this book and others is a way of saying thank you before it is too late as time waits for no one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good documentary read, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ace of the Eighth: An American Fighter Pilot's Air War in Europe (Kindle Edition)
Excellent diary account of a fighter pilots time during W2. The accounts of many airborne missions are well described and moreover of historical importance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read this!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ace of the Eighth: An American Fighter Pilot's Air War in Europe (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent read, and refreshing to read about a squadron not in the famous 56th!
This also gives a great insight into what it was to be a young American in England at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars USAF during WW 2, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am ex RAF - the book unfolds a time in history in which ordinary young men found themselves in a horrific conflict to save not only a nation but civilization as we know it. They did not know how they would perform under fire and relied on the initial training to see them through the early stages of warfare before their own experience (should they survive) takes them on to being a true professional. The book accurately describes the inner most thoughts of these young men. It also describes coming to grips with a totally different weather environment - so different to the warm sunny skies of their home country training. It's the first time they experienced of losing friends and colleagues: the empty beds of their friends - their possessions gathered up to send on to their next of kin. The daily routine of briefing before their intended target. A sensational book that grips the reader from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews