Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars149
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2008
Not all comedians are likeable. Indeed, some are funny preceisely because they are not very likeable people. Not so Lee Evans. If he was your uncle, you'd let him entertain the kids (and everyone else) for hours on end.

Like many of the reviewers here, I saw this show live at the O2 Arena on one of the nights they were filming (I suspect there might have been several) and was totally won over by Lee Evans's disarming, friendly, blokish take on life. It's not that he shies away from difficult subjects. While not explicitly political, his everyday observations necessarily imply a critique of the way the world is going. The way he does it, though, is so genuine and so unaffected that audiences of every age and background will love it. Several of the dates of the show had already sold out nearly a year in advance - and you can appreciate why.

One of the things I find about really great comedy experiences is that you can never remember many of the jokes afterwards (alcohol may be partly responsible) so I can't wait to see the whole thing again on DVD.

One of Britain's most effortlessly genial comedy talents.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Lee Evans has always been a great comedian in my view and I looked forward to this so much when I heard about it. I watched it as soon as I got it and I have to say while still funny it did not outdo the XL tour. For those loyal to Lee its good, for the newcomers it is excellent, but to those who want to laugh till it hurts don't hold your breath.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2008
Actaully Lee Evans started his tour in June or at least a preview of it.

I saw him in Taunton in June 2008. He did 3 hours and was totally amazing. obviously not all the jokes will make the DVD.But there was not one bad joke. this DVD is going to be amazing
and yes i did see him and yes it was 2008
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2008
I saw Lee Evans live at The O2 on the 6th October and it was simply fantastic.
Genuinely humbled by the whole experience he has remained grounded and seemingly unaware of just how good he is and how much love there is for him.
Hard working, appreciatitive and brilliant.

Routine's about self service check-outs, automated telephones and his life with his wife had me in tears. There are one of two bits that don't quite hit the mark but that really is a tiny percentage of what is a polished and hillarious routine.

It's the 3rd tour i've seen and he continues to impress, new material each time and you can see he gets a buzz out of what he is doing. Make no mistake, this is a big tour matched with big laughs. Superb.

A standing ovation after nearly 3 hours of magic says it all.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
This is the latest Lee Evans DVD released, with Roadrunner being released in November. He performs at the O2 on his biggest tour ever (currently on DVD, that is).

Lee Evans - Big - UK Tour 2008 is just that, his biggest comedy tour ever, taking in over 59 dates in the UK's biggest arenas and playing to over 500,000 people. Three years on since his record breaking XL Tour Lee has pulled out all the stops to make this his funniest, most spectacular, biggest performance to date. Lee Evans - Big - Live at the O2 was recorded at London's O2 Arena where Lee played 5 sell out nights in 2008 to over 80,000 people. Lee is at his peak with big stand up, big effects and a big performance in what has to be the biggest DVD of the year.

So 'Add to Basket' now!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
Yes we know, this show hasn't even been filmed or shown yet, i think he probably ment lee's last tour "XL" , 5 stars because it is lee and it will be worth buying!. P.s There are tickets still for sale @ NIA, Don't miss out!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2008
Lee Evans is, in every sense, the biggest comedian out there. He holds all the important records, his gigs sell out months (sometimes a whole year) in advance, and can last something that can rival a Lord of the Rings film for length. And yet he retains an air of anonymity; not quite a full-blown celebrity. This is probably because he's a pure comedian; nothing more, nothing less. He hasn't used his comedy to propel himself into other areas (ie. Eddie Izzard) and nor has he used fame to leap-frog into comedy (Russell Brand). Lee Evans gets by on craft alone, and I have full respect for him for that.

With every passing DVD, his gigs grow in size, scope, and length, but the quality is maintained. In fact, if anything, he seems to get better all the time. The last show, XL, was sublime, crammed with laughs for over two hours, and is still funny after many repeat viewings.

When Big came out, I had a niggling feeling that Big would maybe be a step too far, that maybe it was all starting to get a bit much. I shouldn't have worried. Big is excellent, and I must've missed half the gig from laughing so much and blinking back tears.

So, is it his best? Erm...no, maybe. But it's a close thing. Trouble is, to say Big isn't as good as XL makes it sound as if it isn't good at all, but it is! Staggeringly good! If amazon ratings dealt in percentages, it would be a case of XL: 95% and Big: 92%. Everything you love about Lee Evans is there in spades, but is just a hair's breadth from that heady perfection XL has.

You may disagree. You may even think Big to be his best work yet. It's certainly in the top three. Needless to say, if you're denying yourself this, you're denying yourself some of the finest comedy since...well, his last one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2008
I went to the o2 arena on 5th October 2008 and I can honestly say it was the greatest thing on stage I have ever seen. Lee Evans is without doubt the funniest man in the UK and arguably the best comedian on the planet. He can take a simple everyday conflict and turn it into something so funny words can't describe. He has a sense of charisma and charm that always wins the audience over. He is able to fully exploit his jokes without being too offensive whilst still reducing the crowd to fits of laughter. He basically has to be seen to be believed. This package includes over 2 hours of his actual tour (filmed at the o2 in London over 5 days) and a remarkable behind-the-scenes tour like the XL set. It is well worth the cost because it takes you beyond the boundries of comedy gold. Lee Evans is world class, original, outrageous and hilariously physical. When he starts to sweat (one of his trademarks no doubt) you can really see the effort, enthusiasm and love Lee puts into each show. Not only is he a remarkable comedian he is a loveable man with a big heart and he never lets his audience down. Its been a while since Lee's last big sell out tour but this much awaited spinner is incredible in every way. Buy it now. You will not be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2008
Saw this show at the 02 last night - they were filming for this DVD. Amazing, funny till you wet yourself, all new material, and at the end he did his rendition of Queens Bohemian Rahpsody which I hope stays in as an extra, its still funny after all this time. He came on stage at 8pm and didnt finish until near 11, so the DVD will be a great buy for anyone who wants to while away sometime in total hysterics. The arena was completely full, not many comedians can hold an audience for this length of time, with very few props and absolutely no one else to help out. He is just the best. A classic for the archives.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2008
Having just lost out on getting tickets to see him live, i was counting the days for this dvd to arrive. Having been a huge fan of Lee's, owning his boxset with all his peformances, i didnt think anything could top his XL tour. Boy, was i wrong!
This performance is amazing. There just isn't another way of putting it. The show itself is 2 and a half hours, which just goes to show how much commitment Lee has towards his performances. He had the audience in stitches, and there is no doubt you will be as well at home. The XL tour is fabulous, but this tops it. His views on stuff from self serving counters, to his wife's habits,will have you begging for more.
The only dissapoint with the dvd is the bohemian rapsody isnt included on it, which is a huge shame as it was nice to hear he was performing it again. But apart from that, this DVD is perfect, with a 13 minute making-of video which is very entertaining as well.
This has got to be one of the best comedy shows of all time, and you can see why it is the UKs biggest tour ever.
Anyone who is a fan of Lee's work, buy this! Any one who isnt sure about him, buy this! You won't be dissapointed! Great value for money from one of the greatest comedians of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)