Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 20 November 2007
This CD-and-DVD set gives you an "unplugged" set filmed live in concert at Massachusetts' Colonial Theatre earlier this year. Accompanied by his own guitar, pianist Larry Goldings and occasionally (as on Shower The People) by the Tanglewood Festival Chorus, Taylor runs through a 19-song set representing the whole of his long career from classics like cowboy lullaby Sweet Baby James and the gorgeous Carolina On My Mind to newer songs like Mean Old Man.

The DVD section of One Man Band accompanies the songs with interviews and rare footage, including home movies and photographs from Taylor's own archives. The resulting portrait-of-the-artist acts as a primer for those unfamiliar with the repertoire as well as a celebration of a career for those who are.

Maybe there should have been more variation - the DVD features essentially the same setlist as the concert CD - but Universal probably realise that most people will keep the video for the living room and the audio for the car. The musical content is pristine in terms of both recording clarity and performance, and the overall impression is of a private show from an old and comfortable family friend.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2008
As a big James Taylor fan I was really looking forward to finding "One Man Band" in my stocking this Xmas. After the first few listenings the album leaves me with mixed feelings.
The tracks I enjoy the most are the James and guitar tracks, the attempts to use taped harmonies and drum leave me a little cold. I would have thought that this was an opportunity to give an airing to songs that could have been re-arranged for solo guitar and voice rather than run through tracks that need filling out with keyboards however well done. The live performance isn't a one man band show, more stripped back. Golding's keyboard accompaniment is good but the set list is too much like James' other live CDs/DVDs. I don't think this adds as much to the Taylor collection as the title would suggest.
After being disappointed with the CD I settled down to watch the DVD. The DVD made much more sense. OK it's not one man band but the live set comes across more as a satisfying whole. The between track banter and chat James has with the audience adds to the set, this is highly edited on the CD. I think other James Taylor concert DVDs are better. As an exercise in "down home feel good" this is ok. James' warmth and charm are fully evident as ever.
CD poor, DVD much better. This more a DVD with a bonus CD rather than a CD with a bonus DVD
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
I always think James Taylor live is one of the most enjoyable pleasures in
modern music.From a young artist signed to the Beatles Apple label,he has for many years continued to produce great albums and such personal live shows,he contacts so well with his audience.All of his other live sets have been with his band but now we get JT mainly on his own,but with some help from his keyboard player (oh and this huge drum machine,which he doesn't use much anyway) doing a hometown concert in the beautiful colonial theatre in
New England.Before the concert begins we take a stroll with his in this beautiful part of America,clearly so dear to his heart.The concert is a mix of classic and newer songs.I've always so admired his exquisite guitar playing and here it's lovely to get the whole range of his different styles and hear them so clearly.The voice is well known and as great as ever.On the DVD his chat between songs is enjoyable and at times very humerous as well.The bous out takes are fun,especially one where he doesn't quite reach the pirch of the song and does impressions of some well known other artists doing his song including an excellent Dylan.Overall a really enjoyable set both on CD and DVD,to any aspiring young guitarist I say watch this see a craftsman at work.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2008
As a lifelong fan of JT (I grew up listening to his songs) I was gutted I missed the DVD of this set being shown on TV last week. I ordered this, and let me say this is excellent. If you are a fan of JT, get this, a great live album, and the DVD of the show, with insights into his past and family life, with his typically dry sense of humour, are magic to watch and listen to.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 December 2007
Hear Music presents "ONE MAN BAND" --- A new CD/DVD of live recordings and the stories behind the songs --- New performances from some of his most beloved recordings are interspersed with insightful and humorous anecdotes on the inspiration for the songs --- In Taylor's own words -- "Performing these songs in their original, stripped down form in small halls is like going to the well for water -- It reconnects me to the music and puts me back in touch with the audience --- I feel like we could take this evening around the world," --- Taylor says of his latest work. As his unmistakable warm baritone moves into a few bars of "Something in the Way She Moves," once again the world is drawn to him.

James Vernon Taylor (born March 12, 1948) is an American singer-songwriter and guitarist, born in Belmont, Massachusetts --- Taylor's career began in the mid-1960s, but he found his audience in the early 1970s, singing sensitive and gentle acoustic songs --- He was part of a wave of singer-songwriters of the time that also included Joni Mitchell, Tom Rush, Cat Stevens, Carole King, John Denver, Jim Croce, Don McLean, Jackson Browne as well as Carly Simon, whom Taylor later married --- His 1976 album Greatest Hits was certified diamond and has sold more than 11 million copies --- He has retained a large audience well into the 1990s and early 2000s, when some of his best-selling and most-awarded albums were released.

One Man Band (Track Listings)
Disc One
1 Something in the Way She Moves [3:47]
2 Never Die Young [4:24]
3 The Frozen Man [5:07]
4 Mean Old Man [3:42]
5 School Song [1:27]
6 Country Road [4:08]
7 Slap Leather [3:07]
8 My Traveling Star [4:11]
9 You've Got a Friend [5:01]
10 Steamroller Blues [5:59]
11 Secret O' Life [3:42]
12 Line 'Em Up [4:39]
13 Chili Dog [1:57]
14 Shower the People [4:56]
15 Sweet Baby James [3:41]
16 Carolina in My Mind [5:04]
17 Fire and Rain [4:52]
18 Copperline [4:52]
19 You Can Close Your Eyes [3:08]

Disc Two
1 One Man Band: The Concert DVD

Hats off to Hear Music --- strongly recommend this CD to all music lovers and others who need to hear some great music --- James Taylor (singer, songwriter & producer), Larry Goldings (Organ, Synthesizer, Piano, Harmonium, Keyboards), John Oliver (Conductor), Michael Prichard (Choir, Chorus), Kurt Walker (Choir, Chorus), Kieran Murray (Choir, Chorus) and Caroline Taylor Choir, Chorus), please stand up and take a bow for this well deserved rare gem you've given us --- this is a keeper!

Total Time: CD & DVD ~ Hear Music ~ (11/13/2007)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
Having seen the show last year it is always great seeing a DVD of the event. James Taylor is someone who makes you feel part of his life. His laid back style and great tunes from nearly a 40 year career means any concert is a lovely evening. This DVD captures the spirit of James Taylor for fans old and new
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
As Taylor is one of my all time favourites, I rushed to buy this new CD/DVD. It seems unfair to say anything negative about one of the all time greats (and surely one of the nicest people in the music industry). But this collection of most of his favourites just seems a little too mellow, a little too comfortable, and a little too underplayed.

If, like me, you're a true JT fan this collection is well worth a listen - but don't expect too much.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
Watched this on Iplayer, twice, and had to get the DVD & CD.
This is a great album, and as James Taylor has said, going back to basics, is what makes this album unique, and full of warmth.
My Travelling Star, Shower The People, and Never Die Young are my favourite tracks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
Looks like an accountant - sings like an angel!

Not only a live stripped-down CD of the great man, but a 2 hour DVD of the performance. Laid back as ever, laconic and engaging, this shows the talent of the man at his best.

and the drum machine.........I want one!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
I saw the One Man Band tour when JT came to the UK and then saw the show on television. This CD/DVD set is the closest you can get to being at the concert. A great buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)