Customer Reviews


323 Reviews
5 star:
 (207)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars travelling with baby
This kettle did what it said on the box. Useful to be warned about how hot the exterior becomes. Remember it also needs to cool down after use and before you pack it into your suitcase!
Published on 6 Jun. 2009 by B. Jenkins

versus
87 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Travel Kettle
The kettle was exactly what we needed for thet morning coffee at an all inclusive holiday resort. It is small so it doesn't take up too much room in the suitcase. It boiled quickly and looked good. The cups supplied with it are useless. One is now in the washing powder box, the other is in a game as a dice shaker. Luckily my sister and I always buy a mugs from each...
Published on 8 Mar. 2009 by Mrs. V. M. Senett


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars travelling with baby, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
B. Jenkins (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
This kettle did what it said on the box. Useful to be warned about how hot the exterior becomes. Remember it also needs to cool down after use and before you pack it into your suitcase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wahl Travel Kettle 1000W 0.5 Litre Stainless Steel ZX643, 23 April 2010
By 
J. Dyson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
It was a good decision to buy this kettle. Before buying, I thought carefully about earlier reviews I had read about it, some of which made me doubt its suitability. However, having now used the kettle on a trip abroad, any doubts have been satisfied, and I am happy to share my findings.

Because it's made of shiny stainless steel, it's attractive, sturdy and I don't expect it to taste of plastic as it gets older. It boils the water in a reasonable time, and somewhat faster than expected. (We used it in one French hotel that had no tea/ coffee making facilities and, as a comparison, it was faster than the kettle at the next hotel which did have those facilities). The fixed cord presumably keeps the price down, though caused no problems. Turning to the auto switch-off: again, this was no concern - the switch pinged off after about 10 seconds boiling time, which was reasonable - afterall, I expect this should kill any bacteria that might be in the water. I fully agree that the cups are way too small to use for a thirst-quenching drink. Finally, the capacity - I filled the kettle to a couple of millimetres above the "max" indicator, placed the kettle on a level surface, used two standard English mugs to make tea/coffee/choc, and found there was enough water to fill the mugs to the level we would do normally (about 1 cm below the rim).

I would recommend this to other prospective purchasers. Enjoy!

ps - on a lighter note, the cups might have any number of alternative uses, such as carrying sugar and dry instant coffee with cling film to keep the contents in, or to keep a drink of water in by the bedside in the hotel, or wine goblets, or even dice shakers!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morning cuppa, 2 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
I have a teasmaid which sounds an alarm when the tea is ready - this is great, but you don't always want to wake the whole house up! I bought this Travel Kettle to make my own cuppa in the morning in my room and it doesn't wake the whole house up when it is ready. It is extremely quick to boil and is more than adequate for 2 small cups or one really large one. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kettle, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
L. Thomson "Lady Traveller" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
It is hard to get excited about a kettle. It is however good at its job. It is fast boiling,has a good capacity -filled 2 good sized mugs and is lightweight. Is there anything else that you can ask, except that it looks good (which it does !).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Travels well, 31 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. R. Fastner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
A small enough kettle for taking to hotels that don't provide tea/coffee facilities in your room and charge an arm and a leg for hot drinks in the bar.

Also probably more efficient for boiling just enough water for two mugs than a normal family kettle.

It could do with an on/off switch. There is a thermal cut-out that operates when the water boils but it operates quite a while after the water is boiling and so wastes energy. It has to be unplugged or switched off at the mains to turn it off sooner. I modified mine by adding an in-line switch to the mains cable (6 Amp, double pole for safety).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Travel Kettle, 8 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
The kettle was exactly what we needed for thet morning coffee at an all inclusive holiday resort. It is small so it doesn't take up too much room in the suitcase. It boiled quickly and looked good. The cups supplied with it are useless. One is now in the washing powder box, the other is in a game as a dice shaker. Luckily my sister and I always buy a mugs from each new place we visit as a souvenier so we were able to have a decent mug of coffee in the morning/evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 27 April 2009
By 
K. Mailer "Ken Mailer" (Stenhousemuir, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
Just back from Krakow and this little kettle was perfect for the job. Right size and weight, handy to pack and nice and speedy to boil.

½litre max is fine for two cups but the ones which come with the kettle are no use unless you drink espresso or moccha. I took a couple of Thermos cups and sachets of coffee to keep the luggage weight down and glass free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This kettle is dangerous,, 15 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
It has a whole bunch of faults, some life threatening.

The first thing is that the thermostat does not cut out at boiling point, mine carried on bubbling and spitting out boiling water from its pouring nozzle for 30 seconds or more past its boiling point, the thermostat is too far back in the handle to cut out straight away.

While bubbling and spitting out boiling water from its pouring nozzle it runs down the kettle and seeps into the plastic base where all the live wires are, I opened the base up and there was a pool of water inside it and the wires were wet.

If you use a two pin UK/Continetal convertor you lose the earth connection which could save your life, this is a very poorly designed piece of equipment.

What else from the peoples republic of china !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought two. Both broke., 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
I bought two of these kettles over recent months, one for me, one for another family member. One kettle switches off promptly when boiled, the other steams up the room and takes longer to switch off. Boils quickly, pours without spilling. Comes with toy cups. UPDATE: both kettles have broken after a few months use. The switch fell apart on the first kettle, the second kettle went "bang". Money down the drain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat but not gaudy, 3 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Wahl ZX643 Travel Kettle, Stainless Steel, 1000 Watt, 0.5 Litre (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this for a trip to Russia, knowing the limited resources in some hotels. There is no "On" switch, it works as soon as you plug it in, switching off automatically. The two enclosed "cups" are barely usable for drinking being far too small if you are a coffee addict like me!!
It will work off 220 or 115volts althought the latter does take a while longer to heat up it gets there eventually. Light weight, easy to clean, what more does the experienced traveller need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews